2-610 Dual Channel Tube Preamplifier

Customer Reviews

2-610 Dual Channel Tube Preamplifier

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 21 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

L. Isain  

August 11, 2012

ES UN GRAN PREAMPLIFICADOR, EXCELENTE TIMBRE CALIDO, RUGOSO, DISTORSION ARMONICA MUY AGRADABLE, SU EQ ES EXCELENTE, SIRVE MUY BIEN CON GUITARRAS, Y LA VOZ SE GRABA CON UNA CALIDES IMPRESIONANTE, .

H. Marx  

August 5, 2012

Simplemente, el mejor de mis preamplificadores.
El mejor color en todas mis escenas. Marx.

E. Lara  

February 19, 2011

Hola yo tengo esta en mi estudio pero quiero sacarle el mayor provecho me pueden ayudar en como acerlo gracias

T. Hinterholzinger 

November 29, 2016

classic warm tube sound gallore

I love the 2-610! Having a bigger power transformer, its audio performance is far superiour from the smaller packaged 610 Solos and derivates. Only the mighty M-610 is even better with its big torodial transformer! I always wanted to try a torodial as PSU for the 2-610, too, since I once read that the first prototypes had that kind of PSU. But anyhow - a 610 is a true classic. It's never harsh, it's big and warm, but never overly hughe, wooley and slow. It is just sweet. Not my first choice on drums perhaps, but on guitars and backing vocals it is just so right! Have a listen to its performance in the wonderful preamp comparisson by Lynn Fuston on his DVD "Preamps in Paradise" - those examples say it all! One of the roundes and nicest preamps out there. I own vintage 1073s, vintage RCA OP6, vintage Tridents and MCI. The UA 2-610 is the heating amongst those all. It is simply the king of warm sound (where the 1073 is the king of proximity and saturation, OP6 is the king of high gain for ribbons, Trindent is the clean overhead king, and MCI is king of male vocal thickness...).

J. Stacey 

June 21, 2016

Worth its weight in gold

Lovely sound, useful on everything, from kick drum to vocals, very musical!

Thanks to Universal Audio!

L. Mathers 

September 1, 2015

whoa.

Incredible tube preamp... makes every mic sound better, and the Hi-Z input makes my bass sound fantastic. Having two channels is often very useful to get a matching (or different with the EQ section), even sound. I see myself using this thing until the day I die.

A. Gorman 

August 2, 2015

Fantastic version of the old 610

Wonderful sounding pres bags of character. Fun to experiment with different mics and settings. Great with a 57 on guitars cranked or a U87 on vocals with the input backed off for a more open sound, and everything inbetween. Get a bit of vintage character on the front end!

W. Handzus  

November 27, 2014

2 610 outstanding

I have been using the pre for a year or so
,a new machine. Took me a long time to save up while using lesser quality.
Made an error investing in another less costly pre, in a hurry to record now. The other pre is a dust collector now. The 610 has 'that sound'. The eq reacts with the inductive load of my guitar pickups.
Fender and Gibson and has some reasonance,'that sound' that can be controlled easy with the knobs.
Smooth sound, no semiconductor hole flow sound. The best they had on display at the store , I would buy another if I needed 2 more channels.
I use it fairly often.not while mixing but have considered running the mix thru it just to hear what it will do. Built like a tank it'll float like a ship no leaks
Da kind, for real,Wayne

W. Handzus  

November 27, 2014

2 610 outstanding

I have been using the pre for a year or so
,a new machine. Took me a long time to save up while using lesser quality.
Made an error investing in another less costly pre, in a hurry to record now. The other pre is a dust collector now. The 610 has 'that sound'. The eq reacts with the inductive load of my guitar pickups.
Fender and Gibson and has some reasonance,'that sound' that can be controlled easy with the knobs.
Smooth sound, no semiconductor hole flow sound. The best they had on display at the store , I would buy another if I needed 2 more channels.
I use it fairly often.not while mixing but have considered running the mix thru it just to hear what it will do. Built like a tank it'll float like a ship no leaks
Da kind, for real,Wayne

W. Handzus  

November 27, 2014

2 610 outstanding

I have been using the pre for a year or so
,a new machine. Took me a long time to save up while using lesser quality.
Made an error investing in another less costly pre, in a hurry to record now. The other pre is a dust collector now. The 610 has 'that sound'. The eq reacts with the inductive load of my guitar pickups.
Fender and Gibson and has some reasonance,'that sound' that can be controlled easy with the knobs.
Smooth sound, no semiconductor hole flow sound. The best they had on display at the store , I would buy another if I needed 2 more channels.
I use it fairly often.not while mixing but have considered running the mix thru it just to hear what it will do. Built like a tank it'll float like a ship no leaks
Da kind, for real,Wayne

S. Ward  

October 28, 2014

Vintage magic

Warm tone, useful/subtle EQ, excellent build quality, great value. My go-to preamp for nearly everything.

W. Smith,  

May 10, 2014

Clean Power

I like the fact that even though this thing has tubes the sound is clean and clear with plenty of gain and the eq is just enough to make a difference in the sound if you need it. The quarter inch hi-z guitar input also works well as a direct in with low noise that you would expect from a high end preamp. I also own 2 channels of vintage ISA 110s in a 2U custom racked chassis, a dual channel Manley pre, an Avalon 737SP, 4 channels of knock off api and 2 channels of knock off 1073 for extra thickness. The UA 610 is great on acoustic instruments. It's a more open sound than my DBX 586 pres.

P. Aaberg  

April 28, 2014

Indispensable

This is the only piece of gear I own (along with my grand piano) that I could never sell.
You can rate preamps on a scale between "colored" and "clear", and that's helpful, but there is something tough to describe about what the2- 610 does for sound. Yes, it's "colored", and "tube-y", but until you plug an SM-57 in it and say, "What!", like I did, you'll simply limit yourself if you limit its use. I use it with my most expensive and cheapest mics, on everything from classical piano to molten blues, and it's a champ.

H. Hamilton  

June 6, 2013

beautiful sounding preamp

I bought mine with a UAD-1 (really!) and the 1176 and LA-2A plugins. They work together to make UA sonic heaven. The balanced +10 line in is perfect for warming up tracks that were recorded straight to DAW. The ability to overdrive the input stage allows for tube tone from clean to driven. Beautiful! My only complaint is that the one I have has no pad, this has been fixed (so much for being on tehbleeding edge!).

C. Rodriguez  

March 28, 2013

Nice color for my recordings

When I thought in a valves preamp, the only option that crossed my mind was Universal Audio. Having the ability to test with my 2-610, corroborated that I had made ??the right choice. A warm sounding preamp, transparent, versatile for a wide range of instruments. 100% satisfied with the purchase.

J. Sanchez  

August 11, 2012

recording vocals excellent warm tubes, vocals Latin music and Pop

T. Angyan  

July 9, 2012

Really nice big warm tones! With Eq-s nearly to Neve 1072 velvet sound...

C. Shapiro  

June 7, 2012

This preamp has a 12AX7 in the front end and a 12AT7 in the back end.
The gain stages are constructed so that they can be manipulated to achieve
interesting and classical thickening of the pre-amp's sound output.

For example: guitar pre-amp like sounds or California clean sounds this
pre-amp is a master of....Imagine that you can take a a mic and re-create that
classic 12AX7/12AT7 cascade gain structure on any instrument.

W. David  

April 26, 2012

This PreAmp is my go-to pre for so much. Guitars, Bass, Vocals, Overheads, Perc, etc., this pre gives a warm tone, great thrust and beef to the sound, and the eq is great. Not only do I get a classic UA sound, but there are 2 of them for stereo pre amplification. This is a beautiful piece of studio gear.

B. Francis  

June 23, 2011

So cool to have a great sound on recording voice - guitar or sample from vinyl with the quality and level of Tube. Great filter for recording and design new sound from acoustic or organic sound...

1-20 of 21 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
View All Reviews