6176 Vintage Channel Strip

6176 Vintage Channel Strip

Customer Reviews

6176

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 73 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Fulwider

June 13, 2014

Link in the chain.

I have had my 6176 for 7 or 8 years now. I wanted to buy a chain of components that would create the widest range of popular sonic reproduction I could; based on the recording history of the music I am most passion about. The products I choose for my recording chain are:

Neumann U87 AI Large Diaphragm Condenser Mic

Universal Audio 6176 Channel Strip

RME Fireface 800 Audio Interface (use optic throughout)

RME HDSP 9652 52-Channel 24-Bit/96kHz PCI card

I Run Digital Performer (Now on a PC)

I write on a Yamaha XS 88 KEY Workstation

Hear my words...

I have never regretted my purchase of any component listed. The 6176 is everything I hoped it would be as a signature link in my recording chain.

UAD User

November 24, 2013

Like opening a window

Picked my first UA product up less than a month ago, I had been paying down on the Layaway balance for months.I would come to the store, have them pull the box out of the back, sing my preamp a song, wrote poems to it, bought it a steak. The usual infatuation and blush. Yadda yadda. Thoroughly enjoying this latest addition to my humble recording setup now, and can hardly wait to lure prospective artists to perform for it. In other words, having a blast. If you've had trouble in the past discerning the differences in your microphones, the 6176 will put all ambiguities to rest. The nuances of each mic stand out like a color for your sonic palette.

M. Tahirovic

August 5, 2013

Little Beast

This channel strip is an absolute solution for recording vocals, el. guitars, bass, etc. In my home studio the 6176 plays a key role when it comes to input signals. In combination with some of the UAD-2 power plug-ins (Manley MP, LA2A, etc.), this channel strip provides amazing results! A definite recommendation for future users.

Without exaggeration, Universal Audio solutions like the 6176 Vintage Channel Strip make life easier :)

Best Regards,

Mirza

P. Stephan

November 1, 2011

This Channel Strip is amazing! Its extremely versatile and sounds incredible. I was able to achieve any sound that I could think of just by tweaking the gain stage and the EQ. The EQ sounds really musical and even though the parameters are limited I couldn't ask for more during recording. What I also really like to do is use the preamp in a mixdown situation to give certain instruments (synths, samples...) that lack warmth, a little bit of life.

The 1176 style compressor sounds just like the 1176 only more transparent and a little more modern. I have used the original 1176 and I must say that I can't say which version I like better (6176 or 1176).

Overall I have to say that this is the most impressive Unit that I have come across. I have tried a lot of preamps and channelstrips (Neve, SSL, Mindprint...) and eventhough Neve and SSL sound amazing the 6176 is a perfect combination of great sound and high usability. It will always have a spot in my rack!

K. Browne

June 18, 2011

The 610 is a huge sounding pre. If not driven hard it is clean and sparkly, but crank it and it is easily pushed into a musical distortion.
For me this has been a blessing and a curse as being mainly a media composer I
spend most of the time recording myself. This means that I end up having to set the sound using headphones and I have had quite a few mishaps. The good news is that most mistakes have been happy ones with distorted electric guitar being the only thing that doesnt take well to a bit of drive from the pre.
The other problem I have had is that my vocal mic is an SE Gemini which is a valve driven beast that is much more suited to a cleaner pre as there is too much harmonic distortion going on with the 610. The tops become a bit out of control and I have to insert an EQ to calm it down.
It is nice to be able to use the pre and comp independently
The 1176 is a must have. The only drawback of it being matched with the 610 is that
they are both capable of creating a lot of dirt,so things can get a bit out of hand if you
are not paying proper attention.
Overall though I love it and have hopefully got another one on the way.
Now I know not to over valve the chain and watch the gain,everything comes out sounding great

R. Wheelock

June 17, 2011

The preamp is quite good for female voices, specially jazz singers. The compressor part has low noise but lacks a bit of the character from the original Urei units.

A. Cannon

August 14, 2015

Apollo 8 Thunderbolt

Not a bad unit especially if you know what you are doing
and know the sound your looking for.

m. buchbinder

August 7, 2017

Peace of Mind In My Front End

Since I acquired the 6176 I have peace of mind that my front end is not gonna let me down. Whatever I put through it just shines. Hence I record more live vocals more live guitar, all analog gear, live percussion. I take pride in owning such a classic recording gear in today's modern technological playground, cause whatever madness I do to the sound inside the box I know I did my best in capturing it at the source. Thanks UA!

M. Grumeza

August 5, 2017

Best channel strip EVER!!!

EPIC! Use this for both recording and mixing. Absolutely love the "split" function and the ability to link another 1176 for stereo.

P. Karlsson

August 1, 2017

My best friend

With a warm and musical touch 6176 being my best friend for vocal and bass.

M. Menghi

July 29, 2017

Special Channel Strip

6176 has that certain Je Ne Sais quoi. I have a LA 610 MKII and didn't think I could justify the 6176 cost diff. given the pre-amp is the same. I don't think I'll be returning this to Guitar Center. The 1176 FET compressor provides a different sound with the Dr. Pepper Settings than the T4 Optical. Both are great. I'm going to have to keep both. You don't need plugs outside of some reverb or delay.

J. Higuera Del Moral

July 18, 2017

Amazing!

The sound is excellent. The preamp is hot and clean I use it now for everything! Vocals, guitar, bass. The compressor is very clean. I would like a second 6176!

M. Buracchi

June 25, 2017

My instrumental album Reborn

The preamplifier with the Universal Audio Limiter was definitely the touch that gave mastodontic sound to my rock guitar. I'm in love with what this machine can do in pre-amplification as an external hardware for both electric and acoustic guitar sounds, the kind that I play. Thank you guys MB

C. Bjorsell

April 26, 2017

Always amazing!

I've had this in the studio since day one and would never replace it with anything else.
No 1.
That's it.

R. Wheelock

April 11, 2017

it's my go channel strip for vocal takes

it's really great for many things, so it's my go to for kick drums, clean electric guitar sounds and vocals, all kinds of vocals just sound amazing thru the 6176, I also love using the 1176 side of it for clean compression duties...

K. Péter

April 8, 2017

Warm, Fat, heavy

Expensive but almost perfect gear.
Sometimes I use after Pultec eq and La2A on the channel i recorded with it and nothing else is need. Vocals, snare, guitar mic, even guitar line with some amp emulation (Softtube or others from UAD) it is just perfect!!!!! For bass record I use my Manley Core .
6176's eq is simple but effective, after the recording only a few cutting needs sometime for accuracy, but many times nothing - friends are wondering to see, there is no any plugin on my tracks and the sound is still fat, powerful, sensitive and detailed.
Also the compressor part: Usually I put the 1:4 but sometimes, for rocky vocals and guitars I put the allbutton mode. Uh - what this gear can make is an other world. :))) It would be better to have 4 or 8 pieces of this but unfortunately I have only one unit. Sometimes I sleep with her....

p. dwyer

April 2, 2017

Analog Heaven

This all in one channel strip is my first choice for Vox Or Anything that needs that Vintage Sounding Sprinkle Of Gold Dust - Amazing Flexibility and sounds to match - Perfect Front End For Digital Recording

M. Grzella

March 29, 2017

Super

It's great I have been working on it for many years.
Recommendable.

M. Kremer

March 24, 2017

Plug and play at its best

Although it's not the most inexpensive gear out there, I finally decided to get one. I can only say that this channel strip is worth every single penny, dime, or cent. I use it in combination with my Neumann TLM49 mic and without spending too much time tweaking knobs it get huge and excellent sounding results. I use it mainly on vocals and acoustic guitars. When dialing in the right EQ settings and compression with fast attack and release, I'll get the impression that the singer is right in front of my ear drums. This is, at least for the musical style that I mainly produce, probably THE best piece in my signal chain so far. Although, if you're searching for a perfectly clear and transparent channel strip, this preamp might not be the right choice for you. The 610B always adds some color and (more or less) tube distortion/harmonics to the signal - in my opinion, I'd better call it character.

S. Gregg

February 12, 2017

Perfect

It's the best you can get and I love it. I'd recommend to anyone period. With my c12 and u47 it's a match made in Analogue heaven. Get one, or two :-)

1-20 of 73 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
View All Reviews