6176 Vintage Channel Strip

Customer Reviews



1-20 of 52 Results

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

M. Fulwider  

June 13, 2014

Link in the chain.

I have had my 6176 for 7 or 8 years now. I wanted to buy a chain of components that would create the widest range of popular sonic reproduction I could; based on the recording history of the music I am most passion about. The products I choose for my recording chain are:

Neumann U87 AI Large Diaphragm Condenser Mic

Universal Audio 6176 Channel Strip

RME Fireface 800 Audio Interface (use optic throughout)

RME HDSP 9652 52-Channel 24-Bit/96kHz PCI card

I Run Digital Performer (Now on a PC)

I write on a Yamaha XS 88 KEY Workstation

Hear my words...

I have never regretted my purchase of any component listed. The 6176 is everything I hoped it would be as a signature link in my recording chain.


November 24, 2013

Like opening a window

Picked my first UA product up less than a month ago, I had been paying down on the Layaway balance for months.I would come to the store, have them pull the box out of the back, sing my preamp a song, wrote poems to it, bought it a steak. The usual infatuation and blush. Yadda yadda. Thoroughly enjoying this latest addition to my humble recording setup now, and can hardly wait to lure prospective artists to perform for it. In other words, having a blast. If you've had trouble in the past discerning the differences in your microphones, the 6176 will put all ambiguities to rest. The nuances of each mic stand out like a color for your sonic palette.

M. Tahirovic  

August 5, 2013

Little Beast

This channel strip is an absolute solution for recording vocals, el. guitars, bass, etc. In my home studio the 6176 plays a key role when it comes to input signals. In combination with some of the UAD-2 power plug-ins (Manley MP, LA2A, etc.), this channel strip provides amazing results! A definite recommendation for future users.

Without exaggeration, Universal Audio solutions like the 6176 Vintage Channel Strip make life easier :)

Best Regards,


P. Stephan  

November 1, 2011

This Channel Strip is amazing! Its extremely versatile and sounds incredible. I was able to achieve any sound that I could think of just by tweaking the gain stage and the EQ. The EQ sounds really musical and even though the parameters are limited I couldn't ask for more during recording. What I also really like to do is use the preamp in a mixdown situation to give certain instruments (synths, samples...) that lack warmth, a little bit of life.

The 1176 style compressor sounds just like the 1176 only more transparent and a little more modern. I have used the original 1176 and I must say that I can't say which version I like better (6176 or 1176).

Overall I have to say that this is the most impressive Unit that I have come across. I have tried a lot of preamps and channelstrips (Neve, SSL, Mindprint...) and eventhough Neve and SSL sound amazing the 6176 is a perfect combination of great sound and high usability. It will always have a spot in my rack!

K. Browne  

June 18, 2011

The 610 is a huge sounding pre. If not driven hard it is clean and sparkly, but crank it and it is easily pushed into a musical distortion.
For me this has been a blessing and a curse as being mainly a media composer I
spend most of the time recording myself. This means that I end up having to set the sound using headphones and I have had quite a few mishaps. The good news is that most mistakes have been happy ones with distorted electric guitar being the only thing that doesnt take well to a bit of drive from the pre.
The other problem I have had is that my vocal mic is an SE Gemini which is a valve driven beast that is much more suited to a cleaner pre as there is too much harmonic distortion going on with the 610. The tops become a bit out of control and I have to insert an EQ to calm it down.
It is nice to be able to use the pre and comp independently
The 1176 is a must have. The only drawback of it being matched with the 610 is that
they are both capable of creating a lot of dirt,so things can get a bit out of hand if you
are not paying proper attention.
Overall though I love it and have hopefully got another one on the way.
Now I know not to over valve the chain and watch the gain,everything comes out sounding great

R. Wheelock  

June 17, 2011

The preamp is quite good for female voices, specially jazz singers. The compressor part has low noise but lacks a bit of the character from the original Urei units.

A. Cannon 

August 14, 2015

Apollo 8 Thunderbolt

Not a bad unit especially if you know what you are doing
and know the sound your looking for.

C. Posada 

September 22, 2016

A new Color to my sound

Just turn up the level knob if you need hot classic tube sound. Very musical with great harmonic distortion.
But if you need it to be clean, you can do it definitely. Always has its own color that I really love. This preamps is not my first choice for very detailed acoustic instruments, but I think it could record many sources with great results.
This preamp really shines on vocals. It rocks on basses, kick, snares. I like the way the tubes rounds the transients. The 1176 compressor is extremely musical. A MUST!!!!! It would be nice to have a 2:1 ratio and more specific numbers on the attack and release knobs. But once you realize how they work, you can do whatever you want with this thing.

A. Lein 

June 16, 2016

Does everything it says it does....

It's great to have a good front end for tracking everything. This is it.

As primarily a vocal or guitar tracker for me, it's very easy to use (at the same time, it can be a tough one too) and sounds great.

I try to find a middle ground on the pre into the compressor and then let it be without adding too much color.
Sometimes correcting for a mic or the room with the eq

More than one vocalist has said it's the best they've sounded coming through this.
I like it because I can get really clean tracks into my daw and then play with the tracks via the UA card afterward.

E. Foshee 

May 17, 2016

Gorgeous in every facet.

Were it legally or physically possible I would marry my 6176. She would have to be willing, of course, but I'd do it. That being said, I could not find a single complaint about this piece of hardware and the beautiful sounds that emanate from my monitors as a result. If you're unsure about taking the plunge please dive in. Easily worth every penny.

C. Baek 

March 14, 2016

the best gear!

the best gear! the best gear! the best gear! the best gear! the best gear! the best gear!

G. Jackson 

February 20, 2016

This is my favourite!

This gear makes me speechless. I think its the 1176 compression on the unit that really makes it stand out and the tones are just amazing. The pre is excellent but the fact that you can use another pre then throw the 1176 into the mix is fantastic. Love this unit!

A. Moore 

January 20, 2016

Win Win for me

I own the M610 now a demo 6176 and the promotion got the satellite 2 thru my symphony it the best I've ever owned. you can't fall on doing a record and not a demo


January 7, 2016

6176 Channel Strip and satellite Purchase//lucky~~

I purchased an inexpensive event to the 6176 Channel Strip and satellite Purchase

Uad plugin and compressing recorded with being too satisfied

Ua-610b may talk tough and transparent sound is never light, cool and light feeling

Inde plugins feel like it is difficult to express with words, ua-610b

S. Brown 

January 1, 2016


Man I've been wanting to get into the UAD world for so long now. Now that I'm in I love all of their products! Plugins take your mix to the next level and with this 6176 analog gear amazing, just wonderful to my hear. Thanks UAD!

p. sitter 

November 24, 2015


when I was searching for a channel strip I stopped at UAD´s temporary offer for 6176 + UAD2 card.
now I am really happy for this decision. great sound from the 6176 recording voices, acoustic & electric guitars, horns,...
but also the UAD2 card with the plugs is a great upgrade for my home studio!


November 22, 2015

songwriter / performer point of view

6176 review

I am an amateur musician - songwriter. So my review is oriented to those who have background as myself, by no means I am not a professional engineer , but I tried to educate myself over last few years, with the purpose to create demos and publishing. While trying to record my music the quality of the recording was a factor that downgraded most of my efforts. When it comes down for acoustic recording I tried several interfaces, software plugins. However, results were non-consistent. I got to the point that I had to upgrade my setup with good microphones and the quality preamp. While making decision to buy this product I asked my connections in the industry I had and I have been told that I can hear 610 or 1176 on the most classic recordings I listen to.

Recording with 6176 immediately changed my perception of how I need to sound. We talk stereotypes here, that what it might be, but my voice, my acoustic guitar finally started to get close to that core sounds I was leaning towards. I never got an experience to record in professional studio, so that was my eye opener. With polishing and working with EQ and mastering plugins I am astonished with results, where in the end it took me. I have more motivation and inspiration in what I do now.

I can record guitar trough Hi-z inputs, and process it on board while all house asleep. I reamp it later. Hi-z input is much more useful then I expected. My voice recording result is much closer to what I hear "inside" , and I my performance also improved as I can apply my findings to it.

While using emulation plugins I have no opportunity to compare to a real staff, a hardware to plugins, but now I know better what to listen to. While plugins is a phenomenal opportunity to save on space and money, I am glad I can reference to a true source, a real thing I can rely upon. I am using 6176 for vocal, acoustic guitar, electric guitar tracking, and a bus compression. This hardware become a corner stone of my tiny studio.

G. Peterson 

October 27, 2015

Sounds as if I'm standing in front of the source.

I've spent a lot of time and money looking for a Channel Strip to let me succeed in giving my ears on playback what I'm hearing from my source. I have Golden Age, Avalon and now my own 6176 Universal Audio Channel Strip. I use it on everything saxophones ,acoustic guitar,electric bass and guitar, vocals, everything! The others have taken the back seat. Together with my Universal Audio Apollo interface, UAD plugins and 6176 Channel Strip, I have the "right stuff" for success.

Thank you
G. Peterson

D. Webster 

October 16, 2015

Everything just sits

Fantastic bit of kit. Brought the best out of my Gemini 2, a mic that before the 6176 I was thinking of getting rid of. It is also great with the TLM103. Some find the 103 a little harsh in the top end, the pre rounds it off nicely. The advantage of having an 1176LN to track with or insert in the mix is a joy. I bought another 6176 strait away for mixing stereo sources. If you want a pro sound you need the right gear!

F. Mangiaracina 

October 11, 2015

My UAD 6176 Fantastic!

sensational sound! I suppose it mostly for vocals recordings but also bass, acoustic guitar and percussions. It always provides a nice fat warm sound as earlier in the analog era. I'm already looking forward to another UAD devices!

1-20 of 52 Results

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
View All Reviews