API® 2500 Bus Compressor

API® 2500 Bus Compressor

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

API 2500 Bus Compressor

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 93 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

W. Plummer

August 9, 2017

Second comment

There are a great number of uses for the 2500. if you have two electric guitars in your song, patch the 2500 on both (one L and one R) and play with the link controls to get a natural, equal energy from both and keep the balance and punch intact. I never had the 2500 cause a loss of energy or vibe from a live performance no matter what application I use multiple hardware or UA versions on. The only time a 2500 let me down was the anemic Waves versions that I ditched in a matter of weeks.

U. AB

July 27, 2017

Dead on Album sound!

Amazing. I have A LOT of compressors that claim to do that "master bus magic" but this one is the one IO have been searching for. The lower ratio and just a bit of needle movement is sonic bliss! Dan Swanö/Unisound

U. AB

July 27, 2017

Dead on Album sound!

Amazing. I have A LOT of compressors that claim to do that "master bus magic" but this one is the one IO have been searching for. The lower ratio and just a bit of needle movement is sonic bliss! Dan Swanö/Unisound

J. Raper

July 13, 2017

Gotta work for it

This plugin in has a bit of a learning curve but once you get the settings dialed in, its no joke the king of any bus you throw it on.

雄. 鈴木

July 1, 2017

Perfect!

バスコンはこれ一択!

L. Vermeir

June 26, 2017

very versatile bus compressor

Fun to learn how to use this compressor, and hear the differences in style / knee / thrust settings... I'm very happy with this one!

Z. Orr

June 19, 2017

Learning Curve But Worth It

I gave this four stars... and that is kind of unfair. The truth is this unit requires some study and trial and error. But once you have it dialed in, it makes the drums sound incredible. I like it on the electric guitar bus as well. Killer.

t. takamasa

June 17, 2017

AMAZING!!!good sound...

Excellent!!
Beautiful sounding on drum

P. McCosh

June 16, 2017

Tight bottom end for electronic music

I write electronic music, in particular trance, so I was looking for a bus compressor to tighten up my low end and keep the whole mix clean & together. I've been using the Shadow Hills for the last 3 years, but it never write hit the mark, and so, in the tradition of the never ending search to improve my production, I demoed the API, Zener, elysia & the SSL G (2017 version) For me the API was the most consistent in levels, whilst adding some dirt to the low mids, the SSL was a close 2nd, however I found that it was too varied in it's gain reduction when the bottom end was absent. I also use this daily for my Post production mixes - it's so flexible with the selectable knee, the old & new styles and the thrust component.....definitely add this to your demo list. I'm very happy with this one :)

J. Ciero

June 12, 2017

Amazing

For vocal bus. Amazing

J. Ciero

June 12, 2017

Amazing

Vocal!!! Amazing

S. Gough

June 11, 2017

Excellent on Drum Buss

Has a really nice spank to it. Makes drums pop. Does something similar to the Zener Limiter. Very versatile

E. Wilmot

June 6, 2017

Chunky

I love this thing. Big and thick and warm. More beef than jerky!

W. Plummer

June 4, 2017

By far the best digital version of the API 2500

I have been a close friend of Paul Wolff since working at The Bayou in Georgetown D.C. in 1978 where he was the house engineer. I became the second FOH guy shortly thereafter.

He built custom devices in the FOH console including the Flanger/Doubler that Softube is doing a digital version of these days (UA..please add this to your product list soon.)

I bought a prototype 2500 from Paul right after he made one for a few old friends of his. It was a magic box for me. I stopped using the SSL Buss Comp on the 8000GB console I worked on daily once I bought my 2500.

The 2500 prototypes (maybe 12 were made) and the following production versions are wonderful pieces of hardware. I never found a digital version that came close until the UA version. If UA were to ask Paul about the changes between the proto and the production versions, it would be a great update to add onto the 2500. If not, the existing 2500 is a steal just as it is.

T. Ajiteru

May 31, 2017

Excellent plugin!

Having used the Waves version for some time I took the plunge and went UAD's version or should I say update, as UAD's API 2500 is definitely the Rolls Royce of the two. Exceptional buss compression that can also be used on tracks and also comes with some great presets.

J. Holt

May 24, 2017

Wonderful

Even though I already had the Waves and Liquid Mix versions (the latter is excellent), I decided to demo the UAD version. At light settings, it didn't seem much different than the others. When I began to push it, my jaw hit the floor. Some real magic in this plug. Never thought I'd bother to purchase yet another comp, but it was just too compelling not to.

R. Calegari

May 14, 2017

Picante!

Agresivo, pero tambien puede ser sutil. Gran posibilidad de extremos y colores. Un jugador de toda la cancha!

UAD User

May 14, 2017

A step up

I also have the Waves version of the 2500 which I always liked for the drum bus and sometimes on the mix bus. The UAD is definitely a step up, and now I'm addicted to it on the mix bus. I really like using the wet/dry mix knob and headroom options that they added. Another fine emulation from UA, and it's quickly become an essential part of my mixing process.

A. Solovyev

May 13, 2017

Правильный выбор для компрессии шины

Просмотрел много обзоров, поработал с демо-версией-купил и не жалею-отлично звучит-хорошо склеивает группы инструментов и на мастер-шине на своем месте.

R. Jacobi

May 12, 2017

Solid as a Rock

The API 2500 Bus Compressor clearly brings out the best in a signal. This plugin not only works beautifully on busses it really shines on single sources as well. I am using it from vocals to bass and drums. The sound is always solid as a rock with a nice and tight low end. There is no smearing but clear definition even under heavy compression. Great work UA!

1-20 of 93 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
View All Reviews