Apollo Twin USB

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 136 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Radivojevic

April 11, 2016

As good as it gets - the UA quality!

This interface is just fantastic! And I'm writing this review coming from another very high-end audio unit which has been replaced without any regrets.
I've been using UAD plugins for years (PCIe cards) and I was expecting only the best. This is what I got with Apollo USB and then some. Integration with my existing UA hardware is perfect and it worked straight out of the box without any problem.
Pros: Excellent word-class converters, Unison preamp technology (WOW!), Console software, stability and well-thought unit controls.
Cons: I had to clear half of my rack space because I won't be using some of analog hardware anymore. Actually, I take it as a plus now :)
Great job, UA! It was well worth waiting for Apollo Twin Duo USB few months!

T. Caudron

March 17, 2016

Idéal pour le home studio

Les convertisseurs sont très bons.
Les préamp unison (neve 1073, ampli guitare) améliorent vraiment la qualité des prises.
Tout est bien fait dans cette carte son y compris et surtout le workflow. On se met en condition de faire un bon enregistrement très rapidement. Le console recall permet de retrouver les réglages utilisés en cas de besoin.
L'ergonomie est vraiment bien faite avec tous les réglages de gain et de monitoring via le gros bouton. C'est un plaisir à utiliser.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

True USB Gem your Grandma wants

I have had it for 2 days and I am thinking of tossing out my Apollo 16 firewire 800. Because it is USB3 (laughs) it responds to Windows’ sleep mode. You can unplug the Twin, power off, or light your PC on fire. As soon as you reconnect, in any order your grandma wants, the settings from Console update the Twin with no iffs or butts.
I even unplugged the Twin and took it to my Studio PC with different plugs in console and it was like having Sunday Lunch.
The same cannot be said for freakin’ Firewire Apollos and Satellites, where your PC is on all day, or suffer the consequences…!..
The sad news is: Console switches Hi Z to mono, so you can't use Marshall in stereo, unless through AUX. Nobody has confirmed whether Unison works for this

D. Barrington

January 16, 2016

Plugins Make the Interface

As an audio interface, I'd give it a 4 star. Latency is about as good as Apogee, but behind Audient. Better than the Clarett though.

The look and feel of the things is a bit different than other interfaces. I like the BIG BUTTON thought. When it starts, the clicking and LED checks scare me, but I guess it's a very good thing they've implemented cause it's searching for physical problems is my guess.

I've been through a LOT of audio interfaces and what makes this 5 star really are the Pre-amp plugins. The Neve in particular.

I wish this unit were a QUAD though. The DSP's get used fast, so you have to bake plugins or add a Satellite. Mix Control software is superb!

O. RIGAUX

March 18, 2016

Buzz on Asus UX32V

random buzz, cut audio, blue screen. Here everyday life since I changed my Presonus 44VSL by USB appolo.
The tips of the support changed nothing. And I've been waiting over a week the response of the technical service.
I'm on it.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

L. Blume

March 4, 2016

Apollo Twin USB lemon

I've had nothing but problems with the unit I received. I disconnected it and do not plan to use it again.

UAD User

March 21, 2017

Diego

I purchased apollo Twin Duo USB and I found myself very badly, I had problems with drivers, and I had to give it back to back, this thing is not very nice

s. azevedo

March 17, 2017

Fantastic Portable Solution

This replaced my Presonus central station, Mackie Black Jack, and a bazillion
wires to hookup... The 2 mic pres are great too. If you're looking for a powerful all in
one, the Apollo twin is the way to go. (I have the Tbolt, even better!)

H. Oh

March 14, 2017

Excellent

the reason I choose this Apollo Twin is because of the softwares. Also my teacher recommended it to me. I'm so excited to record me sining with this device. hope you develop and provide more plug-ins for costumers who purchased the product.
one thing I would like to point out about the hardware is... the temperature goes up pretty higher than I expected. a little worried about it's duration of the hardware due to the heat while using. hope the duration period of the hardware is long enough.

R. Österlund

March 12, 2017

Tail or no tail? Punch it up?

It's up to you. Nice tool, do as it's told :)

A. Stedtzon

March 5, 2017

Top product

The quality is exceptional, easy to use and perfect sound.

L. Briguglio

February 28, 2017

WOW

I am very satisfied, even if the new model is now out! But this card is still really the TOP

P. Barnes

February 27, 2017

Apollo twin USB for classical/Latin guitar

Excellent sound reproduction with two mics and Sony Acid studio.
Wish list: Apollo doesn't seem to provide their own DAW. This leaves customers risking poor sound quality if they pick an unsuccessful match of Apollo pre-amp and DAW.

F. Herrero

February 27, 2017

UAD AKA GENIUS

absolutely fantastic, also the whole compilation of plugins are spectacular!

S. Collins

February 25, 2017

Excellent, easy - and finally a usable Marshall type amp sim

Couldn't be happier with the ease of installation. I use a Windows computer, so glad I went with the USB-3 interface rather than trying to get fire wire working... cost a little more, but worth it and I've now added a great deal of UAudio processing power.

A note about the GUITAR AMP SIMULATIONS:

I'm a lifelong guitarist and Marshall enthusiast. My previous recording setup was a rebuilt Marshall Plexi style amp (PTP wiring, new output transformer... converted from a 2204 with the vertical inputs.) I'd run that Amp "on 10" into a Bad Cat attenuator, out of the attenuator into a Randall ISO box which I kept in a closet (covered with blankets) and inside of which I placed a ribbon mic. It worked and the amp sounded great, though I had to wrestle a bit with the EQ balance.

Problems: first of all, this is a lot of hassle and these amps are hard to maintain in my experience (recording on 10.) I had a huge problem with the tone at one point that none of the amp techs could figure out - turned out I needed to replace the output transformer. Did it - amp sounded better than ever. But a year later the amp developed a new problem and I'm just out of time and money to deal with it. (The amp has been down as much as functional in the last 3 years.)

In desperation I checked out the Apollo interface because I'd read that it got near zero recording latency and I knew UA had been working with some amp simulations. I respect UA so I tried two of the Marshall emulations. The 2203 didn't really convince me... sounded harsh. (My 2204 is modified, but I remember what these can sound like.) The Plexi sounded good, but it did not respond to my boost pedal the way a real Marshall does... and that's a big issue. I could have wrestled with it and maybe gotten it to work eventually, but it was a bit of a hassle for me.

Then I tried the Friedman amp sims. Had never heard of these, but scanned the info and read that the creator of these amps started with the Plexi as their reference point. This amp sim is most excellent. Lots of flexibility, and it does sound like Plexi being hit with a boost pedal to me. In fact, it's got more gain than I need. You'll need to use your ears and tweak the controls to find your sound, of course. I think the Presence control is a bit odd... it has a lot of effect and when turned past 6 the sounds is terrible to my ears, but that will be influenced by other tone control settings and your pickups. Also - the recording setups (cabs + mic configs... there's like 40+) are very well done and there's a ton of them. (I'm using the default.)

Prior to this amp sim, I'd *never* heard one based around a Marshall I'd record with nor was I aware of a setup that would allow the super low latency. In short, this is a viable way to go to my ears and... no more OT replacement, tube replacement, expensive bench time, biasing... no worries about the mic slipping out of place or other recording issues... etc, etc.

If you love real tube amps this is worth a shot. Does it sounds as good as "the real thing"... I don't think so, but it's way, way closer than any amp sim I've used and it is absolutely musical enough and responsive enough to make serious music with.

z. hua

February 22, 2017

Apollo Twin USB does not support the internal recording function is more regrettable, no I/O MATRIX interface

Apollo Twin USB does not support the internal recording function is more regrettable, no I/O MATRIX interface。

D. Efendic

February 16, 2017

Great lil' monster!

If your PC don't support TB and you don't need to purchase new one, just let Apollo Twin Duo USB land in your studio. Installation and setup was fast (I already had PCIe DUO card) on WIN 10. All of my UAD plugins from my system (more than 50 plugs) were successfully authorised on WIN PC. Thumbs up for this UA!
It's time to grab Satellite OCTO USB and I'll be safe for next couple of years as I am with good old Mac Pro 5.1.

G. Hassenrück

February 11, 2017

The best Interface in his class!

100% clean Converters! Ultra short Latencys! Ultimate Workflow! No Dropouts past 5 Minutes...

UAD forever

1-20 of 136 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7
View All Reviews