Apollo Twin USB

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 146 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Radivojevic

April 11, 2016

As good as it gets - the UA quality!

This interface is just fantastic! And I'm writing this review coming from another very high-end audio unit which has been replaced without any regrets.
I've been using UAD plugins for years (PCIe cards) and I was expecting only the best. This is what I got with Apollo USB and then some. Integration with my existing UA hardware is perfect and it worked straight out of the box without any problem.
Pros: Excellent word-class converters, Unison preamp technology (WOW!), Console software, stability and well-thought unit controls.
Cons: I had to clear half of my rack space because I won't be using some of analog hardware anymore. Actually, I take it as a plus now :)
Great job, UA! It was well worth waiting for Apollo Twin Duo USB few months!

T. Caudron

March 17, 2016

Idéal pour le home studio

Les convertisseurs sont très bons.
Les préamp unison (neve 1073, ampli guitare) améliorent vraiment la qualité des prises.
Tout est bien fait dans cette carte son y compris et surtout le workflow. On se met en condition de faire un bon enregistrement très rapidement. Le console recall permet de retrouver les réglages utilisés en cas de besoin.
L'ergonomie est vraiment bien faite avec tous les réglages de gain et de monitoring via le gros bouton. C'est un plaisir à utiliser.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

True USB Gem your Grandma wants

I have had it for 2 days and I am thinking of tossing out my Apollo 16 firewire 800. Because it is USB3 (laughs) it responds to Windows’ sleep mode. You can unplug the Twin, power off, or light your PC on fire. As soon as you reconnect, in any order your grandma wants, the settings from Console update the Twin with no iffs or butts.
I even unplugged the Twin and took it to my Studio PC with different plugs in console and it was like having Sunday Lunch.
The same cannot be said for freakin’ Firewire Apollos and Satellites, where your PC is on all day, or suffer the consequences…!..
The sad news is: Console switches Hi Z to mono, so you can't use Marshall in stereo, unless through AUX. Nobody has confirmed whether Unison works for this

D. Barrington

January 16, 2016

Plugins Make the Interface

As an audio interface, I'd give it a 4 star. Latency is about as good as Apogee, but behind Audient. Better than the Clarett though.

The look and feel of the things is a bit different than other interfaces. I like the BIG BUTTON thought. When it starts, the clicking and LED checks scare me, but I guess it's a very good thing they've implemented cause it's searching for physical problems is my guess.

I've been through a LOT of audio interfaces and what makes this 5 star really are the Pre-amp plugins. The Neve in particular.

I wish this unit were a QUAD though. The DSP's get used fast, so you have to bake plugins or add a Satellite. Mix Control software is superb!

O. RIGAUX

March 18, 2016

Buzz on Asus UX32V

random buzz, cut audio, blue screen. Here everyday life since I changed my Presonus 44VSL by USB appolo.
The tips of the support changed nothing. And I've been waiting over a week the response of the technical service.
I'm on it.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

P. Helsdon

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

L. Blume

March 4, 2016

Apollo Twin USB lemon

I've had nothing but problems with the unit I received. I disconnected it and do not plan to use it again.

T. Schirmer

April 27, 2017

Modern punch and clarity

For any track that needs more clarity and punch, the API channel is my go-to swiss-army-knife. The stepped EQ is very helpful to make changes and decisions quick. The gate is very helpful and complete in terms of features, it works for shaping sounds but it also works for use in quick-and-slightly-dirty voiceover work like voice layouts. Very happy to have it in my arsenal and one of the must-buy channel strips from my POV.

M. Iftimovici

April 26, 2017

Dissapointed

The device looks great and the plug-ins and Unison tehnology are great.
But, problem is that the device is not working well with two out of my 3 computers. It is not working well on a AMD computer (they say that AMD processors are not supported) and with a i5 computer. Instead it is working well on a i3 computer, but I do not intend to use that with this device.
Problems are with popping, crackles and clickings, in the daw and when using an internet browser on youtube for example.
I have done all the tweakings that UAD recommends and I have spoken with their support (wich, by the way was useless because the person wich responded me was something like: go buy another computer, you do not have a supported PC, you need a i7 processor).

Besides the audio glitches the device is warming up when using it for a few hours. It is very warm, not quite hot...but not too far away from that... wich is a bit strange.

I am giving only 2 stars because of the support service and because of the audio glitches I encounter. Even if my computers were not ok for this device ( still the i3 is ok ) in my opinion ... UAD should make a product work well with a wide variety of computers, not only with those with a i7 processor.
I still think that I should send this device back and get something else. I have not decided yet, but I am still thinking of that.

K. Johannessen

April 25, 2017

My search is over!!

Best EQ I tried.

Still new in this mixing thing, but I find this very useful and it adds character it a very nice way. Highly recommended

j. lawson

April 25, 2017

SSL 4000

Excellent plugin . Have similar product by another vendor , does not add warmth as Universal Products

M. Kondracki

April 15, 2017

Tube Screamer - Perfect

It's perfect, if not a tad expensive, for this pedal, but once you try it in front of the marshall amps that UAD has profiled so well, it's a must buy. It sounds perfect and is a ton of fun.

UAD User

April 12, 2017

Oxide!

Good stuff for 99€!

M. Cartwright

April 8, 2017

loving it with drums

I use quite a few sampled beats and drum machines and this one gels nicely. I do like the AMS reverb too, but this one is good when I am going for a different organic vibe. I like to go subtle with this reverb, while I will crank the verb a little more with the AMS. Just kinda how I am feeling it right now. A nice tool.

K. Johannessen

April 8, 2017

Surprisingly good for strumming

and a sweet natural compression...

UAD User

March 29, 2017

Wundervoll !

Dies war mein erster Kontakt mit UA-Hardware und wird nicht der letzte seine (Satellite Octo ist bereits bestellt). Super Qualität, keine Treiberprobleme (MAX OSX Thunderbolt) und Plugins die richtig Spass machen. Ich bin schon auf die nächsten Entdeckungen gespannt.

C. Anderson

March 24, 2017

True Blue

I am running this in unison for a few different bass players and they are having a hard time not being able to tell the difference. And these guys own and use the Big A#$ SVT's

UAD User

March 21, 2017

Diego

I purchased apollo Twin Duo USB and I found myself very badly, I had problems with drivers, and I had to give it back to back, this thing is not very nice

s. azevedo

March 17, 2017

Fantastic Portable Solution

This replaced my Presonus central station, Mackie Black Jack, and a bazillion
wires to hookup... The 2 mic pres are great too. If you're looking for a powerful all in
one, the Apollo twin is the way to go. (I have the Tbolt, even better!)

1-20 of 146 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8
View All Reviews