Apollo Twin USB

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin USB

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 105 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

P. Radivojevic 

April 11, 2016

As good as it gets - the UA quality!

This interface is just fantastic! And I'm writing this review coming from another very high-end audio unit which has been replaced without any regrets.
I've been using UAD plugins for years (PCIe cards) and I was expecting only the best. This is what I got with Apollo USB and then some. Integration with my existing UA hardware is perfect and it worked straight out of the box without any problem.
Pros: Excellent word-class converters, Unison preamp technology (WOW!), Console software, stability and well-thought unit controls.
Cons: I had to clear half of my rack space because I won't be using some of analog hardware anymore. Actually, I take it as a plus now :)
Great job, UA! It was well worth waiting for Apollo Twin Duo USB few months!

T. Caudron 

March 17, 2016

Idéal pour le home studio

Les convertisseurs sont très bons.
Les préamp unison (neve 1073, ampli guitare) améliorent vraiment la qualité des prises.
Tout est bien fait dans cette carte son y compris et surtout le workflow. On se met en condition de faire un bon enregistrement très rapidement. Le console recall permet de retrouver les réglages utilisés en cas de besoin.
L'ergonomie est vraiment bien faite avec tous les réglages de gain et de monitoring via le gros bouton. C'est un plaisir à utiliser.

P. Helsdon 

March 12, 2016

True USB Gem your Grandma wants

I have had it for 2 days and I am thinking of tossing out my Apollo 16 firewire 800. Because it is USB3 (laughs) it responds to Windows’ sleep mode. You can unplug the Twin, power off, or light your PC on fire. As soon as you reconnect, in any order your grandma wants, the settings from Console update the Twin with no iffs or butts.
I even unplugged the Twin and took it to my Studio PC with different plugs in console and it was like having Sunday Lunch.
The same cannot be said for freakin’ Firewire Apollos and Satellites, where your PC is on all day, or suffer the consequences…!..
The sad news is: Console switches Hi Z to mono, so you can't use Marshall in stereo, unless through AUX. Nobody has confirmed whether Unison works for this

D. Barrington 

January 16, 2016

Plugins Make the Interface

As an audio interface, I'd give it a 4 star. Latency is about as good as Apogee, but behind Audient. Better than the Clarett though.

The look and feel of the things is a bit different than other interfaces. I like the BIG BUTTON thought. When it starts, the clicking and LED checks scare me, but I guess it's a very good thing they've implemented cause it's searching for physical problems is my guess.

I've been through a LOT of audio interfaces and what makes this 5 star really are the Pre-amp plugins. The Neve in particular.

I wish this unit were a QUAD though. The DSP's get used fast, so you have to bake plugins or add a Satellite. Mix Control software is superb!

O. RIGAUX 

March 18, 2016

Buzz on Asus UX32V

random buzz, cut audio, blue screen. Here everyday life since I changed my Presonus 44VSL by USB appolo.
The tips of the support changed nothing. And I've been waiting over a week the response of the technical service.
I'm on it.

P. Helsdon 

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

P. Helsdon 

March 12, 2016

Han Solo and Chris Christie

There ought to be a Quad version of the Twin, or an Apollo 8 for USB 3.
I have had UAD SHARCS for over a decade and am tired of always having to bow to CEO Tim Cook first. USB 3 boasts 5.6gb per second burst rates!
Screw Thunderwire and Firebolt! They never catch on, not even with Zeus!

And also, a laptop i5 at 260 Ghz handles the Twin Duo like Chris Christie handles lasagna. -with bare hands
Obsolete UAD firewire 800 devices run from a PCIe slot, which they recommend is not suited for the USB3 Twin.

L. Blume 

March 4, 2016

Apollo Twin USB lemon

I've had nothing but problems with the unit I received. I disconnected it and do not plan to use it again.

R. MOUGENOT 

January 12, 2017

Excellent quality!

Hello!
This is a great audio interface !. The AD / DA converters are top notch !. You can make great productions. Your materials are the best! The Software mixer is a great help, and allows you to run Plugins on the input. You have to make a minimum Break-In of 100 hours.

Rolando.

C. Urzua 

January 12, 2017

Bad compatibility

My computer complied with every specification shown in the box. Also every setup adjustment was done and the unit started failing right away showing disconnections and beeps every 10 seconds. Support never answered. Finally I changed it for the MAC version hoping to have a better experience. I am still buying the MAC computer so I don´t know what is going to happen. If you are a windows user I don't recommend this product because any update in the operative system can make it useless.

J. Afonso 

January 11, 2017

Great! just great!

Easy and intuitive to use! Great sound! Works with low latency inside DAW (128 samples - no problem even with busy arrangements).
The no input latency is a blast combined with the Console.

r. cavaye 

January 10, 2017

Apollo twin usb

Sleek slimline and just outright sexy, sounds awesome. UAD the best a mix can get.

A. Pollien 

January 9, 2017

Great sounding interface

For two months I have been using it, I have improved my mixes, which have become more articulated, clearer, punchier, better in all!!! The interface is also well designed, beautiful and convenient. In short, I'm still in my honeymoon period. :love:

M. Dacian Alin 

December 23, 2016

”Evrika!” Apollo, my little beast, arrived! :)

If we want to talk about a transparent good sound, then we can talk about Apollo, without any mistake. Apollo is a marvelous gear.

+
From first look, Apollo should be recommended for the great ability to play pure sound. Notable: Any bad mix is easily heard with Apollo. What is bad, sounds realy badly and what is good, simply sounds good or very good. So, he does his job, as I expected.

-
The Console is a nice tool, fluid interface and easy to use.. but..
Is like I want some more (functionality) in it.

Yet, my little Apollo it is fresh and under testing. And my UAD plugins also.
I will be back for a more detailed review.

G. Artime Carbajal 

December 20, 2016

Very good tool, could be improved at this date.

-Very easy to install , to register and TO WORK in win10 under a very affordable pc (asus H110A plate,i3 3,7Ghz chip, 16Gb ram at 2133Mhz, non ssd hardisks). About UA Twin USB software, all works more than perfect in this pc, so, very happy in this point.
- Sound recording is clear and natural, warm under unison (like some analog feel/emu) with a nice dynamic range, so mic/line preamps and Hi z input seems to work perfect there, the AD conversion could be improved/rised to a new generation of converters (same as the new black apollo rack units), I mean, Is not bad sounding, of course not, but this units mounts 2013-2014 gen converters, and this is why I dont give 5 stars to this unit today, ending 2016 card should be improved with new-gen of converters.
- Sound editing and playing (DA conversion vía monitor outs and hp out) same, nice sound, but DA conversion could be improved for nowadays and this interface price range to be honest.
-Plug ins are very good developed visually and sonically, looks like they are very expensive, but you can get them under UA deals all over the year, so, they could be cheaper, but if you think about it they are really not so expensive like they looks like.
- Hardware, the units looks like "mounted from, or on" a UAD PCI card that costs the half price of this units, with the same conversion and specs, but in a pci, non desktop shape.
Gain/monitor/plug in parameters/mute control is very confortable to use due the big sized pot/wheel , the info is very clear on de led meters and buttons display, buttons feels solid and nice to click. Design in the unit is very nice looking, the top is very ergonomic, but units could be more comfortable for the user if the mic/line preamps were placed on the front of the unit, same as Hi z input and Hp output, or in a side of the unit, because placed on the back, for a desktop design, it is not so comfortable to access for the user, specially being inputs.
- Mine it is brand new, so I hope it will be solid as it looks like, we will see how many years this components/unit can be work without problems, then , it could get the 5 stars.

Overall it is a really nice tool to work at home in a pro way, at this price range, it is near perfect. Well done UA !!!!

R. Arafat 

December 12, 2016

As expected from uaudio

Perfect portable sound card

E. Prinsen 

December 11, 2016

Exactly what I was looking for

I was shopping around for a good audio interface with the lowest possible latency. I always wanted an apollo interface but I thought they were only made for mac users. I was thrilled when I found out about the apollo twin USB 3.0 interface. I've recorded in a studio that used apollo interfaces before so I knew this was a no brainer! I am so happy that I did! Now when I record vocals, I can add effects in realtime with no audible latency whatsoever! It gives you the option to record or monitor the effects as you record so you can get the inspiration of tracking with reverb and still record the dry signal and add it later if you wish. Also, the effects plug-ins are absolutely top notch. The emulations of the original hardware are so exact you won't be able to believe it. Everything is very intuitive. Another killer feature is that you can save your setups as presets and recall them instantly! This is so helpful if you have to come back to re record something. Your settings will be exactly the same! The sound quality is superb! I would recommend this interface to anyone who's looking for near zero latency and pristine sound quality. You won't be sorry.

R. Robertson 

December 8, 2016

Seen/Heard what it can do. Apollo Twin Duo USB3

Watched what the Apollo Twin Duo USB3 could do to a mix at a live demonstration.
After serious consideration and research I
bought a unit and experimented with it.
Now I can get a pro sounding mix at home with out leaving home.
Just what I was searching for.
Thank you UA.


A. Turner 

December 6, 2016

Save your money.

This unit sounds OK at best. I've never had any problems with it. In fact, it was fairly easy to setup. The console takes some getting used to but all in all a fairly decent product. The problem is the price in comparison to the sound quality, actual function, and limitations.

Despite the false advertisement, the DUO can't handle much stress. 4 or 5 plugins max and it dies quickly. In it's price range, with this limitation, it's pretty much useless...not to mention you can only use UAD plugins which are painfully overpriced.

I wouldn't recommend this unit to a friend or foe. If they cut the price in half for both the unit and the plugins, it might be a contender for the home studio. As it is now, it's for those who either have more money than brains, or for those who don't read reviews. Either way, 3 stars is a fair assessment overall.

S. Jazrawy 

November 30, 2016

High quality,classy design and easy to use.

This audio interface is High quality,classy design and easy to use,
anyone can see the difference when you own this gear,
I wish it has just two more inputs so in this case we will have a great 4 inputs interface with affordable price.
and the great think we have a 14 free plugins already and in my case I have extra 3 plugins too.

1-20 of 105 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
View All Reviews