EMT® 140 Classic Plate Reverberator

Regular Price: $199.00

$149.00

Regular Price: $199.00

$149.00

Customer Reviews

EMT® 140 Classic Plate Reverberator

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 589 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 30

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

B. Boykin 

April 1, 2015

This plugin is awesome!!!

I've searched everywhere for a good sounding all around universal plugin and I must say this plugin is now in my heavy rotation of go to plugins.

V. Azevedo  

December 15, 2014

Sounds lovely

I'm a very great fan of reverbs and have some ones I like to use.
I was watching EMT for a while and, after test it few hours with some of my real mixes, I noticed the it sounds much better than my favorite Plate. I mean it is dense, warm, with nice resolution.
It sounds like a non digital. It sounds real. Good for a lot of things.
It's graphical interface is pretty, simple, fast and easy to use.
EMT now figures my session's Plate's Bus. My favorite reverb now.

Vinnie Azevedo
Mix Eng
www.kinemamusic.com.br
www.audioescola.com.br

G. Mutandwa  

December 14, 2014

best reverb ever!

This is my go-to reverb, ppl demo this asap it will transform your mixes!!!

T. Spielmacher  

January 15, 2014

Wanted this amazing plugin for awhile now...

Classy, smooth, versatile, elegant and truly professional sounding. So easy to be used in a tasteful way. Brings things to life without the fuss. A terrific and affordable weapon and tribute to the past.

V. Romanov  

January 13, 2014

EMT 140 Plug-In always "at hand"

I often use EMT 140 Plug-In vs Vocal BUS, great space emulation always "at hand". Rival Music pays respect to UAD

C. Freitas  

March 8, 2013

EMT 140

On 80's I mixed a lot of classic albums here in Brasil at Transamérica Studios in São Paulo using the original EMT 240 and EMT 251 reberbs and when i tried the 140 UA Plug ins i came back 25 years and the new experience was amazing!

B. Trimpe  

September 13, 2012

The Best Reverb Plugin I have ever used

Jaw dropping. This is the kind of plugin that makes mixing more fun. It adds depth, width, and ambiance. It sounds great on all source material. Reverb plugins usually have really brittle, tinny, a/o false decay tails. I have tried a bunch of other plugins from IK Multimedia, Waves, and a few others. This thing buries them all in terms of sound and usability.

I have been really impressed with most of the UA plugins but this thing is off the scale. I use it on every session now and get amazing results quickly and without fail.

G. Bordarampe  

August 15, 2012

Sounds just like the original, lush, clear, and great tweaking capabilities. It's my go to plate reverb.

D. Lamb  

August 3, 2012

The DAWs I use have their own built in reverbs, so to buy another reverb for a back bedroom studio seemed overkill to me. Then I tried the EMT140 Demo...... I expected it to sound great (and it does!) but the surprise was how EASY it was to get a great sound. In very little time, and with only a few tweaks, you're there, you have a reverb that sounds great in your mix.

F. Yaker  

July 4, 2012

I've used many reverb plugins over the years and have always struggled to find one that I really can work with. I find most reverbs to be overly complex and even though I am somebody who uses presets as a basis and adjusts from there, if the options are overwhelming, I get frustrated. This plugin sounds great, but one of the main reasons that I love it is because the controls are few and straight to the point. You can easily adjust the sounds to your taste with the limited amount of knobs. I also want to mention that while most reverbs I always finding myself slowly turning down and down and down until there is a subtle ambience but not a really apparent reverb this might be the first reverb that beckons you to turn it up!

S. Froudist  

December 14, 2011

The original EMT plate reverb is a steel monster that needs an isolated vault of its own. With only rudimentary damping and EQ, it is more or less a "set and forget" creature. Instead of a soundproof room, the UA version (really three units in one) just needs a UAD card to run on. While lacking some of the more esoteric settings of other types of reverberators, this classic and classy reverb responds well to a bit of tweaking: for example, fine tune the frequency response to compliment the audio, using both the input filter and the reverb EQ. If you cut the low end or scoop out some mids, you can keep the level and reverb time up without muddying the mix, or you could boost the tops to to add a dreamy air to vocals or acoustic guitar.
Use the modulation control to add movement and harmonic complexity to shimmering sounds.
Try two instances in mono, panned Left and Right: this keeps the centre dry and there is much more sonic room to move.
Or exaggerate the pre-delay to keep the reverb out of the way.
Or send some signal from your delays into the reverb.
Don't be afraid to run an EQ after the reverb.
Or...or...

A great workhorse reverb, and of course you can run several instances at once!
Or use it alongside one of the other great UAD reverbs!

One last hint: make the reverb obvious and do your tweaking. When you are satisfied, drop the reverb level...less is usually more. Automate your levels (and even your tweaks) if you need the reverb to be more obvious at the end of vocal lines etc.

D. Craighead  

July 15, 2007

I think this is the best reverb for drums and percussions there is on the software market. It has a nice non-metallic sound, it's kinda hard to explain, very smooth. Way better than dreamverb in my opinion. Also nice when you put it to the Master-Out, EQ it just right and turn it on to 5%, it "glues" the end mix to one piece. And for this price it's better than tc.

R. Ravella  

December 30, 2014

EMT 140 Classic Plate

Like all UAD plugins, this one is way WAY too expensive. Between the year end sale and the small $25 coupon that takes a tiny bite out of the cost, I purchased this for something closer to a reasonable price. It sounds very good, but then all my reverb plugins sound very good. This one sounds different, I have no personal experience with the real thing so I can't say if that difference is authentic, but it will likely be usable. If UA would stop trying to gouge their customers and act a bit less like Avid, they would probably sell enough more product to compensate and actually make more money in the end. But clearly, they're driven by greed. Like Avid.

C. Cormier  

December 20, 2006

I'll have to be the lone dissenter here. I was disappointed by this plugin, after putting it through its paces. It's just murky and dull sounding. Dreamverb is probably my favorite UAD reverb. But put this up against Sonic Timeworks' gorgeous plate reverbs, or even TC-Helicons, all of which I spent a few days A/B/C'ing with, and it just sounds terrible.

m. casula 

April 6, 2015

problem with rever emt 140 (uad v.8)

hi, after I updated to uad 8 , reverb emt 140 no longer works , in version 7 uad I had bundled and now with uad 8 should I buy ?? annoyed for this ....
I hope someone can answer me , thanks

B. Kircher  

February 8, 2007

I bought a lot of plugs from UA (projpak, fairchild, cambridge, precEQ, preLim, BossFX, LA2A, 1176LN and the Plate 140).
After i mixed a demo (using only the Plate 140 as reverb), i brought the tape to a professional audio-engineer (he had several hits in the german charts).

His comment: "the reverb is not very satisfiying...".

WOW!

I trusted in all the comments and all the evaluations shown up in this area!

I recognized, not to trust in too many people - in the future i will trust my own ears.

Sure - plug-ins give you the possibility to get a certain quality to a low price.

But in my opinion it is only "good" but not "great".

There is a difference between hard- and software.

Please be honest.

Thank you, Bernie.

M. Wagner  

February 15, 2013

Love the Plate!

I LOVE plates, and the UAD EMY 140 delivers! I use it every day!

It is lush and warm, and sounds like the real thing! It is a must have for any UAD user, and for everyone else who doesn't use UAD, your a moron!

Matthew von Wagner
Producer/Engineer/Mixer
Crystal Castles
U.S.S.
Ko
Alpha Galates
Most Non Heinous

W. Kopka  

September 20, 2011

Hi, update on the UAD version 6 1 is no longer my EMT 140. what do I do now?

Waldemar

wkopka@aol.com

G. Hout 

December 4, 2016

Can't really figure out how to use it

I have bought this one in a package deal with the EMT250. I rarely use it. Maybe I have not tried hard enough or I just like the Lexicon224 better.

N. Dayan 

December 3, 2016

My go-to plate reverb plugin

Has become almost a habit to slap this reverb on all my sessions, always producing incredible effects especially for drums and vocals. If I had to choose one reverb, this would be the one.

1-20 of 589 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 30
View All Reviews