Sonnox® Oxford EQ

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

Customer Reviews

Sonnox® Oxford EQ

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 39 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

S. Renius  

September 24, 2013

a little bit to espensive

cool to use, sound is smooth
a little bit to espensive

J. Hudak  

April 11, 2013

Ellite bundle

Dear UAD,
please add GML option for this wonderfull EQ, and i will buy it for the price immediately.
Also i am wondering when you release other plugs from Ellite bundle. I will buy all of them at once.
Thanks for all great job done !
Jan

D. Griffith  

January 18, 2013

A true Desert Island Plug-in

This is a truly great plug-in! It is always #1 or #2 on those "Desert Island" EQ plug-in lists. I don't understand the less than perfect reviews some has given it, which are not based on the sound and performance of the plug-in itself but because Sonnox sells the exact same plug-in.

Since I don't own any Sonnox bundles, it does not get much better than this. The UAD version is a few dollars cheaper than the stand-alone Sonnox Native instance, I had a small discount coupon which lowered the price even more, it takes advantage of my UAD DSP power, & I have been told the interface feels a tad better.

I was very partial to the UAD Cambridge EQ graphical display, This has all that with famous Sonnox sound. Great a addition!

U. Borjesson  

November 20, 2012

Clean and smooth

I need an EQ that change what I need to change but with no artifacts and colorizations, as I use like the Pultec, Trident, Helios, when I need character and Cambridge for surgery:-)

I now have the Oxford, to grab, and I do that very often as a Pro sound and mastering engineer.

(One star away from full poll, as it is not 100% comp with Wavelab)

Thanx UA

J. Perno  

October 1, 2012

Oxford EQ

The Oxford EQ is the EXACT algorithm as the Sonnox version. After speaking with the East Coast regional manager of UA, I learned that UA didn't market this plugin to people that already own the Sonnox version. This is for people that don't already have the plugin but prefer to have the UAD card handle the DSP processing. It's all a matter of personal preference. And for those of you who think the Cambridge EQ is the same thing, you are mistaken. The Cambridge EQ was UA's best crack at the Oxford type EQ before they had license to sell the real version. The Oxford EQ is the EXACT sonnox authorized version which also comes with 4 different EQ types which the Cambridge doesn't offer.

L. Hughes  

September 11, 2012

Amazing EQ but...

This is an absolutely amazing EQ. I own the native version and use it all the time, however I really don't see how the $299 cost for the UA version can be justified. Being a Logic user, I would almost be tempted to buy it anyway if this version included the GML option but it does not.

One point I think is worth mentioning - other users have posted that they don't see why UAD have released this. The reason is this is a third party plugin developed by Sonnox with probably little to no input from UAD. I totally get the point of it, but not at this price and definitely not without GML.

J. Schwab  

August 17, 2012

great example for usability

I don't want to judge the quality of the filters or the price of the plugin, but at least the sonnox programmers show that today's standards for usability can be accomplished on the UAD-platform:

- undo/redo buttons
- numeric values shown all the time (if you prefer to)
- holding the shift button allows very fine adjustments of these values
- an option menue to adjust the workflow to your needs

J. Miguel  

November 9, 2012

not worth it

If you have the Cambridge why on earth would you get this plugin. The Cambridge is amazing but for a decent prize of 150, but to pay 300 for this Oxford Plug-in. A total rip off. Doesn´t offer any AMAZING differences. If it cost 150 like the Cambridge ... then it would be like either Pizza Hut or Domino Pizza, but for 300 ... no way. Not worth the price.

A. Levin  

August 13, 2012

I try to set the same settings in UA plugin, and in original Sonnox Eq (from Elite bundle). I record the result, and then revert the phase. The result is - ABSOLUTE SILENCE!!
It means, that it's absolutely the same code!!
Not necessary to buy this plug if you have original from Sonnox.

The only thing, that UA Eq looks a little bit better :))

J. Kirkpatrick  

August 18, 2012

Don't go there if.....

you have:

Cambridge EQ

Native Sonnox

As already discussed, WAY overpriced and no better than what's already out there.

UA - come on guys, how about something we can't get elsewhere? Oh....and at a decent price. I have 70%+ of all your plugins but I fear the pricing as of late is forcing me away. That + the fact that you can't use a Satellite as extra realtime processing on Apollo.

Overall - need to try harder to get more of my dollars.

D. Hrivnak  

August 12, 2012

If you think you might like to purchase this plug-in, save yourself both money and regret by buying the Cambridge EQ instead. If you already own the Cambridge EQ, be glad that you do, and ignore this odd misstep in a long line of great products by Universal Audio.

J. Sosa  

August 21, 2012

not recomended

I''m sorry guy''s, but this plugin is to expensive, considering you can do the same with the Cambrige EQ. I have the cambrige EQ so why do i have to buy this one??

P. Moshay  

August 2, 2012

Having been a long time Sony Oxford Console owner as well as long time user of the Oxford Plug in, it can't be said enough how much of a fantastic eq this is and has always been. There's a special something that can be surgical and broad with the same instance, and the filters are as good as it gets. This is a must own plug in.

T. Spirka  

September 30, 2012

Happy to see more plugins on UAD

With Apollo you can track or monitor through this amazing eq, can't you? So why not to compare it's price to the TDM version? 300 UAD and 350 TDM? 50 less for not having the GML :) Found also much more enjoyable using the uad interface...

G. Kurtz  

September 9, 2012

very good

Oxford Native $200
Oxford TDM - AAX $350
Oxford Ua $299

The price is HIGH, i agree, but shoulndt be a surprise to anyone... I think in the future there will be an Oxford bundle at a better price....
Upgrade from cambridge would be cool also, but i dont think they can do this, once sonnox must agree with something like that, and they wont.

This is exactly the same code as native version. A very good eq! Much like cambridge, but not the same, they are different....

Why GML is not an option? Very bad....

G. Yacobacci  

August 29, 2012

Nothing To Write Home About

First, I love UAD products and always get excited when new ones come out, unfortunately I have to wait for the next product to get excited........As previously stated the native sonnox version is the same and actually sounds a little better in my opinion. Demo the product and A/B the two before you purchase. I cant wait for V6.4

S. Hurtow  

August 12, 2012

This is where I would usually get all excited about the latest addition to the UAD-2 Plug-In family. Universal Audio has been incredibly consistent with mesmerizing my mixing ears, and I would have to say that I am very proud to have quite a nice and hefty collection of UAD-2 Plug-Ins cozily nestled in my Meter & Control Panel.

This time however, I did not feel tempted to hit the "BUY" button after downloading V6.3 and giving the Sonnox Oxford EQ Plug-In the 14-Day Trial. It's been 7 days and I would have to sadly report that I cannot share that same excitement I once experienced. I am aware of the number of new features on board, however at the end of the day, it's just another EQ.

How about an old valve mic preamp plug-in next time?

D. Piscina  

August 8, 2012

I agree. The native Sonnox EQ sounds as good, if not better. And for around $500 you get the EQ, Dynamics, Limiter, etc. UA charges $300 for the EQ alone?!

I am not sure why UA would want to release this plugin. If it was a free [or inexpensive] upgrade from the Cambridge, it would make sense.

I was expecting UA's next EQ release to be API. Maybe in the future. But please don't charge $300 for one EQ!

D. Wheeler  

January 8, 2014

Should have been better

I did not find this plugin was very effective, a bit disappointing

A. Fuller  

October 25, 2013

I've heard so many mixed reviews about this eq

Honestly, I didn't hear anything special with this EQ. I don't find it as smooth as everyone is stating. I was really disappointed.

1-20 of 39 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
View All Reviews