Sonnox® Oxford Inflator

Regular Price: $179.00

$89.00

Regular Price: $179.00

$89.00

Customer Reviews

Sonnox® Oxford Inflator

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 106 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

d. sanderson 

February 21, 2015

Is It Compression?

I'm not sure what this plug in does. I tried it out to help control loudness of a digital drum mix, and was sold after the first try. The average power level of the tracked signal can appear to remain low, yet the perceived loudness of mix is very in your face and, in fact can sound like it is over clipping levels A quick glance at the meter shows that isnt so.

Nonetheless, unattentive use of this plug in can result in distortion and clipping, and I find this very harsh. I prefer using it as a loudness or boost; I ;m still experiementing where in the chain to use this, though it appears to best be used at the latest stages of mix.

I also use it on music playback which can add a very nice overall loudness to the music at parties, etc

.  

February 3, 2015

Buss Magic!

This little plugin is amazing at bringing your mix to life! i use it all the time.

?. ??  

December 18, 2013

easy to hand

I'd always used this plugin(native version) for each track, but it was heavy.
I re-bought this plugin on UAD for PC's CPU load, and it's so good.

S. Hughes  

July 10, 2013

Sweet!

This is one of those 'does one thing and does it well' plug ins that comes in really handy. I've used it on a few final mixes now and the clients have all smiled so far when they get the on / off demonstration.

Not one single person has as yet said... no thanks.

I haven't read the manual yet, so I probably should so I can get the most out of it, but I think it's another great UAD-2 tool that I'll use daily.

I see so many negative reviews here from cheapskates moaning about the cost of these plugs but c'mon guys, we're saving freaking thousands of dollars using these great plug ins instead of having to buy the hardware units that don't sound any different generally.

This tech is just plain brilliant, especially when used with an Apollo.

S. Nevarez  

June 29, 2013

Volume boost with no coloration

This is a nice tool to enhance the volume of your recordings. I keep it simple to preserve the dynamic range of the recording. At extreme setting it will add distortion to the whole mix, which is not for me, so I mainly work with the INPUT and OUTPUT sliders. Is that simple.

C. Mcgowan  

June 17, 2013

Oxford Inflator

This plugin is one of the most useful and pleasing processors I have encountered. It's easy to use and versatile. I use it on individual tracks, groups and anywhere else I need to make the most out of a sound without destroying it's dynamics. I'm very happy with this purchase as I knew I would be. Thanks, Sonnox and UAD.

R. Masters  

June 14, 2013

This is a good plug.

If you don't like it your not using it right..................

G. Piazza  

June 12, 2013

A different path to the maximizer effect

The Inflator is another path to Maximizing. Since uses a different algorithm than the P. Max, is sounds different - more 'Metal' than 'Jazz', more modern, more surgical, slightly less 'tubey'.
It is easier to get too heavy-handed with the Inflator, but it is a good alternative to the P. Max for Mastering.
I also found less use for the Inflator on mix busses and individual instruments than the P. Max.
As a mastering engineer, it is a great alternative to the P. Max and other 'maximizers', harmonic enhancers and 'Exciters'. It definitely has a mature sound - no shoddy programming here.
Demo it and decide. And experiement! It has a wide range of sounds for so few controls.

G. Piazza  

May 29, 2013

Good alternative to Precision Maximizer

The Sonnox Inflator is another way to make mixes louder without squashing them.
It doesn't work on everything; if a mix already has a lot of saturation and harmonic enhancement, the Inflator can make these elements harsh and unpleasant, but when a relatively clean mix needs that extra upfront sound (in your face), the Inflator makes a nice alternative to the P. Max.
Try both; invariably one works better for a given mix. It is not always clear which one and sometimes neither is appropriate.
Make no mistake, the Inflator has a different sound than the Maximizer - less 'tubey' and more surgical and aggressive (at higher curve settings). A good tool for mastering engineers.

T. Crystal  

May 17, 2013

Inflator hits a home run

The UA Sonnox Oxford Inflator is proving to be such a great tool for us. Great sounding loudness with no compromises. It's like HGH for your mixes. We're using it a lot!
Ken Jordan
The Crystal Method

H. Makela  

May 9, 2013

Easiest purchase decision!

I activated the demo if this plugin soon after it was released and tried on lot of different materials I had edited/mastered before. I pretty much decided to get it right after testing it on two of my songs - its pretty amazing how this little thing works.
Further tried it on some of my acoustic guitar tracks and that alone would have justified getting this plugin! Really nice results. Sounds are maximised while not crushed and in individual tracks it does wonders on bringing selected tracks live.
I own pretty much every plugin from UA but purchase decision had never been easier than for this one.

D. Popp  

May 18, 2014

Not a Magic Wand, but Cool to Have Anyway

The simplicity of this plugin is its strength because you can try it quickly on a track - it will either make the magic or it won't - and you can either apply it, or go on with your search. In my application, which usually includes voiceover, it seems that the Inflator is least desirable if there's already a fair amount of compression on the track. It may be most impressive on sparse and raw sources.

J. Brown-mccue  

January 13, 2014

Oxford Inflator Review

I own and love some of the UAD plug ins, and some of them don't get used. This is one that doesn't get used. This plug in does what it says it does, it inflates, and the demo's sound pretty good, but I don't think it's right for what I do - which is drum machine, synth, vocals type stuff. It's probably better suited for some other use/ not for everyone.
IMHO

M. Perminov  

September 16, 2013

Потрясающий прибор!!!

??????? ??????? ????????? ?? ????????????? ??????! ?? ????? ? ?????? ?????????!!!

A. Starostin  

May 15, 2013

I'm surprised.

No sense in this plugin.
He is not bad and not good - it is useless for the UAD platform.

R. Barnum 

April 16, 2015

Was A Great Final Tweak For My Drums!!!

Love the Sonnox Oxford Inflator plugin. I was struggling to get that final juice in a mix for snare and kick without losing imaging... I tried this one and WOW!!! It just has the "something extra" I was looking for, Really picked them up with a detailed edge. I got a defined placement in the mix with a not-too-distracting loudness. Love it. Don't know why it took me so long to use this thing?

A. Anderson  

October 14, 2013

ONE OF A KIND

I am really loving this. I have used MANY frequency selective compressors but this thing does its job and WELL!... take care of ANY annoying frequency and have extreme control over it's reduction. Also I can create very weird effects for vocal as well! LOVE IT

L. Messina  

September 14, 2013

Awesome

Very simple and highly effective plug in by UA. Always wondered how can I get my mixes as loud as the pros with out clipping then I found this gem.

R. Ramos  

July 27, 2013

Excellent

This software has the ability to bring out the musical information of the second and third plans that are hidden. With this you make the audio more dense and rich. Be careful not to exceed it and flatten the dynamics, especially noticeable when listening at higher volumes.

.  

December 4, 2016

Extreme Sound Design

I'm using this awesome plugin for sound design combined with extreme eq and distortion!

1-20 of 106 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
View All Reviews