SSL G Series Bus Compressor

Regular Price: $249.00

$149.00

Regular Price: $249.00

$149.00

Customer Reviews

SSL G Series Bus Compressor

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 149 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

B. Emerson  

October 22, 2014

G bus magic

i had a chance to compare a real SSL g compressor across my mixes against the plug in
and found the plug in to sound about 90% the same ..
the main difference was the threshold on the hardware was more sensitive and i had to use less compression to reach the same 4db .
great job UAD ;)

A. Gamez  

July 14, 2014

The Magic Glue That Was Missing

Ive had the oportunity to work on a SSL desk some time ago and I was always impressed and in love with its buss compressor. It yielded a glue to my mix that is imposible to get without it.
Due to my lack of budget, I couldnt afford to buy the real thing and for that reason, I used the waves version. A few months ago I decided to give universal audio's ssl buss compressor a go and immediately knew I had to buy it. Waves version doesnt even come close. The warmth, punch, bottom end of this thing... Its amazing. It is my go to glue compressor without a doubt. I love it the most on drums, but i use it as well for many of my stem mixes. It is definitely worth buying, specially if you are looking for that magic glue. Thanks UA!!!

Z. Barzilai  

June 3, 2014

Smash that 2buss

Have been using the analog version for a year now. this is so close i had to buy it.

P. Sillaro  

May 13, 2014

PSE Recording Studios/UAD-2 in Pro Tools HD

As a hands on Studio owner I work with my gear every day. I became a fan of the UAD-2 system from the start. My new SSL plug-in is superb. Although I still use hardware, the UAD-2 plug-ins are the only ones I use. There is a real good reason why so many producers and engineers select UAD-2 plug-ins as their first choice. They simply sound great. Thank You.

S. Derose  

April 12, 2014

The Glue

This is the glue that is pasting my mix's together!

J. Cabrera  

November 8, 2013

Glue For My Mixes

I love mixing with this compressor on my Master Bus. The SSL G Compressor seems to bring up instruments that were previously tucked away, and adds more presence to the entire mix. It gels all the instruments together pretty nicely with just a touch of it (1dB or 2dB of gain reduction at most). But be gentle with this, since the effect is not subtle. Too much of it and the mix will start to choke!

V. Lehmann  

October 18, 2013

SSL G Series Bus Compressor

Let me start by saying that I love this plug-in. I've been using the SSL Buss Compressor across my master buss for years and just love the way it makes my mixes sound huge, but the new SSL G Series Compressor has really taken master buss compression to the next level. When compared side by side the new G Series seems to slam the mix more without getting out of control. So over all you end up with more volume and more clarity. This plug-in is a must have for anyone looking for a master buss compressor to mix into.

E. Grech  

October 11, 2013

Ssl sticky glue

This is a great plugin!
It's great on the master to glue everything together!
Nice!

L. Lesage  

September 25, 2013

Great Compressor

Everything has being said about this fabulous plugin. As a master insert, it gives a tremendous dynamic while glueing all tracks together. A must have.

T. Mitrevej  

September 22, 2013

Punchy touch!

This thing is amazing! It adds wonderful punch and colour - I can't work without it from now on.

J. Bowman  

September 8, 2013

SSL G

Really happy with this one. It just works, i find I like the sound of it quite a bit more than the Waves SSL buss comp. Just seems a bit more smooth. The meter seems to react more appropriately too As well, when you switch ratios it definitely does a familiar thing that the real 4k buss compressor does...

Recently I was asked by a mastering engineer if/what buss compression i used on a mix because it was really good. Was the first mix I did with this. Also, i've been mixing on a real SSL 4k for the last 4 years until recently when i moved primarily ITB

Doesn't work for all applications, but neither does the real 4k comp. Seems like the best re-creation i've heard yet...

M. Mahler  

August 24, 2013

A plugin to add the glue and smotheness to your final mix

I have used so far this plugin on the master channel. For my mixes it glues the whole mix together, the bass is smother and the mid and high frequencies are less harsh.
Overall, it makes the whole sound more radio ready. I use often on my master channel at first the SSL G Series Bus compressor to glue and smoothen the mix, followed by the UAD Precision Multiband to add again a little bit of glamour and high-end and finish up by a limiter. For me a must-have for everyone who wants to take the mix to the next level.

D. Hiett  

August 22, 2013

This one beats them all

Once authorizing my duo I immediately started recording new music to use as buss compression shootout program material. I made bass heavy, acoustic, noisy, distorted, clean & polished, lofi, hifi whatever I could think of. To tell you the truth I wanted to like the Shadow Hills comp because it just looked so damn cool. This plugins graphics left something to be desired. It looks like the compressor Mario and Luigi would use to master their jams back in the Super Nintendo days. Well don't ever look at your computer screen when A/Bing its just a bad habit and will ruin your perspective on the sound. After about 20 minutes it was pretty obvious to me that this compressor just had the sound. Bass comes out, and the mix just sounds alive.

J. Brennan  

August 21, 2013

True and real.

Don't even bother with the Waves SSL. They aren't EVEN close. Same settings and Waves is all over the place.

If you have ever used an SSL console or outboard SSL compressor, you will know how it sounds.
You don't have to tweak much to get it to change and react. As the hardware does.

You know how it sounds across the buss and across drums. Forget the others.

F. Pilz  

July 28, 2013

great...but

I have no comparison to the hardware, but to the SSL Duende Emulation. Compared with that, the "original" by SSL sounds a bit smoother and fresher. Anyway, i think this is a "fair" emulation...and - to stress this once more - i don´t know, how the hardware sounds.
I love this compressor very, very much. It brings the voice right to your face

S. Masarsky  

June 27, 2013

Best Drum Bus Plug In...

Period. Or of course my opinion. Perhaps overstated but very true. It's that glue that brings the sound of the drum-kit together. Way outperforms similar emulations.

J. Scheldt  

April 28, 2013

A "can't do without" magic plugin!

A "can't do without" magic plugin!
Awesome plugin on the master channel.

Producing rock music I like McDSP's Analog Channel but when it comes to pop-, house-, r&b and club tracks it's always this one that I use!

G. Bugmann  

March 4, 2013

nearest to the original

it is not just another bus compressor - i have tried a lot of native copy's of the ssl bus compressor because it is a really winner in the mixing process and finally found the one, that really works - especially on a drum-bus!
congratulations.

P. Farnan  

February 11, 2013

Essential

Basically this compressor is the sound of contemporary Western popular music over the last 25 years. It glued together the mixes of my bands first major label recordings in 1986 and it's making me sound like I still have a budget in 2013. It's subtle, musical and brilliant. And a great emulation.

PF

.  

February 5, 2013

Subtle yet brilliant

After using the same plugin with the waves bundle, to some degree of disappointment I was astounded by the UA version. I have been lucky enough to compare to the hardware version and this plugin and the difference is delightfully minimal. The only thing lacking with the plug in is the depth you get with the hardware, but at a fraction of the cost it is still amazing quality and value. Great on the master bus and for parallel drum processing. Highly recommended

1-20 of 149 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 8
View All Reviews