UAD-2 Satellite Firewire

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 Satellite FireWire

OVERALL RATING

1-20 of 101 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

R. Russell 

February 24, 2016

UAD Octo Card.

I have now finished the HDX upgrade. I bought a UAD Octo card to have as many plugs as I could because UAD is such a great sounding product. So, nothing wrong with the product but, the delay on some of these plugs makes it impossible to use as a recording tool. Mixing yes but from a musicians viewpoint,far to much latency as musicians play in time and plug ins don't. It seems I am stuck with the usual politics between Avid and other brands. After asking many questions about what to buy, it seems that I should have bought an Apollo interface to save latency but of course, this takes away a lot from the idea of having DSP. I feel like I'm stuck between a corporate cross fire here. To sum up, great card, bad politics.

R. Pearce 

September 9, 2015

Love the plugins, though way too expensive for the amount of DSP

While I love the sound of the plugins, it is very disappointing how quickly the DSP is used up. The SHARC processors used cost next to nothing and when you compare to the kind of computer you could buy for a couple of quads it is quite astonishing. Would be great if they could also make use of your computers native DSP.

E. Bennett  

September 20, 2012

UAD-2 Satellite Duo

The biggest challenge in upgrading my recording studio computer was trying to budget not only for the new computer, but to make sure that I had enough money to upgrade my UAD cards. For 7 years I stayed with my aging Power PC 2.7 GHz, Dual Processor G5 because I had to get the right system with UAD cards.

Thank God for the engineers at UAD who created in 2011 the UAD-2 Satellite platform. This allowed me to purchase a mac mini 2.0 i7 quad core sever and the UAD-2 Satellite for under $2000. This allowed me keep all of the plugin I had grown to depend. My favorites being the EMT Plate 140, Pultec Pro and EQ1, LA2A, and the Neve 88 RS channel strip.

All I can say is thank you UA for another exceptional product. :)

J. Gradwohl  

August 10, 2012

The satellite itself works fine and seems to perform very stable.
The biggest issue is the price for all the plugins. Way too expensive compared to native alternatives.

C. Asker  

July 30, 2012

Thanks to the awesome UAD-1 trade-in deal, I can now use all my powerful UAD plug-ins on my new iMac with this incredibly solid device. Installation was a breeze, and it works fine and gives me access to even more top-of-the-line plug-ins!
The Satellite unit also enables me to put more emphasis on software instruments, since the CPU is relieved by the firewire driver.

Once again, thanks to Universal Audio for bringing out the best gear in business!

J. Downing  

July 12, 2012

As a UAD-1 (two cards) owner with a G5 I was a little skeptical at first about updating to a Macbook Pro and UAD-2 Satellite Duo system with latency performance concerns over firewire. After getting the new system that fear is long gone, it performs beautifully. More than surpasses my old system. Works great with my firewire 400 Tascam FW-1884 audio & control surface with no issues, does not effect plug-in count or performance. I have a full UAD powerhouse that is truly mobile finally. Great job UAD!

Jamie Downing
Gallery Of Voices
www.galleryofvoices.com

T. Leyman  

August 14, 2013

unstable hardware

i've found the satellite to be very unstable. Constant error messages if i dare use more than 3 or 4 plugins. Once the errors occur i have to remove all plugins from my project and start again after a full shut down and reboot. The latency on the firewire is too high for tracking too. Shame there is no port for updating the hardware,

I would recommend the pcie cards as i've used them for years. I've found support to be slow though so hopefully you don't have any problems!

Moving to the satellite has been very problematic. I no longer use it and have found native alternatives.

J. Spencer  

June 15, 2011

Well I am sure the plugins are great but you should write on the label in big letters; FOR MIXING AND MASTERING ONLY!! NO LIVE TRACKING! Tell me how one uses and Echo on guitar without intuiting the way it sounds... not something you want to add on as with a lot of the plugs. After crashing several times, reinstalling several times, I finally found somewhere deep in the manual that it is recommended for mixing and mastering.
That's just great... I unplugged everything and now it is a nice desk ornament.

When and if you get a thunderbolt interface, I hope you acknowledge all of us who bought (a lot of money) your mixing and mastering program.

I don't care to have my name made public in this review if it is posted.

D. Mizuta  

June 7, 2012

I think its to early to have a solid opinion about the product. But I can say the plugins sounds really good, specially Pultec Pro and Fatso Sr.

I got a crash once or twice, just by opening some instances of Fatso. Which was quite weird, because it was a small project... actually i was only making some experiences with the new plugins.

Well, if I can, I would like to make this review in a few weeks. Probably I'll be more aware about this great device.

Dani M.

K. Hankins 

November 29, 2016

RUNNING A 16 CORE UAD2 SYSTEM

I decided to break out the Firewire Satellite UAD2 expansion from the box after not plugging it in for several months. My current mix needed more UAD power to run the session in Pro-tools. The installation and upgrade was quick and flawless and now I have more 30% more power to host these amazing plugins from Universal Audio. I've been loving the Unison mode on the Apollo Firewire and recording thru the plugins on my older Mac Pro and the results are beyond phenominal. Finally I can track the synths from a synchronized Mac running Logic 9 into pro-tools and fatten up the sounds they way the should recorded before going to post mixing. The next step for my setup is to route a chain out the Apollo thru my analog EQs, compressors, and filters to get the mix quality I have been dreaming to have. Thank you Universal Audio for making my productions A level.

C. Soto 

November 17, 2016

It Just Works as It Should

What can I say? I own an Apollo Twin Duo and the extra 4 core DSP gives me just so much processing power. It simply works flawlessly and integrates well with my system. No hiccups.

.  

September 7, 2016

Plug...

...and play. It just works.

Too bad though that it's only possible to cascade two devices (e.g. one Apollo and one Satellite). I guess this is due to FW bus limitations.

R. Grace 

August 31, 2016

UAD-2 Satellite DSP Accelerator (Firewire)

One of the most challenging part of using UAD is becoming addicted to the quality and performance of their products - both hardware and software. Being a Windows based studio - it has been a limited perspective to augment the capability of the UAD products into my studio setup. Before buying the UAD-2 Satellite DSP Accelerator (Firewire) I had an internal QUAD and OCTO PCIe cards with the addition of an Apollo Duo. I have wanted to expand for quite sometime. I don't know why I didn't think of it earlier - but buying an external UAD-2 Satellite DSP Accelerator (Firewire) was so easy and simple to augment my studio capability. It took less than 5 minutes to install and provision the external UAD-2 and it worked like a charm!

R. Beld 

July 24, 2016

Love the UAD satellite.

Big fan of the UAD platform. In our studio it runs very stable. Also the portability of this unit is great for some last minute edditing back home. Although I would not give 5 stars because since we bought our second FW 800 Quad Satellite, sometimes we get errors in Logic Pro resulting in annoying disabled plugins without pointing out what plugins are put in disabled mode.

K. de Wit 

April 20, 2016

Small and well built

This unit was lot smaller than I expected, which is great. It is very solid and well built. This was a free promotion so that makes this even better. Install was very simple just plug it in and away you go.

.  

April 14, 2016

Great update to my studio

Great sounding plugins, UAD2 satellite quad works perfectly with my Windows laptop. But now I am addicted to buying new plugins! I like especially Teletronix La2a collection.

s. evans 

April 9, 2016

Great buy

Thoroughly enjoying my apollo and uad system. Plugins are amazing. They give me what I'm looking for while sculpting the sound in the studio and live.

C. Brown 

April 2, 2016

Excellent!

Fantastic piece of kit. Bought it as an upgrade for my ageing UAD1 card and couldn't be happier. Set up was a breeze and my existing plug ins were ready to load straight away. Only down side is I'm now eyeing everything in the online shop with greedy eyes! :-)

D. Pradipta 

March 25, 2016

Godsent

Can't mix without my UAD satellite! Been mixing in the digital domain, the plugins gave me the analog vibe!

F. Becker 

March 9, 2016

UAD 2 Satellite Fw

Macht was es machen soll. Als zusätzliches Gerät zu meinem UA Apollo läuft es einwandfrei in der Fw-Kette. Keine Probleme bis jetzt. Ich weiß nicht wie es alleine arbeitet, aber als Ergänzung zum Apollo ist es perfekt.

1-20 of 101 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
View All Reviews