4-710d Four-Channel Tone-Blending Mic Preamp

4-710d Four-Channel Tone-Blending Mic Preamp

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

4-710d Four-Channel Tone-Blending Mic Preamp w/ Dynamics

Overall Rating

41-60 of 112 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Litto

December 2, 2016

Top !!!

Sehr gute Qualität. Ich empfehle es gerne weiter.

C. Soto

November 17, 2016

The highest Quality Bang for your Buck

This is my first boutique quality pre and I'm stunned. It's incredibly versatile and easy to use. Although it takes some fiddling to get the sound you want, you can't go wrong with any setting. You can try clean solid state or rowdy tube and not mess with the blend position and you still have a killer tone. Awesome piece of gear.

D. Petrino

November 11, 2016

Soup2NUTZ: 4-710d does it all!

Selling points to my personal workflow:
1) Skip the "track to stem" summation mix projects, and go directly to a stem mix with a preamp that you can set to do your typical stem pre-processing.
2) Split channels and record a parallel track with the insert out.
3) Output analog OR digital with a nice 192khz/24bit clock that does a 192khz/16bit dither print with the flip of a switch.

What you're paying for:
1) Power: FET and/or 285 volts of tube preamp choices with the option of blending uniquely between the two
2) Convenience: full balanced and unbalanced pro I/O preamp with 48V, 15db pad, polarity switch, custom 3-range vintage-illuminated meter, and Hi-Z inputs that switch off the XLRs in the back so you don't have to unplug them
3) Price point: you're going to pay boat loads more for anything else that both looks and performs as well as this piece of hardware
4) Clarity: throw the gain all the way up and your DAW won't hear any noise, but your track will be LOUD
5) Microphone Wrangler: Large Diaphragm Dynamic Microphones (SM7B, Audix D6 etc) will trouble your lesser preamps no more! Get a loud, clean signal without the high noise floor from your typical preamp without throwing a gate on the track.

I have been shopping tube preamps for over a year. There's the PreSonus 300V, but that's only 2 channels and relatively expensive. There's the dinky tube DI boxes that all your clients have in their home studios. Then there's this preamp that you can throw in your rack and all of a sudden your tracks sound so good that you're skipping pre-mix processiong steps because you don't need them.

This is the best UA preamp/channel value. Buying other UA preamps is much more aesthetically appealing to clients than the performance upgrade they provide.

J. Young

November 2, 2016

What an amazing piece of hardware

the 4-710d has been a great addition in my studio bringing the best quality sound out of my microphones. I love the tone blending knobs. UA simply makes the best hardware!

A. Koliakoudakis

November 1, 2016

Versatility at its finest!!!

Bought this beast during their promo and received a free dsp satellite. That satelite led to UAD plugins and UAD plugins led to a new apollo. I gotta say, the amount of tones you can get out of this thing is incredible. The onboard 1176 style compression is such an amazing plus! I'm an old time focusrite user that recently made the switch and have no complaints:)

UAD User

October 31, 2016

Amazing value and great sonic quality but flimsy buttons

This is a very good quality preamp and since I love tracking with just a touch of compression, the simplified 1176-style compression is a great addition. I can't even imagine how much it would cost to put something like this together from separate units. I prefer the sound of the 610 over this set to all tubes-mode, though, but it is a close call. Besides being a great mic preamp it also works very well for adding some valve saturation to vintage keyboards. The front-panel buttons are very flimsy, unfortunately.

a. piotro

October 30, 2016

The Ultimate Preamp !!

This preamp is my best purchase EVER!
Thank you UNIVERSAL AUDIO!!

T. McKinnon

October 29, 2016

4-710

This preamp sounds great! I'm glad I took advantage of the UAD quad offer. I now have two. My DAW never crashes. I will continue to buy UA products.

S. KreisDrei

October 28, 2016

great bundle

like it and is a good companion for the solo 610 and the apollo quad

J. Bennett

October 16, 2016

Versatile & great value!

Love this unit! I have an Apollo 8p and grabbed this along with the bundled satellite unit offer at the time. Great price, and super flexible for using with inserts or adding in the 1176 compressor type circuit through any channel. I sometimes just record the effects back in on a printed stem, or cascade an extra compressor/eq through the same channel - great for things like drum room mics. Printing audio through the 1176, and through a distressor (external compressor) for a big room sound! x

M. Cameron

October 12, 2016

Having issues with word clock

Reviews are great with this preamp. Im actually excited to get this running however, im having word clock issues syncing to my Apollo. I have not contacted customer service about the issue yet. Last time I spoke with the customer service department I was extremely disappointed with the "not my problem" attitude. im still too upset with universal audio to even call to get this fixed. I've have had good experience in the past with customer service and I'm hoping it was a one time thing.

D. Taylor

September 26, 2016

4-710d Happiness...! "Ordering another one TODAY"

The UAD 4-710d Mic Preamp is by far the best Mic Pre available to date (in my honest opinion). After extensive research, I purchased the 4-710d and replaced my Apogee Mic Pre (a serious upgrade to my system). Words can’t explain the emotions that went through me after hearing what the 4-710d was capable of producing sonically (Everything sounds better going through it)… Factoring the cost in, the 4-710d is a heck of a deal also (Four 710’s cost $2800… so you save $800 by purchasing the 4-710d). I am happy, completely satisfied & amazed at the same time.

UAD is the simply the Best…

Z. Valentin

September 25, 2016

Great 4-710d

I am a big fan of UAD products and this 4-710d is one of them.
Great 4 preamps with compression and everything I need for A class recording plus
adat ... Very usefull and great Product... You have to try it!

C. Rogers

September 22, 2016

tone machine

Great tool for my home studio. I get 4 mic pre's that are capable of many tones, 4 nice sounding compressors and four more inputs for additional pre's or other outboard gear. Sold!

P. Laraque

September 14, 2016

Great Choice!

Have had mine for about 2 weeks now and I am quite impressed with the significant improvement of my tracks using it. Love to multiple inputs which supports a variety of configurations since I often have to change-up inputs on the fly based on who I am having come in to record. The quality of signal using a range of transistor to tube variations (using a variety of cheaper to mid-level mics and other inputs) gives me such a great range of sounds and applications. Got the unit with the Satellite Quad Core Thunderbolt promo which is on it's way!! Can't wait to hook that baby up and try out the plug-ins!!!

Great product UA!! Would love a 2nd one for more inputs!!

D. Chan

September 13, 2016

Solid/Tube Pres + 8 channels of great A/D = must own

I originally purchased this due to the great promotion with the Quad Satellite, but after using it for a month, I would happily purchase it full price with no promotions.

Everything works great, and the ability to connect it to my Apollo Twin using ADAT and adding up to 8 additional channels is extremely underrated. All of the options that the 4-710D gives me makes me want to dedicate a patch bay just for it. So many activities!

D. Giraud

September 7, 2016

Préamp sérieux, pratique et versatile

Bonjour
Les + :
- sortie numérique toslink avec conversion de qualité.

Sur les 4 canaux mic :
- blend transistor/lampe
- insert en XLR
- compresseur avec mode slow ou fast (simple donc utile)
- vu-mètre précis

A connecter impérativement avec une worldclock via la fiche BNC pour synchroniser avec sa carte son.
Pour obtenir toutes les possibilités sonores n'hésitez pas à charger le potar de gain.

Au studio "Golgoth-43.com" j'en utilise 3 en série avec une DR4000 tous clockés avec un 2192.
Ça apporte une grande palette de grains, donc une grande diversité pour timbrer chaque micro.

PS: les quatre canaux ligne sont également très propres.

J. Babb

August 26, 2016

still impresses after a year of studio use

they packed a lot of features into this box! The direct inputs are especially useful in conjunction with the sends on the effects loops. A lot of possibillities with this box. Its worth every penny I paid for it, but this new promo with a free UAD-2 satelite makes me want a second unit!

O. Gonzalez

August 5, 2016

Great mic pre with a very useful compresor section

I bought the 4710D believing I would use these preamps as utility pre's. Having Phoenix Audio, Focusrite, Langevin, Miktek, and Apogee mic pres I have most of my basis covered. But as soon as I tried this pre on a Female Vocal I was floored. Both the solid state and tube section had a way of capturing a larger than life performance out of her vocal takes. It's seems this mic pre delivers in so many ways as does the compressor section. The A/D conversion is also stellar and I'm comparing them to the Apogee Shmphony I/O.
I can't believe UA packed so much quality into 2 rack spaces.

UAD User

July 21, 2016

4-710 d

You get that wide range with the blend knob when it's used with mics. Instruments going directly in seem less affected. It's good stuff. Buy it. I've maxed out the inputs and had no issues. (See other reviews)

41-60 of 112 Results