4-710d Four-Channel Tone-Blending Mic Preamp

4-710d Four-Channel Tone-Blending Mic Preamp

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

4-710d Four-Channel Tone-Blending Mic Preamp w/ Dynamics

Overall Rating

81-100 of 108 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Hilliard

October 6, 2013

The workhorse of my studio!

We've tracked so much through this unit over the last year and a half and I can't begin to tell you how much we've loved it. I know that I have a great mic pre for bass, drums, guitar, and even vocals. The 1176 circuits are brilliant and super easy to use. Tons of functionality with input selection, metering, inserts, and preamp controls. Just a great smooth warm tone that's totally UA. It's been an essential piece for making that lush sound on a record!

G. Ventin

September 20, 2013

Best additions to my studio in years!

This 4 channel tube/transistor pre is my new secret weapon. Can't say enough good about it. Everything is bigger, warmer and all my microphones have truly come to life!

J. Ortega

July 31, 2013

Sonido espectacular!!!

Nada mejor que agregar este preamplificador a mi estudio, supero las expectativas y es muy facil hacer que cualquier micro suene bien o mejor que nunca. Funciona ademas muy bien con los microfonos Ribbon que tenemos, solo se le aproxima mi Focusrite Red 8!!!

El compresor es muy sencillo de usar y los VU son magnificos, el sonido de las agujas golpeando me dicen que estoy en el mundo analogo y disfrutandolo!!!

P. Hagberg

July 29, 2013

My best buy ever

I took the step and bought the 4-710d when it was a special deal , getting a UAD quad for free ! However the unit was so extremely good sounding that I in fact bought a second one just a couple of days later !
The mic preamp is great sounding , replacing my old Focusrite Red 7 with ease. Also the compressor with its fast setting is just perfectly for vocals. Another great thing is the insert and return jacks which are really flexible. I use one channels send and return feature to add gain to my Moog Voyager , the send signal goes to pre filter in the Voyager and then Voyager output comes back to the UA return jack. I use mostly the solid state setting in the pre-amp as I don´t like too much tube sound... :D

D. Dupire

July 3, 2013

Chaud et transparent

4 préamplis micros
8 convertiseurs de très haute qualité
Vraiment très bonne idée pour les solutions nomades !
Le son des préamplis est transparent, les instruments sont très bien reproduits avec un "punch" en plus sur les transitoires, excellent pour les instruments comme les percussions.
J'ai enregistré des voix, des guitares acoustiques, des percussions tout est bien reproduit et le son est chaud.
Les 4 entrées lignes (5,6,7,8) c'est génial quand on a des préamplis micros en stock et que l'on profite des convertisseurs intégré au 4-710d ça simplifie le systéme.
Maintenant il m'en faut un deuxiéme !!

J. Lissette

June 8, 2013

Awesome!

What a great preamp, as well as making all my mics better I have been running my 4 track reel to reel through this....stunning...

S. Hughes

March 22, 2013

A wicked surprise...

I ordered the 4-710d thinking I was getting 4 high end mike pres that I could add to the Apollo's on board 4. I had no idea I was getting an entire 8 channel front end to add to the Apollo for a total of 16 analogue inputs with 8 superb pres, and so much more.
This alone is exceptional value, not to mention extremely high quality overall.

But as it turns out, the pre's are gorgeous sounding and I've never had such power and quality at my disposal before. To say that I'm happy with this gear doesn't really cut it.

A superbly conceived unit that will be a daily workhorse.

D. Neillson

March 7, 2013

EZ!!!!!

I'd heard a few people talk about this unit, just simply saying it was awesome and there was nothing to do - and I, of course was skeptical.... Now, Im admitting how unfounded my skepticism was. I had a singer come over to do a rough vocal, just plugged in a condenser mic, set the level, picked one of the two compression settings and hit the record button. And....... that was it! It sounded immediately awesome, without having to do anything. Even as her voice hit the compressor really hard, everything sounded natural, round, even, and just friggin good! It's now my go to unit for getting things to disk and for running soft synths, etc. - out to and then back into the box!

Thanks again UA!

Duane

P. Dalmolin

March 6, 2013

Fixed Overheads, Kick and Snare.

For years I thought these instruments should be captured as "uncolored" as possible. Well let me tell you, the 4-710d colors alright, and does a fine job of it too! This was exactly what the doctor ordered on fixing my sound. I had been chasing mics for years only to find it was my pre's all along!

C. Pasarell

February 27, 2013

Excellent versatility

What a great sounding front end to any DAW! The Solid State and Tube pre sections are very subtle, but noticeably different sounding, giving you a whole host of sounds to choose from. The compressor is easy to use and sounds great on top. I am very happy with this purchase!

F. Ramirez

February 2, 2013

Amazing Gear!

Beautiful Sound, Clean, Open, This Gear is Amazing.

D. Yates

February 2, 2013

Great mic preamp

This was a significant addition to the front end of my home studio. I was using the preamps in my Digi003 most of the time, the 4-710d blows that out of the water.
The compressors, while limited in their settings, are highly useful and musical and I'm finding myself tracking with just a touch of them in play.
Digital output metering is way too granular, it could use more than the 2 LED display, but once I got comfortable with it was fine.
Really nice piece of kit, glad to have it in my rack.
I'm a big UA fan, I have a large collection of the plugs.
Next purchase is the Apollo, which will replace my 003...

A. Stilson

January 24, 2013

4-710d by Adam Stilson

I used this on my new record "never then" I love the preamps on drum machines and stereo synth pads. You can get hi hats super dirty. For my next record the 4-710d will have a top secret BLA mod done to it. The converters in the 4-710d are thin and lacking in bottom end so I stick with my modded 002 converters from black lion. the preamps and the compressors as effects are great!

Thanks UA!

Adam Stilson

A. Stilson

January 24, 2013

4-710d by Adam Stilson

I used this on my new record "never then" I love the preamps on drum machines and stereo synth pads. You can get hi hats super dirty. For my next record the 4-710d will have a top secret BLA mod done to it. The converters in the 4-710d are thin and lacking in bottom end so I stick with my modded 002 converters from black lion. the preamps and the compressors as effects are great!

Thanks UA!

Adam Stilson

D. Hayes

January 18, 2013

Great purchase...just waiting for my UAD-2 card

For quite some time I was contemplating the purchasing of a 4-710d to become my "go-to" home studio pre-amp. However, when I learned of the UAD-2 promotion I just couldn't help myself and pulled the trigger. You won't be disappointed in this unit. Instantly it was apparent that this would be a huge upgrade over my interface pre-amps and my "budget" outboard mic-pre. I am still understanding the nuances of the 4-710d in order to dial in the right sound in different situations but it is clear that it is versatile enough to be everything you "need" in most situations. The fact that it has top-quality A/D conversion is a also a huge bonus, especially for those using lower end interfaces that have an optical input.

C. Moreno

December 30, 2012

A sonic sea of possibilities.

The 4-710 breathes life into anything I plug into it. Being my first piece of outboard, I can proudly say that UA kicked me 'out of the box'. I know see the light.

K. Richards

December 21, 2012

Blown away

I was looking for some really good versatile pres to go along with my Apollo Quad. I wanted something that would sound incredible and not cost as much as a nice used car. This is exactly that, you get 4 outstanding pres and 1176 style compression on every channel, which is incredibly well voiced for tracking. The sound of the solid state versus tube are very different which is great because I can get a wide variety of sounds within this one piece. The digital outs are great, I don't have to buy more converters. This is my second UA product and what I love about their products is they are exactly what they say on the tin. Cheers UA!

W. Cato

December 19, 2012

4 710d is a solid piece of gear

This is one of the best things ever made. This is not only four high quality analog mic pres, but it could be the only interface you need. That's right it has AD conversion too so I get 8 inputs four with great pres and the ability to link to another interface via ADAT. This is such a great piece of gear! It would be worth the cost if it was just 4 analog pres, and if you bought 4 single twinfinities it would still cost more not to mention no AD conversion and extra balanced inputs. This is such a good deal it blows my mind!

M. Shahhosseini

November 23, 2012

perfect choice

i need an perfect and easy choice for recording live or studio . 4-710 Four-Channel infact was an this real choice . very tanks for this preamp .

G. Kalaedopoulos

November 23, 2012

4-710d

I got the studio upgrade including the UAD 2 Card and its great value for money. The pre-amp is worth the bucks on its own. It is a very versatile and easy to use machine especially with all these inputs and outputs set aside the blending features which are essentially two different devices. Crank the gain all up and still sounds damn good. The compressor with just two settings (fast,slow) is very handy and metering is dealt accurately for what you get. The only thing I dis-like is the limiter, there is just one on/off button for all channels and that is it so either you like it or not but what more can you ask for? Quality gear :)

81-100 of 108 Results