6176 Vintage Channel Strip

6176 Vintage Channel Strip

Customer Reviews

6176

Overall Rating

21-40 of 89 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Higuera Del Moral

July 18, 2017

Amazing!

The sound is excellent. The preamp is hot and clean I use it now for everything! Vocals, guitar, bass. The compressor is very clean. I would like a second 6176!

M. Buracchi

June 25, 2017

My instrumental album Reborn

The preamplifier with the Universal Audio Limiter was definitely the touch that gave mastodontic sound to my rock guitar. I'm in love with what this machine can do in pre-amplification as an external hardware for both electric and acoustic guitar sounds, the kind that I play. Thank you guys MB

C. Bjorsell

April 26, 2017

Always amazing!

I've had this in the studio since day one and would never replace it with anything else.
No 1.
That's it.

R. Wheelock

April 11, 2017

it's my go channel strip for vocal takes

it's really great for many things, so it's my go to for kick drums, clean electric guitar sounds and vocals, all kinds of vocals just sound amazing thru the 6176, I also love using the 1176 side of it for clean compression duties...

K. Péter

April 8, 2017

Warm, Fat, heavy

Expensive but almost perfect gear.
Sometimes I use after Pultec eq and La2A on the channel i recorded with it and nothing else is need. Vocals, snare, guitar mic, even guitar line with some amp emulation (Softtube or others from UAD) it is just perfect!!!!! For bass record I use my Manley Core .
6176's eq is simple but effective, after the recording only a few cutting needs sometime for accuracy, but many times nothing - friends are wondering to see, there is no any plugin on my tracks and the sound is still fat, powerful, sensitive and detailed.
Also the compressor part: Usually I put the 1:4 but sometimes, for rocky vocals and guitars I put the allbutton mode. Uh - what this gear can make is an other world. :))) It would be better to have 4 or 8 pieces of this but unfortunately I have only one unit. Sometimes I sleep with her....

p. dwyer

April 2, 2017

Analog Heaven

This all in one channel strip is my first choice for Vox Or Anything that needs that Vintage Sounding Sprinkle Of Gold Dust - Amazing Flexibility and sounds to match - Perfect Front End For Digital Recording

M. Grzella

March 29, 2017

Super

It's great I have been working on it for many years.
Recommendable.

M. Kremer

March 24, 2017

Plug and play at its best

Although it's not the most inexpensive gear out there, I finally decided to get one. I can only say that this channel strip is worth every single penny, dime, or cent. I use it in combination with my Neumann TLM49 mic and without spending too much time tweaking knobs it get huge and excellent sounding results. I use it mainly on vocals and acoustic guitars. When dialing in the right EQ settings and compression with fast attack and release, I'll get the impression that the singer is right in front of my ear drums. This is, at least for the musical style that I mainly produce, probably THE best piece in my signal chain so far. Although, if you're searching for a perfectly clear and transparent channel strip, this preamp might not be the right choice for you. The 610B always adds some color and (more or less) tube distortion/harmonics to the signal - in my opinion, I'd better call it character.

S. Gregg

February 12, 2017

Perfect

It's the best you can get and I love it. I'd recommend to anyone period. With my c12 and u47 it's a match made in Analogue heaven. Get one, or two :-)

P. Johannessen

January 25, 2017

Amazing!

I was lucky to get hold of a 10 year old "new" 6176 from an artist that had used it only a couple of times. Have to say, it sounds wonderful. I have a lot of UAD plugs, but nothing beats the real thing. Absolutely the best sounding amp/compressor I´ve ever had in my studio. The only thing that irritates me is that I didn't buy it 10 years ago! :)

J. Liberg

January 13, 2017

British mode

I will never use another preamp and limiter ever. It's always in british mode and together with classic akg 414 c uls I have the best vocal sound in Sweden probably. Let's see how the uad version plays out. Time for A - B testing soon.

A. Shevchenko

January 1, 2017

Fist class channel strip!

If you need all in one solution, I think it is best way! Great Mic Pre, very smooth EQ and of course - legendary 1176.

R. Bakalovski

December 16, 2016

great stuff

great mic pre and compressor

M. Petrus

November 27, 2016

The 6176 is fantastic!

I've had this about a month now and love this on everything. My current vocal chain is Audio Technica AT5040 - 6176 in join mode - Warm Audio EQPWA - Apollo Twin. I find the combo of the eq on the 6176 great in conjunction with the EQPWA after the 1176. The 1176 is fantastic on all things: percussion, vocals,bass.
Really happy!

K. Péter

November 16, 2016

Wow in love with this

Vocals-guitars-snare,-bass, or any other source this is simply unbeatable

V. Gurin

November 3, 2016

Great Pre-Amp and Compressor

This is a great Pre-Amp and Compressor. Absolutely amazing experience tracking vocals and guitars.

V. Gurin

November 3, 2016

Great Pre-Amp and Compressor

This is a great Pre-Amp and Compressor. Absolutely amazing experience tracking vocals and guitars.

C. Posada

September 22, 2016

A new Color to my sound

Just turn up the level knob if you need hot classic tube sound. Very musical with great harmonic distortion.
But if you need it to be clean, you can do it definitely. Always has its own color that I really love. This preamps is not my first choice for very detailed acoustic instruments, but I think it could record many sources with great results.
This preamp really shines on vocals. It rocks on basses, kick, snares. I like the way the tubes rounds the transients. The 1176 compressor is extremely musical. A MUST!!!!! It would be nice to have a 2:1 ratio and more specific numbers on the attack and release knobs. But once you realize how they work, you can do whatever you want with this thing.

A. Lein

June 16, 2016

Does everything it says it does....

It's great to have a good front end for tracking everything. This is it.

As primarily a vocal or guitar tracker for me, it's very easy to use (at the same time, it can be a tough one too) and sounds great.

I try to find a middle ground on the pre into the compressor and then let it be without adding too much color.
Sometimes correcting for a mic or the room with the eq

More than one vocalist has said it's the best they've sounded coming through this.
I like it because I can get really clean tracks into my daw and then play with the tracks via the UA card afterward.

E. Foshee

May 17, 2016

Gorgeous in every facet.

Were it legally or physically possible I would marry my 6176. She would have to be willing, of course, but I'd do it. That being said, I could not find a single complaint about this piece of hardware and the beautiful sounds that emanate from my monitors as a result. If you're unsure about taking the plunge please dive in. Easily worth every penny.

21-40 of 89 Results