Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Exclusively for UAD and LUNA Recording System

Regular Price: $349.00

$174.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$174.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

761-780 of 847 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Rodriguez

December 13, 2012

Finish up your track with a touch of class

I read the reviews by the famous engineers that use this plug and they couldn't have been more right.

This is an excellent tool to finish off any style track you're working on.

I dare you to give it a trial run and not be amazed at how much easier it is for your sounds to come alive.

Highly Recommend, great combo with the Studer plug

M. Burch

December 8, 2012

Adds some nice depth

This adds a cirtain fullness that I can't get with any other plugin (including many of the other emulations I've tried out). It makes a recording sound more expensive!!

M. Burch

December 8, 2012

Adds some nice depth

This adds a cirtain fullness that I can't get with any other plugin (including many of the other emulations I've tried out). It makes a recording sound more expensive!!

J. Kowal

December 8, 2012

GREAT sounding plugin

I will preface this by saying that I've never had the luxury of working on a real Ampex before, so that my disqualify my review to some. However I can tell you that since I've added this plugin to my master bus, my mixes sound INFINITELY better. The variation of sound you can massage into your final mix is really impressive. Want it bigger? Done. Wan't more air? Done. Want to pump the drums more? Done. Just want to add a little subtile warmth or or analog "fuzz" to your sound? Done. Most important, even on a most subtile settings, it really does add lovely warm, musical "glue" to your mix. Don't know how i did without it.

M. Poncy

December 1, 2012

Slow ride baby.

Forget all other 2-bus and mastering tape emulations. This is amazing... delay parameter may be UA's best achievement to date: blunts sterile overdubs and puts everything in the soup. Fantastic!!!

R. Pryce

November 30, 2012

A must for your master bus channel!

I can't stress how much I can't live without this amazing plugin. As soon as I put across my master bus with the default preset. you can hear the difference. It's like I went to King Jammy's studio in Jamaica. Brilliant

M. Dantas

November 20, 2012

A Superb Tape Plug-in

I decided to purchased the UAD-2 Satellite Duo and among a lot of interesting offered plug-ins,I decided to purchase the Ampex ATR-102.Since my main work is Matering Disc related,I was impressed with the final sound processed. My laptop,a MacBook has not presented any issues related while I was hearing the final mix with Pro-Tools 8.0 in my home Studio.
Thanks Universal Audio for the excellence !

T. Gilchrist

November 17, 2012

Obvious Difference to Oridinary Ears

Since purchasing the Ampex ATR -102 it has been a part of my mastering chain. I have been mastering since 1991 and I have never purchased a device or plug-in that has made such a difference. The character that it adds to a master is obvious to the trained ear because we know what to listen for. The true test was with my clients who has chosen the master with the Ampex ATR-102 as part of my mastering chain, every single time. I'm a believer. A good Mastering Engineer knows how to utilize the best in both digital and analog platforms . We have to make choices based on what is needed for that particular song or project. It is rare to find something that everyone agrees sounds awesome . THANKS UA.!! IGIT Mastering Studio

R. Muhammad

November 16, 2012

Ampex ATR-102: Universal Audio has done it Again!

For starters, I was at best a novice at using the ATR-102. I had never used the original mastering deck. I watched the videos on uaudio's website and started getting familiar. At first, I only heard a very subtle difference in my sound, then I thought, hit the damn tape deck hard and drive that needle into the red. I could then hear the impact of a powerful mastering deck. I dialed it down a bit and with some tweaking of the various tape reels and speeds found my sweet spot(s). This deck is incredible and has changed my sound easily for the better. Wow! Thank you Universal Audio Again!

W. Weitschacher

November 15, 2012

very nice

maybe not 100% of the original but a lot of tape sound for little money

A. Ingle

November 11, 2012

The Glue on Every Track

The ATR-102 is the glue that sticks all of my mixes together. I end up using it on every song. This thing is amazing.

K. Coric

November 11, 2012

Simply increase Input Level and it sounds fat

Great for Mastering Purpose. Simple to use and Sounds Fat.

A. Granados

November 5, 2012

Excelente.

Sirve para todo......................................

D. Dipietro

October 31, 2012

Close enough for me

Don't have a hardware unit in the studio to do a direct comparison but it seems to bring back memories of what I remember it sounded like. Whether it's true to form or not I like what I hear it doing to my tracks and that's all the matters to me.......

E. Bennett

October 29, 2012

Great plugin

This is the top tape saturation plugin in my mind. It adds an amazing sheen to your mix in the mid range area. The presets are amazing, but it is fun to jump in and change the setting to your taste. It is hard to not over use this plugin. This is because there are so many place to use it! I find it makes my tracks sound richer and fatter like on drum and acoustic guitar buses and for vocal doubling and echo effects.

This is another winner UA .. great job! :)

T. Latham

October 17, 2012

As Good As It Gets

In my 25 yrs of record making I can count how many times I've truly been excited about a piece of gear and this ranks among them. Within 60 seconds I knew the fine people at UA nailed the ATR-102. It's as close to having an actual Ampex machine in your room as you'll get. I always looked forward to having my mixes played back on George Marino's ATR, especially if I mixed to a Studer. Everything just sounds better coming off of an ATR, and thanks to the code wizards at UA we all can enjoy the true musical sound of mixing down to an analog deck.

E. Neeley

October 16, 2012

The final Mix down

This plugin is great for vocals,bass,drums,guitar,ect.... overall (Mastering) I used this Plugin on a lot of my final mixes...I love it Great job UAD.

B. Chiaravalle

October 16, 2012

Very useful

I had originally purchased the Studer plugin which I like for certain things. But to be honest sometimes I couldn't hear it doing all that much other than adding low end and warm up the mix overall. But I find with the Ampex ATR-102 I'm able to get so many different effects for parts and overall mixes. I use it on everything I record. Love it!

E. Tremblay

October 14, 2012

A must have!!!

I Bought the ATR`-02 few days ago & I can't do without it anymore...Brilliant!!!

L. Franchi

October 13, 2012

Ampex ATR-102

I tried the demo and I was impressed ... just a plugin to love .. great job UA

761-780 of 847 Results