Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

121-140 of 585 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

j. fontanez

June 29, 2017

el mejor tape machine

The beast in the mastering and mixing

Y. KUROKAWA

June 21, 2017

テープシミュ

wavesのテープシミュも持っていますが
アナログっぽい温かさはこちらが上かと

m. ferraro

June 19, 2017

great emulation

makes all the difference on the master fader

E. Buckley

June 6, 2017

The ATR-102 is THE Secret Sauce!

The ATR-102 brings all the elements in a mix together in a very nice way. Highly recommended.

E. Wilmot

June 6, 2017

Cozy

It feels like a warm night in a saturated paradise.

A. Lee

June 1, 2017

OK, so this is how it's done!

Trying to get a mix to sound as present as commercial mixes, especially pop mixes, seemed a work of voodoo to me....before I put this on my mixbus....15ips.....WOW

T. ZHAO

May 16, 2017

ATR-102

ATR-102, I can not mix without it!!

R. Calegari

May 14, 2017

Solo enciendelo...

Solo enciendelo y el calor llega a los tracks....amalgama mezclas y da vida a la digitalizacion. Un jugador importante a la hora de buscar ese toque analogo.

S. Albert

May 13, 2017

The "digital" solution

A must-have, if you're going full digital. With that amazing piece on your mix, you can actually skip analog summing. One of the finest pieces of gear I've experienced in music production. Impossible to do without it since.

b. forbes

May 9, 2017

Lives on the 2-Buss

Wouldn't go anywhere without it. Gotta be on the 2_Buss... Also does beautiful subtle things with vocals and Guitars... You name it!

O. Søgard

May 4, 2017

MixMassager

This plugin is insane. You can massage your mix into anything you want! Great lowend, and great mastering presets!

C. Tenku

May 3, 2017

Top 3

This is the definitive and indispensable Tape Emu/Sat plugin and makes my Top 3 alongside UAD's Studer and Slate's VTM!

m. jackson

May 2, 2017

Use it a good amount, but not always....

Would give it five stars if I used it more often.....for whatever reason the Oxide sounds better to me on some mixes....not always, but enough to affect a review....

Can make piano jump out of a mix, though....awesome for that....

G. Jennings

April 27, 2017

Loving it

I come from the tape era, although I never had a great mastering machine. I always mastered to cassette and then later DAT. I'm now realizing how much a part of the puzzle a great mastering tape is. It definitely brings everything up a notch.

T. Schirmer

April 27, 2017

Magic tape or tape magic ;)

When picking my first custom bundle I was struggling with choices like anybody else I guess. I researched a lot and what always came up as a must-have plugin was the Ampex. Although considering that I already own two tape saturation plugin from different developers, I tested Ampex for quite a while against those two. It always won in direct comparison. The saturation and harmonic seem to have more depth and life, plus EQing, noise, flutter etc. are way more controllable through the various detail settings.

For most of my hip hop and electronic experimental songs I use it on the master bus, when I am looking for saturation and vibe from soft and subtle to extreme. For songs with a more modern, ultra-clean sound I might only use it for one specific track to add life to it.

UAD User

April 26, 2017

So good

for harsh, rough sounds it's perfect solution

R. Panossian

April 24, 2017

Its just a must for your final stage

Brings everything together in a very musical way, everything becomes a little bit more colourful and sweet, and louder at the same time without destroying the original.

K. McClure

April 13, 2017

A MUST HAVE/NO SUBSTITUTE

The ATR-102 has made the most impact on my mixes out of any plugin I've purchased in the past few years.

I delayed demoing it because I already had the Studer 800 on individual tracks and the Slate VTM on my master (I assumed relative equivalency)... I just figured I had my "tape" bases covered. I could not have been more wrong.

The Slate vtm is a fine plugin in it's own right and I'm a big supporter of their software as well, but sonically these plug ins are very disimilar to my ears. The Slate is very smooth with a hearty low mid harmonic bump, great for taming digital "edge", but in my experience it veils aspects of the "sonic image" and transients whereas the Ampex actually enhances those bits. After much effort I just couldn't get CLOSE to the same, brilliant results of the ATR-102 (And boy did I try to save myself the $$$).

The "3D" analog effect, the full range of saturation & harmonic content... it imparts amazing presence without harshness. If your mix "sounds like protools" this is the fix. Demo it, throw it on the master and hear your song sound like a record.

It really is a magic "better-izer" kind of plugin, without "hyping" the sound. If anything it makes everything sound more natural & feel more exciting all at the same time. I've never heard another plugin achieve what the ATR-102 does. Truly breathtaking, top 5, desert island processing.

Thanks UA!

M. L

April 9, 2017

AMAZING !

THE BEST

A. Bishop

April 1, 2017

Get Some..

My first "tape" plugin I purchased was "Oxide", but always had my eye on the Studer and this ATR-102. I love them all! The added warmth it gives on the Stereo Buss has made the ATR-102 indispensable and now in the default setup for my mixing sessions.

121-140 of 585 Results