API® 2500 Bus Compressor

API® 2500 Bus Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00


You'll Save 16%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00


You'll Save 16%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

API 2500 Bus Compressor

Overall Rating

61-80 of 120 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Simpson

March 30, 2017

A beast of a plugin

I bought this one after demo'ing it for an hour. It's as powerful as a plugin can get. It adds strength to drums and had a tightness to it that makes it stand out in a mix. Strap this on a drum group and parallel an 1176 with "All buttons" in and it sounds pretty damn slick.

Thanks UAD. You did something really good with this one.

V. Sychov

March 25, 2017


My go-to bus compressor now!

P. King

March 23, 2017

Pretty darn close to the real thing.

I've had the hardware 2500 for a number of years now as my main stereo is compressor. I tested out the waves version and the UAD version and decided on the UAD one. It's REALLY close to the original. I've switched between the plugin and the hardware in sessions and they perform the same and sound almost identical.
The only spot the plugin lacks is the sonic 'bloom' the original has when boosting the makeup gain knob.

J. Lesueur

March 21, 2017

Almost like the real thing

It sounds almost exactly like an API 2500 compressor. I'd say we're 90% there. It does have the API attitude, but doesn't have the tone. The bass is much bigger and tighter in the hardware, and dense mixes tend to collapse when compressed hard on the software, which doesn't happen with the hardware. However, I have to admit UA did a great job and for a fraction of the cost of a real 2500, it's up to you to decide if the difference is worth it or not (probably worth it if you're doing some mastering though).

T. Lash

March 9, 2017

Game Changer

Beautiful sounding on drum and mix buss.

d. danieli

March 9, 2017

API 2500

as for me, the best hardware bus compressor and now best software bus compressor ever

R. Persson

March 7, 2017



S. Durkan

March 2, 2017

Dat Magic

I bought a 3 plug in package recently, and for some reason chose the Dangerous BAX Collection as my third option. I was at that point where I knew I wanted the SVT, and the AMS Verb...and thought why the hell not try the BAX. THE NEXT DAY, I demoed the API 2500 and instantly had the most intense buyers remorse!

This thing sounds so good on everything. I run it on the 2 bus, the drum bus, guitar bus...the list goes on. Not to mention all the amazing features, the mix knob being my favorite for that sweet parallel compression.

I immediately emailed UAD and begged them to swap the license for the BAX for the API 2500, a week went by and I was sad....UNTIL I GOT AN EMAIL CONFIRMING THE SWITCH HAPPENED. Endless thanks to UAD for making amazing products and helping out a customer who made a thoughtless decision due to an itchy trigger finger.

This thing rules.

A. Harin

February 27, 2017

PI 2500 Bus Compressor

simply efficient

a. infantino

February 25, 2017

great plug-in

best api 2500 emulation

P. Allen

February 23, 2017

Simply Amazing!

Instantly my go to compressor for buses.

D. Miller

February 22, 2017

Drum spank!

It's great on everything, but especially great on drums. Get that pop that you know and love!

A. Tebeleff

February 17, 2017

Great Sound

My favorite plug-in. Killer for synths!

D. Klee

February 16, 2017


Great work from UAD best emulation, works really fine for me.

M. Jiaras

February 15, 2017


Nice. Another great plugin from UA.

S. Smith

February 13, 2017

Character with compression as a bonus!

I reach for this on the 2-bus for the textural warmth and image enhancement it brings in droves, whether I particularly need compression or not. It's like compression is a bonus. Of course it helps that it's also a great compressor, but that's almost not its primary feature for me!

R. Berg

February 3, 2017

Stunning presence

This plug-in is simply amazing. It handles whatever you throw at it with complete authority and creates space in a way that is very rare.
The tonal nuances and detail it brings is very special and suits what I want in sonics perfectly.

B. Joseph

February 2, 2017

Smooth Like Butter

This compressor can go anywhere and do anything. Putting it on any instrument, track, or mix, immediately glues it together in a subtle and beautiful way. There is something about API 2500's signature compression sound that really adds depth and soul to whatever goes through it.

M. White

January 21, 2017

API Goodness abounds...

I have a bunch of API 500 series gear including the 525 compressor. While I can't say the plugin sounds just like the API 2500 hardware unit, it most definitely has that "API" character. It is fantastic on drum and mix busses.

I. Karkkainen

January 16, 2017

Deep and beautiful

Great piece of kit. It has a learning curve as there are a lot of controls, but it's all very meaningful. Sounds stunning.

61-80 of 120 Results