API® 2500 Bus Compressor

API® 2500 Bus Compressor

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

API 2500 Bus Compressor

Overall Rating

81-100 of 179 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Poole

October 12, 2017

nice

As one who primarily mixes jazz, the UAD API 2500 usually serves as my subtle drum buss compressor. I set it to knock down 1-2 dB, only on peaks, and only if the drummer is really playing a lot louder than the rest of ensemble during a passage. I find this comes up on big band recordings where the drummer is on brushes for a soft passage and then switches to sticks for a loud shout section. I like the Manley Vari Mu for this as well but, to me, the API 2500 gives a bit more "glue" than the Vari Mu. If I want total transparency, I use the the Vari Mu on the drum buss. I tried the UAD G buss compressor once but found it too "gluey" for me.

A. Cook

October 9, 2017

This compressor is the TRUTH!

What can I said that's not already ascribed to this comp? It's a tone box, glue for your mix/any bus you stick it on, and a cure for taming multiple guitar tracks with ranging dynamics. Just get the right tone dialed in, set the threshold so the meters are jusssst barely moving, and you've got magic. (To my ears, it's better than the competitor's alternative) 10/10

K. Babic

September 29, 2017

The Ultimate Drum Bus Comp

this is my default on drumbus, the sound you get out of this is sooo amazing. LOVI IT

A. Banavage

September 26, 2017

Just What My..

Drums were needing!! This compressor is fantastic, it's already enhanced and sometimes replaced my use of the 1176. This thing gets you that thump! Way better than the other plug brands version of the same unit. Fantitties!!

H. Zwarts

September 26, 2017

only love for this compressor

Deze compressor is gewoon top. Ik gebruik deze voor mijn drumbus maar ook voor de hele mix is deze compressor heel fijn... eigenlijk werkt het bijna overal wel goed mee. De kleuring is geweldig.. Je kan veel kanten op met deze plug in..

T. Meijer

September 26, 2017

API 2500

Couldn't be happier!

W. Plummer

August 9, 2017

Second comment

There are a great number of uses for the 2500. if you have two electric guitars in your song, patch the 2500 on both (one L and one R) and play with the link controls to get a natural, equal energy from both and keep the balance and punch intact. I never had the 2500 cause a loss of energy or vibe from a live performance no matter what application I use multiple hardware or UA versions on. The only time a 2500 let me down was the anemic Waves versions that I ditched in a matter of weeks.

U. AB

July 27, 2017

Dead on Album sound!

Amazing. I have A LOT of compressors that claim to do that "master bus magic" but this one is the one IO have been searching for. The lower ratio and just a bit of needle movement is sonic bliss! Dan Swanö/Unisound

U. AB

July 27, 2017

Dead on Album sound!

Amazing. I have A LOT of compressors that claim to do that "master bus magic" but this one is the one IO have been searching for. The lower ratio and just a bit of needle movement is sonic bliss! Dan Swanö/Unisound

J. Raper

July 13, 2017

Gotta work for it

This plugin in has a bit of a learning curve but once you get the settings dialed in, its no joke the king of any bus you throw it on.

雄. 鈴木

July 1, 2017

Perfect!

バスコンはこれ一択!

L. Vermeir

June 26, 2017

very versatile bus compressor

Fun to learn how to use this compressor, and hear the differences in style / knee / thrust settings... I'm very happy with this one!

Z. Orr

June 19, 2017

Learning Curve But Worth It

I gave this four stars... and that is kind of unfair. The truth is this unit requires some study and trial and error. But once you have it dialed in, it makes the drums sound incredible. I like it on the electric guitar bus as well. Killer.

t. takamasa

June 17, 2017

AMAZING!!!good sound...

Excellent!!
Beautiful sounding on drum

P. McCosh

June 16, 2017

Tight bottom end for electronic music

I write electronic music, in particular trance, so I was looking for a bus compressor to tighten up my low end and keep the whole mix clean & together. I've been using the Shadow Hills for the last 3 years, but it never write hit the mark, and so, in the tradition of the never ending search to improve my production, I demoed the API, Zener, elysia & the SSL G (2017 version) For me the API was the most consistent in levels, whilst adding some dirt to the low mids, the SSL was a close 2nd, however I found that it was too varied in it's gain reduction when the bottom end was absent. I also use this daily for my Post production mixes - it's so flexible with the selectable knee, the old & new styles and the thrust component.....definitely add this to your demo list. I'm very happy with this one :)

J. Ciero

June 12, 2017

Amazing

For vocal bus. Amazing

J. Ciero

June 12, 2017

Amazing

Vocal!!! Amazing

S. Gough

June 11, 2017

Excellent on Drum Buss

Has a really nice spank to it. Makes drums pop. Does something similar to the Zener Limiter. Very versatile

E. Wilmot

June 6, 2017

Chunky

I love this thing. Big and thick and warm. More beef than jerky!

W. Plummer

June 4, 2017

By far the best digital version of the API 2500

I have been a close friend of Paul Wolff since working at The Bayou in Georgetown D.C. in 1978 where he was the house engineer. I became the second FOH guy shortly thereafter.

He built custom devices in the FOH console including the Flanger/Doubler that Softube is doing a digital version of these days (UA..please add this to your product list soon.)

I bought a prototype 2500 from Paul right after he made one for a few old friends of his. It was a magic box for me. I stopped using the SSL Buss Comp on the 8000GB console I worked on daily once I bought my 2500.

The 2500 prototypes (maybe 12 were made) and the following production versions are wonderful pieces of hardware. I never found a digital version that came close until the UA version. If UA were to ask Paul about the changes between the proto and the production versions, it would be a great update to add onto the 2500. If not, the existing 2500 is a steal just as it is.

81-100 of 179 Results