UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

API® Vision Channel Strip Collection

API® Vision Channel Strip Collection

Customer Reviews

API Vision Channel Strip Collection

Overall Rating

801-820 of 1144 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

UAD User

February 15, 2016

Just perfect for tracking

I use it for all kind of acoustic instruments for tracking, sound changes right away in a very analog and clear sounding dimension.
Well done!

UAD User

February 12, 2016

API it's definitely a must

This should be one of the first plugins you grab!!! Highly recommend, this pretty much sounds good with any sound you put through it!!

S. Tanner

February 7, 2016

My first Channel Stripp

The API Vision Channel Strip was my first Plug-In with the Unison Technology.

Now that I have an Apollo Quad FireWire, it makes even more sense.

Personally, I prefer a modern sound but not a cold. For my applications, this plug-in has proven to be the right choice.

Although I have a 32 "screen I miss a scaling for the API interface. Some parameters can not be read so directly.

J. Banfield

February 1, 2016

Eh...

I haven't used this guy very much. I much prefer the Neves. Some of that might be just they style of projects I've been working on. I wanted a nice clean SS channel to use for more transparent stuff. This worked well when i used it, I just haven't reached for it very often. Probably not worth the cost to me... But I like having all the Unison preamps available.

v. souza

February 1, 2016

Wonderfull!

Wonderful! ... Now it's my favorite Pre Unison! use to all! great sound! Very versatile!

UAD User

January 30, 2016

Just like Having a Console

I bought the Apollo Duo and did a bit of research around which channel strip to buy (SSL, NEVE 88RS or API) and I found that the API had the most positive reviews and also the most features for a channel strip, so I thought I would start there, and I have found it to be incredible. The pre adds some great warmth when run using Unison and all the other features make up for a set and forget type of tracking experience. I am generally working from a recordist mentality to I don't mind the DSP usage as it's only running when I hit record, and its so nice to be able to mix tracks just using the faders now that the sounds captured are so perfect through the Apollo and UAD plugins.

W. Pender

January 27, 2016

Love this thing!

I am absolutely blown away by how this transforms my recordings. While it sounds great just as a plugin, when using it as an insert with the apollo and engaging the unison technology, even when just using the pre-amp part of the strip, it imparts a very focused and crisp sound with very detailed mids and tight lows. This is especially evident when you start stacking the tracks - amazing! I love the preamp simulation and the EQ, but do not really use the compressor, however I feel it's worth way more than the price of admission. If you can't make a good mix with this, you're doing it wrong.

M. Ihmor

January 25, 2016

Awesome.

I was a bit sceptical why I would need a channelstrip plug for mixing only applications. For recording via Apollo it does make a lot of sense. But if you slap this badboy on kick and snare, crank the preamp section you'll add a lot of punch and character. The 4 Band Eq gives you an extra option compared to the e.g. 1073. If I knew how awesome this thing sounds, I'd skipped the 1073.

Also recommended on Vocals or for cohesiveness on busses.

K. de Wit

January 22, 2016

Love the Unison Capability

The best thing about this plugin is the Unison feature. This works great on guitars, drums and bass.

J. Loring

January 21, 2016

Punch factory!

If you're looking for punch, this is it. If anything in your mix is lacking something special pop on the API Vision and carve away. Anything you try it on will be clearly defined and punchy. Love it!

M. Dennis

January 21, 2016

Really brilliant!

After upgrading to an Apollo 8p, I thought it would be good to have some Unison plugs. This is one of the best! Makes a marked difference. Having used plenty of analogue gear (SSL, Neve), this really lives up to expectations. You need lots of DSP though… Having 3 x QUADs helps!

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Another Winner!!!

They say God is in the details and it pretty obvious to me that Universal Audio lives by this philosophy. This is another plugin I came across while working at Subatomic Audiolab so when I finally got my own Apollo system I had to buy it and I'm glad it did!

P. Christensen

January 18, 2016

Nice channel strip for vocals

Just started using the API channel strip on vocals and the sound is nicely focused and easy to EQ. I still have to try it as an Unison plug but I expect the result to as good as what I hear mixing with it. Not familiar with the hardware version so can't compare but really happy with the soft-version.

D. Weal

January 16, 2016

Amazing plugin (review plus a little tip).

The filters on this thing are amazing! It's magic! The compressor and limiter are also among the greatest I have used! My top is to run plugins through waves q clone to see what the compressor/plugin does to the signal and my God does this do a lot. Cuts crap out and boosts where you want it. Try q clone!

A. Sitton

January 13, 2016

Just Amazing!

What a great plugin! The channel strip is very clean with a little analog warmth. I think it has one of the best gate and compressor I ever used on a channel strip. I also like the idea you can turn off parts of the channel strip to conserve DSP power. I also love the idea of tracking with this plugin using the new Unison Technology with my new Apollo 8 black face thunderbolt unit. Great Job UA! keep them coming. I would highly recommend this plugin.

F. Homeier

January 10, 2016

No difference to the hardware

Awesome! I do not like it to write .... I have the original hardware .... But I do and this tool sounds exactly like the hardware and the workflow is absolutely the same. This piece is a nobrainer. You can buy it without a try it's awesome and every penny is well invested even if you use it as a normal channelstrip in your daw or as the legendary unisono preamp. Rock on!

D. Williams

January 9, 2016

Awesome

When I bought my Apollo I had a minimal budget for plug-ins. I chose the API Vision for the greatest flexibility for the price. It totally delivers. It makes whatever you place it on sound better. The preamp gain is awesome as are the rest of the modules. I use the comp and EQ on every instance and they really help sweeten things up and help them sit in a mix. The only downside is that it is moderately resource intensive so even with a Quad you can only cover a few tracks in a mix. I also bought the SSL E Series Channel Strip which I place on every channel reserving the API for critical tracks such as main vox, bass, kick, snare, etc. I wouldn't say you can get by with just one plug-in but this is definitely the first I suggest.

T. Vines

January 7, 2016

Great sounding, aggressive

I love the aggressiveness of this channel strip on drums with the Neve 88RS channel strip tone on the bass. It's a match made in Heaven! I am anxiously awaiting my Apollo Duo USB so I can record through it! Great quality as always! In my home studio it's as close as I will ever come to a true analog API console.

P. Alves

January 6, 2016

The best sounding channel strip

Great character!
I like the gate very much since transforms the transients in a very good way. Same thing with the comp.
Not 5* because it uses much DSP and I would like to use it in a large amount of channels :)
Thank you UA!

J. Ivarsson Björklund

January 6, 2016

One of the best...

... sounding plugins I've ever used. Wish I had the DSP to run this on all channels. Sounds beautifully when the preamp gets pushed and the compressor and EQ fits me perfectly! This one in combination with the Studer on all channels would be a dream setup!

801-820 of 1144 Results