Apollo 8p

Apollo 8p

Customer Reviews

Apollo 8p

Overall Rating

1-20 of 121 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. MacQuarrie

July 16, 2016

Avoid this unit if you plan to use both ADAT lightpipe ports

Universal Audio have disabled the 2nd ADAT lightpipe port for 44.1khz and 48khz digital transfers. I attempted to transfer audio from my HD24 but the 8p does not see it. UA should clearly indicate this in their literature and not bury it on page 22 of their manual. Also hearing slight pops and crackles in the audio from my unit. At one point it had issues not passing audio and I had to reboot it just to get the audio to pass through. Going to return this item.

M. Robinson

June 17, 2016

Big step up

I just started my first project with the Apollo 8P. My workflow speed has increased significantly with this interface and the associated plug ins that came with it. It took me a long time to save for it but it's felt well worth it. I'm only a couple of weeks in but the new-gear honeymoon might last awhile longer with this thing.

UAD User

June 13, 2016

Love it top to bottom, but need better routing

I love it. I already owned a few of the emulation plugs and can a/b them with the UAD version. The SSl channel has much more depth, and the Comp is now usable. The box is great.: the sound of the pres, conversion (both ways), the hardware (switches, metering), the software (no driver issues).

The only issue is the lack of routing, specifically ear cues. My previous box (an RME unit) allowed one to send any ins to any outs. I (ignorantly) assumed a new technology like the UAD would by default include such a feature. Discovering a 4- cue max was quite a shock, almost enough to return the unit. I track larger bands, and not being able to have dedicated mixes for each player is a big problem.

UAD User

May 18, 2016

Apollo 8p

3000 doesnt worth apollo 8p ....there should be atleast complete ultimate bundle with it.....

j. dee

March 18, 2016

LEAN MEAN AND NOT TOO FAR BETWEEN

History. Play/d in bands/write for other people/spiritually guide folk. Recorded all over the world from pissy basements to abbey road. Love tape/shitty mics/busted guitars. Budgets disappear,no more abbey road more coronation street.[For my U.S. friends thats no more Silverlake but more The valley]. Still fuck em,i can make music from dustbins cause I'm different,I'm not like the rest of you on this forum, so I'm happy.Must think. UAD 8p arrives. No more compatibility charts for months/there's knobs/switches/sounds cool/easy to use. More time for making art and less gawping@a screen/more time to look into artists eyes and suck there best work out of them. For 3g's job done. I don't need UAD, they don't need me,but we are good together

D. Watson

November 24, 2015

limited routing is maddening

I feel like i wasted my money on this unit. the routing is frustratingly basic and integrating this into my workflow has been difficult at best.

standalone it is a decent unit and recording through the plugins is an obvious plus but the routing is bafflingly limited and trying to use additional adat outputs is not an easy task.

my RME units with total mix are FAR superior and much easier use.

B. Morris

September 1, 2015

More than I expected

I consider myself a fairly "informed consumer" and I tend to research ALL possibilities before making any choices. I already owned an Apollo 16 (Silverface) and have thoroughly enjoyed it. I added the 8P primarily for the Unison preamps (8 already great preamps that you can mix and match 1073's, API's, and UA 610's with more to come Im sure, cmon -no brainer!) AD/DA, and clocking. I also REALLY like the fact that you can use one simple thunderbolt cable and get DSP, IO, and clock all at once.

What I didn't anticipate was the much better stereo field and definition. Small changes seemed more noticeable, reverb tails seem more detailed...all in all a GREAT box.

C. Martin

August 26, 2015

Perfect

8 emulate-able pre-amps and quad core processing is pure bliss. I couldn't say enough good things about the Apollo 8 if I tried. It's like waking up every morning next to an exquisitely beautiful woman and questioning "how can this be real?" Thanks for that UA!

M. Elliott

August 20, 2015

Loving the Apollo 8P

Just tracked a few drum tracks with the Apollo 8P and UA Store Plug-Ins. Using AKG 112 on Kick, Miktek PM10 on Snare, Sennheiser 421 on Toms, Shure KSM 32 OHs, and SM 81 on Hats. Absolutely no outboard pre-amps or compressors. I love how the Apollo captures the character of each mic, not to mention the DSP technology on all 8-inputs. Can't wait for the 16P (hint, hint) version to hit the market!

C. Gill

March 16, 2016

Needs More DSP

First of all, the Apollo 8p sounds incredible! Routing and integration into my existing rig were a breeze. HOWEVER… for $3K, the DSP is lacking BIG time! At 96kHz, I get a Unison plugin, and one… maybe two additional plugins on each channel before the processor is maxed. Now try adding Ocean Way or AKG verb to an aux and real trouble hits! I was looking to start recording/mixing everything at 192kHz, but at that rate, I barely get Unison plugins on each channel before the Apollo 8p processor overloads. It's like UA made the Apollos just to wet your appetite so you have to spend more money on their satellite DSP accelerators.

R. Lopez

December 30, 2015

Great Idea, Slow execution

After some time with this unit I have come to the conclusion that it is a little hyped. First I would like to say that it sounds really good. The plug-ins are a better emulation than waves. The GUI are nice looking but, picking settings is a little frustrating. Also, I experience pops and clicks, minor lag when ran at 92k with 256 sample buffer (I have a decent new macbook and I'm running Ableton Live) Honestly, my little NI Komplete Audio 6 ran smoother. The biggest disappointment for me is of course that you max out real fast using 8 mic pre's along with plug-ins. I had 4 mic's with Neve pre amps and comps on each channel and that was too much for tracking. If you got the money and it's no big deal then this unit is a cool buy.

W. Lucero

August 8, 2015

Apollo 8p = Weak DSP.... Buyer Beware!!!!!

1 star simply for the weak DSP. UA brags about the Apollo 8p having 4 sharc processors, what they don't mention is that really doesn't amount to much when running their UA plugins. I did the research, was aware that said plugins could take up as much as 44% of 1 processor, but I made the purchase anyways simply because I liked the idea of having 8 pre amps. If it wasn't for the weak DSP (I max out at about 12-15 UA plugins, depending on which ones I'm using), I'd definitely give 5 stars, but for $3000, I'm expecting a lot more bang for my bucks....

R. McGuinness

June 10, 2018

Go buy one NOW!!!!!

I can honestly say, with the Apollo 8P my sonic world has been transformed, the connectivity combined with the plugin integration is truly something wonderful to behold. Its so easy to recreate the sound in your head, a truly professional device.

J. Järvelä

April 27, 2018

I love it loud!

Best you can get!

D. Lima

April 15, 2018

Great quality but...

wonderful and great quality! however it has little power to keep more than 4 plugins running together, the processor is weak, by the value expected much more.

Z. Varga

April 10, 2018

Got what i waited

Sounds great, works fine.
The Unison is amazing, if you want to print plugins during recording this is your device and even if you don't.

M. Rom

March 30, 2018

8P

Simple. I liked my first 8P so much, I had to have another. Now I have a total of 18 UA inputs. Enough to record a live show if needed.

M. Rom

March 30, 2018

8P

Simple. I liked my first 8P so much, I had to have another. Now I have a total of 18 UA inputs. Enough to record a live show if needed.

M. Rom

March 30, 2018

8P

Simple. I liked my first 8P so much, I had to have another. Now I have a total of 18 UA inputs. Enough to record a live show if needed.

J. St. Pierre

March 27, 2018

The Apollo 8P ROCKS!

I just added an Apollo 8P to my recording studio, along with my two Apollo 16 Mk II’s and my Apollo Twin Mk II Quad. The 8P inttagrates seamlessly into my system. The audio quality of the Unison preamps, and UA’s A to D converters, along with their amazingly engineered plugins is stellar. I can’t recommend UA’s products more to my fellow audio engineers!

1-20 of 121 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 7