Apollo Twin X

Apollo Twin X

You have no items in your shopping cart.

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin X

Overall Rating

261-280 of 593 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. De Natale

November 12, 2020

Apollo Tein X... much, much more than a small sound card

Apollo Twin X,
compact, powerful, ideal for having everything under control in my studio ♥ ️

M. Vogel

November 12, 2020

Beautiful Sound

The Apollo Twin X is easy to use and the preamps have a really beautiful sound.
But: the power supply emits a high frequency tone when my laptop is not connected to its power supply - and that noise is quite audible when recording voice with a condenser mic. The issue couldn´t be solved with the support and I was told that this high frequency tone is normal.

S. Hwang

November 12, 2020

It's an amazing audio interface

It's an amazing audio interface

D. Dubois Guillot-Fernez

November 12, 2020

MATÉRIEL PRO, SOLIDE ET AGRÉABLE À UTILISER !

J'ai travaillé de nombreuses années avec une Quad Capture, une interface qui mérite la palme d'or (sans copinage) du rapport qualité/prix et de la lutte contre l'obsolescence programmée. Je la garde !

J'ai tout de même décidé d'investir dans une Apollo Twin X pour améliorer le son de mes productions POP actuelles et le confort de mon flux de travail.

Je vais structurer mon avis en plusieurs parties précises.


1. SOFTWARE & COMPATIBILITÉ THUNDERBOLT :

Installation on ne peut plus simple et rapide sous Mac OS Catalina. Activation instantanée, sans failles.
L'interface fonctionne à la perfection avec un MacBook Pro Retina 15' fin 2013. Il suffit de connecter un adaptateur thunderbolt 3 vers 2 (Apple en ce qui me concerne) sur l'Apollo. C'est très fiable.
La latence, on s'en tape... le monitoring direct de l'interface est transparent, quel que soit le buffer choisi.

La console software est belle (façon matériel de studio, j'adore !) et relativement simple à utiliser. J'ai mis un petit temps à comprendre comment ajouter deux tranches virtuelles pour monitorer Logic Pro et le son média du Mac. Ça fonctionne bien, c'est génial !
Toutes les fonctions de base sont évidentes et tombent sous la main. Je n’utilise pas les fonctions plus avancées. Je n’en ai pas besoin.

En ce qui concerne les plugins UAD, je peux vous dire qu'ils font la blague. Avec le Manley Vox Box (mode UNISON), mes prises voix ne sont plus les mêmes. Y'a du grain et de la présence ! Idem Pour l'Avalon VT-737 qui donne un son très différent, plus doux et brillant, trop pour ma voix qui produit d'importantes sibilantes à 9000 KHz. Je m'en sers au mix pour donner du corps à d'autres sons et ça le fait !

On peut déjà faire du très bon son avec les plugins offerts lors de l'achat de l'interface. Je conseille de prendre la version QUAD. C'est une mauvaise économie de prendre la DUO. Cela permet d'utiliser au mix un bon nombre de plugins UAD "legacy" (légers) et de décharger le processeur de l'ordinateur de manière drastique !
Je n'utilise pas que les plugins UAD pour faire mon son, mais ceux que j'utilise ont changé la donne à pas mal de niveaux. Mes mix n'ont jamais été aussi bons. Les nombreuses vérifications avec des matériels et dans des conditions très différentes peuvent en témoigner, tout comme les différentes personnes à qui je fais écouter.

Par contre, il faut nettoyer la liste des plugins dans les gestionnaires UAD et de sa STAN. Le but est de masquer (gestionnaire UAD) et décocher (gestionnaire de votre STAN) tout ceux que vous n'avez pas achetés. C'est un peu fastidieux, mais plus qu’utile !

Je trouve que les skins de la console et des plugins sont trop petits. Ça peut faire mal aux yeux sur les écrans de type « retina ». Peut-être existe-il un mode d’affichage adapté… je ne l’ai pas trouvé. Il me semble que rien n’est redimentionnable.


2. LE MATÉRIEL & LA CONNECTIQUE :

L'interface est jolie et très robuste. C'est bien assemblé, ça fait très PRO.
Cette interface est spécifiquement étudiée pour une utilisation solo. Je ne sais pas ce que l'on peut faire de plus en mode ADAT, je n'en ai pas besoin.
Tous les connecteurs sont très fermes. Je n'ai pas peur de les casser, même l'USB-C. Je recommande tout de même d'être prudent avec celui-ci, comme sur toutes les machines.
Le grand potard central est un peu "souple", certains diraient "mou". Je pense que c'est étudié pour résister aux manipulations intempestives. Il est très précis.
Les petits boutons poussoirs n'ont quasiment pas de jeux. Ils sont fermes.


3. LE SON

C'est là que je vais faire retomber les fantasmes dithyrambiques de certains.
Oui, ça sonne péchu (avec une grande amplitude dynamique), précis et nuancé. Après, tout dépend de vos enceintes de monitoring et de votre casque. Quand on fait du son, le secret (qui n'en est plus un depuis longtemps) est qu'il faut travailler avec des écoutes au moins correctes, que l'on connait bien.

La différence avec la Quad Capture (sur les mêmes écoutes : Focal Alpha 65 et Audio-Technica ATH MSR7) n'est pas "sans aucun rapport", "un autre monde", "plus dans le même univers"... Je n'ai pas redécouvert tous mes mix, ni ma discographie sur Qobuz.

Certes, la Quad Capture délivre un son exceptionnel pour sa gamme et son prix.
Mais oui, j'ai tout de suite entendu la différence avec l'Apollo Twin X (plus pêchu, plus grande amplitude dynamique, plus précis, plus nuancé). C'est loin d'être « monumental ». L'Apollo n’a pas été crée par des sorciers D&D de niveau 100.
La différence est tout de même présente et c'est surtout quand on commence à faire du son que ça prend un peu d'ampleur. Avec l'Apollo, il est plus évident de se rendre compte de l’incidence d'une équalisation, d'une compression, d'un placement dans l'espace stéréo (qui est large) et d'une mise en perspective avec une réverbe et/ou un délai. On entend mieux ce qu'on fait et l'on peut prendre des décisions plus rapides, plus efficaces.
Tout simplement, la qualité du mixage prend de la "plus value".

Le rendu général est aux antipodes de ce que l'on peut appeler "numérique" (si cela a encore un sens aujourd'hui). Ça sonne naturel et "charnu". La Quad Capture a aussi cette qualité, avec le compromis d'être plus "ronde", car moins précise et nuancée que l'Apollo. Quand on a une interface de ce niveau, on en change plus, sauf si le besoin de plus d’entrées / sorties se fait sentir.


4. CONCLUSION :

La politique commerciale d’UAD, avec son système propriétaire, peut en rebuter plus d’un. Je n’en suis pas fan. Je le savais avant d’acheter la Twin X.

Je doit bien avouer que c’est du très bon matériel. Un outil très PRO.
Les plugins d’émulation me semblent d’une irréprochable qualité. Ce qu’ils apportent en traitement / amélioration du son est loin d’être négligeable. J’ai plein d’autres plugins divers et variés, payants et gratuits, certains d’entre eux sont très, très bons. Mais il est souvent facile d’aller trop loin, sans s’en rendre compte tout de suite.
Les plugins UAD me semblent plus précis, plus fins. Quand on va trop loin, on l’entend tout de suite ! Il me semble que le niveau n’est pas le même.
C’est mon expérience.

Certes, l’interface comme les plugins sont chers. Je pense que ce n’est pas abusif. C’est un investissement qui peut se justifier.

Je referai ce choix sans la moindre hésitation.

D. Jones

November 11, 2020

Just buy it. Invest in yourself.

Do YOURSELF a favor and buy this piece of hardware. I record & engineer multiple artists consisting of singers, rappers and such. And this machinery brought it all to life.
The reason for a four star rating is simple.
I paid 1100 and was told and sold on many times that it COMES with UA Plugins.
Instead it comes with 14 day trials, and these plug ins are expensive on their own.

I feel 3 free plugins of the users choice should be offered to each buyer after the 14 day trial.

Other than that, I love and appreciate my Apollo to the fullest.
Thank you U- Audio for your performance!
-LOW

S. Lord

November 10, 2020

Yes.

I didn’t want to believe the hype. I held back for years. I was scared to spend the money. Alas, I finally did it. I completely get it now. It all makes sense. Absolute game changer.

J. Nothstein

November 10, 2020

Macht was es soll

Gibt da nicht mehr viel zu sagen

J. Sanchez

November 6, 2020

La mejor solución todo en uno

Máxima calidad de audio y una sólida estabilidad en su rendimiento, sumando todos sus plugins, tenemos una solución profesional de la más alta calidad, un sueño hecho realidad ....en mis 25 años de experiencia, nunca había experimentado la sensación de estar delante de un auténtico estudio profesional de audio ...

M. Peak

November 6, 2020

High Quality Recording With Important Features

The two great advantages to the Apollo Twin X are the features and the use of plugins. By itself the quality I found is far above many other interfaces I tried and the Twin X offers important features like a Hi-Pass filter and routing abilities, giving me flexibility when recording, especially in applications that are geared to take advantage of those routing capabilities. To this is added the important ability to use plugins before committing to recording or broadcasting and this is one of the main reasons I bought the Twin X. The basic plugins offered by default are great (even the "legacy" models) and the plugins I purchased afterward have become a part of my regular work (the Neve 1084 EQ and preamp and SSL 4000 G bus compressor).

There is a small disadvantage to the UA system. While the high quality plugins are great for recording, their high resource demands severely limit what I can do post-production. The high quality plugins are best use for getting "the sound" before I hit the record button.

The other disadvantage is the price. The Apollo series is truly for serious producers or enthusiasts and I can only recommend it for those with serious long-terms production goals.

D. Bronze

November 6, 2020

Revelatory!

I've been using the Apollo Twin X for a couple of weeks now and I can honestly it's totally transformed my workflow. The ease of use and intuitive layout are superb, as is the sound quality. I'm very pleased I made the jump.

J. Master

November 6, 2020

Dream machine

This is by far the greatest bit of kit I've added to my studio in a long time. It's solidly built, has well-thought-out buttons which I actually use all the time and the software console is also beautiful to use. The plugins don't need my review, they're all awesome. I produced my last album on this box and I'm more than happy with the results. I'm on a 2015 iMac, so needed the apple thunderbolt 2 to 3 adaptor (it's the only one that works in both direction) but it means my UA interface will be future-proof when I update my mac. Mine's paired up with a Shure SM7B and there's a lot of talk about pre-amps online, but the ones that come with the Apollo Twin X are actually pretty good, I've found. Overall, it's pricey but it's a huge step forward for any small or home studio. Also, neat trick: you can use the talkback button to record loopback (to record from a browser etc) which is handy.

M. Silvestri

November 4, 2020

Great product / Amazing Plug-in / Exceptional Service

Had this for a week now, and I absolutely love it. Honestly, I had buyers remorse when I got initially, but only until I used to for a song demo the very next day. My co-producer came over, and we worked on a demo using live guitars, and an akgc414. I showed him the list of the plug-ins, and we used them to track painting the plugin sounds to the recordings. I could already tell my production value went up a TON, and the plugs-in help a lot with the mixing.

They have great customer service, b/c they extended a promo offer to new buyers, but since I had just bought it a week ago, they told me I'd get the offer (without me even reaching out), and got them updated in my apollo, and they are SICK..

Thanks :)

M. Silvestri

November 4, 2020

Great product / Amazing Plug-in / Exceptional Service

Had this for a week now, and I absolutely love it. Honestly, I had buyers remorse when I got initially, but only until I used to for a song demo the very next day. My co-producer came over, and we worked on a demo using live guitars, and an akgc414. I showed him the list of the plug-ins, and we used them to track painting the plugin sounds to the recordings. I could already tell my production value went up a TON, and the plugs-in help a lot with the mixing.

They have great customer service, b/c they extended a promo offer to new buyers, but since I had just bought it a week ago, they told me I'd get the offer (without me even reaching out), and got them updated in my apollo, and they are SICK..

Thanks :)

J. Longo

November 4, 2020

LOVE

I plug my mic in it. I plug my guitar in it. I plug my drum machine in it.
Via digital ( Toslink cable) , I plug my other older audio interface into it which has my dj mixer and key boards. It's small, so it's very easy to travel with. It's thunderbolt 3, ready for the new Mac computers. For more information, please go to my website.
Pal Joey Music
https://www.paljoeymusic.com/

O. Gonzalez

November 4, 2020

You cannot use 3 and 4 output as an extension

The Apollo Twin X by itself is a great interface. Good quality, nice preamps, nice plugs, etc. But as an extension to an Apollo x8, is a bummer that you cannot use the 3 and 4 analog outputs. This was a surprise to me, because obviously it doesn't say that on the website, reviews or videos on youtube.

Also, it would be great to be able to change preamps or input volume to the x8 from it.

Other than that, is great.

G. Pacino

November 4, 2020

Great product but with compromises.

Everybody knows the advantages of UA. Real analog emulation without the rack hardware. Great sound and dependable customer service.
On the other hand, I find myself a bit frustrated with my new purchase. After about two months of owning this product, I am well aware of the advantages and disadvantages.
If you are purchasing a TWIN device, the chances are that you are an on-the-go engineer or producer. You move around with your laptop and work from different locations. As in my case, this is all I do.
Now that I have the UA Twin and utilize the plugins on almost every mix, Im in the compromise of having to bring the interface with me anywhere If I want to pull up a mix. If Im at school or at a non-studio location and want to do some quick headphone mixing, I wont be able to because the interface is required to run the plugins and its at home! Not only to I have to worry about bringing my laptop, hard drive, and adapters, I also have to worry about bringing my interface If I want to pull up a mix. This may not be the product for me or mobile engineers and producers. Although I LOVE the analog emulation, this compromise is just too much... I am considering selling this interface...

J. McLachlan

November 3, 2020

World Class Hardware

I finally saved up enough money to purchase my Apollo Twin X Quad and I am beyond impressed with this hardware. I work out of FL Studio and Logic and it works seamlessly with both. The UAD family really knows what they are doing! I highly recommend using Apollo if you are looking for quality and efficiency in an audio interface.

S. Northrop

November 3, 2020

Great product!!

Amazing quality on every aspect of the product! From the device itself, high quality plugins, and most importantly countless how-to-videos and manuals to get the most out of your apollo!

P. Eleftheriadou

November 3, 2020

Wow

Exellent Sound , no latency, even with no Sound accoustic panels and the recording Sound wonderfull. In the booth voice overs hit top. Quality product!
I used it with luna and dont want to go to nothing else After that

J. LIM

November 2, 2020

super uad

nice, good, super, incredible, wonderful, great, amazing, beautiful, lovely, pretty....

261-280 of 593 Results