Get 3 months of UAD Spark for 99¢. Extended thru December 31st. Learn More ›

Customer Reviews

Apollo x8

Overall Rating

61-80 of 259 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Ramirez

December 29, 2020

Yeap

Pretty happy overall, I'm still learning to use it though. I do believe there's an improvement in sound quality from the focusrite clarett I was using . I wish they give us a promo code for plugins considering all the money it costs, but I'm still happy.

T. Andersson

December 29, 2020

Apollo X8

I exchanged Apollo 8 to Apollo X8.
I have had my old unit for 5 years without any troubles.
I used my old unit a as digital mixer for my hardware and software synths and for my guitars and I thought this should be the ultimate tool for creating music.
I was able to test Apollo x8 and I was surprised that the soundquality was so much better than the old unit. I decided to get Apollo X8. I was lucky to get a good price for the old unit .
I Have had Apollo X8 for three weeks now and I am still surprised of the soundquality. The build quality is exellent, it will last for many years.

R. Pelletier

December 24, 2020

Love my Apollo X8

La meilleur interface audio que j'ai eu depuis le début de mon studio.

The best audio interface I have had since starting my studio.

T. Gol

December 17, 2020

Perfect for anything

It’s not my first Apollo. I’m very happy with my purchase. It’s very flexible interface. Also with 6 sharc chips it’s very powerful. I also combined it with a Satellite. Dynamic range and coverter quality is really good. If you have a budget don’t waste your time by overthinking about pulling the trigger :)

R. Vallenari

December 11, 2020

The best interface I know for serious production

Title says it all, extremely well thought and incredible sounding piece of goodness

P. Duville

December 10, 2020

Universal audio get 3000 dls and dont give a free plugin

I cant believe
I buy the new x8 and no free plugin?
Just a shitty attitude

P. Chatchaturian

December 9, 2020

Cool but there is something MISSING

Cool interface, cool sound! But to me it is far away of understanding why it can handle only 8 channels of ADAT at 44,1 kHz. This is quite an show stopper to me.
Let's say you own some other interfaces you still want to use. In order to use the console features (e.g. using the inserts only for tracking but not for writing) of the UAD you have to have to choose the UAD as the asio driver in your DAW. I now expect an interface at this cost with two ADAT IN/''OUTs to provide me 16 channels at 44,1 kHz for connecting my mic ins of two ohter interfaces for recording.
Another thing making my head shaking: when using this interface along with other interfaces (one of them is the clock master) and setting the UADs clock source to ADAT (because it is connected via ADAT to the clock master), you still have to set the right sampling frequency MANUALLY at the UAD device.
Both, lack of ADAT-IO and sampling frequenz syncing seems to be very old fashioned. Please give me 16 44,1 kHz ADATA IN/OUTs! I do not need to treat them with UAD-plugins, so no horse power is needed here.

D. Arroyo

December 8, 2020

so glad

I'm so glad I purchased I purchased this... the best interface I have worked with. The plugins are superior to any other.

M. Apata

December 7, 2020

Fantastic Interface

Absolutely fantastic interface with great plugins attached!

J. Delgado

December 4, 2020

Awesome sound and quality

Universal Audio Apollo it's a game changer, being able to use de Unison technology and the analog sound of UAD plugins it's amazing. This is my second Apollo, I have never had any type of problem with he interface or the software.

N. Merkas

December 2, 2020

Awesome

I saw this. I bought this. I'm happy with this.

S. Rother

November 30, 2020

Love my Apollo x8

analog sound in a digital world.

B. Lindley

November 30, 2020

Broken Apollo and no assistance

My Apollo, which sits safely in my rack far from anything that could damage started malfunctioning for no apparent reason and customer care did next to nothing to help. Beware if you buy this and anything happens UA will not stand behind their 3,000$ product as they should. Now I am shipping mine back to Sweetwater, who generously offered to fix it out of warranty (still for $$) because they sold it to me and felt bad. Unfortunately that means a six week turn around time and cost of shipping so now i have to buy a new interface so my studio doesn't have too much downtime and i lose income. I'm incredibly frustrated having now had to pay the money to ship and repair the Apollo and now potentially buy a new one when i did nothing wrong in the first place. And still no one from UA will return emails or reach out to me. This is a fine interface but you may want to seriously consider buying from a different company, one who makes an interface that doesn't break out of nowhere and then won't help you

S. Rother

November 30, 2020

Eierlegende Wollmilchsau

Love my Apollo x8! Perfect for every situation!

M. Verblakt

November 29, 2020

Stunning interface

The sound quality of the pre-amps as well as the DA circuits is superb. It's clarity and open an tight low -end impresses. Came over from other brand which I used for 10+ yrs but the sound difference is stunning. I did some vocal recordings with unison pre-amps enabled and it blows my old interface away. The unit is build to last long (I hope). Thumbs up.

E. Bunnik

November 27, 2020

Finaly one that does all good

It was time for an A quality sound device. The Apollo x8 sounds perfect and working with it feels effortless. I'm waiting for my satellite and then I'm done for a while. I have everything I need to record myself and any band. Oh wait still have to choose the plugins that suit my style.
UAD thx for great gear
Edwin

J. Foxall

November 26, 2020

These converters are amazing

I have used Apollo silverfaces for years and just updated to an x8. I was using a Dangerous dbox for my converters with my silver 16 but the converters on the x8 sound so much better! I wish the volume knob was more substantial (like that of the dbox) and that the headphone amps had a bit more oomph, but otherwise this is a fantastic interface.

R. Amador Lopez

November 25, 2020

I love my apollo x8

I have been with Universal Audio for 7 years, very satisfied with all its products and finally I wanted to update my Apollo 8 interface to x8 the difference in sound speed of the AD conversion process is incredible, if you are looking for a pro sound you must make an effort and listen to one apollo x

S. Camilleri

November 25, 2020

Apollo x8 beautifull

Very high quality device as were the previous Apollo FireWire Duo and Apollo Twin mkII that I owned until recently. All great devices but the apollo x8 is a superior shoulder both in terms of preamps and converters. The best apollo among those owned so far. Congratulations always to UNIVERSAL AUDIO.

D. Parker

November 19, 2020

Great Interface

Upgraded from an Apollo 8 to an X8 - overall a nice upgrade. Sounds a bit cleaner/nicer than the 8 and the added DSP is a bonus. I hope they will eventually improve the optical covers on the ADAT inputs. I have broken two of them in the past few years which makes the ADAT inputs hard to use without tape. Messy.

61-80 of 259 Results