Apollo FireWire

Apollo FireWire

Customer Reviews

Apollo FireWire

Overall Rating

201-220 of 780 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

UAD User

August 21, 2015

Value for money

I recently replaced a Protools HDX card for this UA Apollo after the requirement in my studio for a new preamp came up. I have to say after the initial set up issues which were entirely my fault I am really chuffed with this product. I have used UAD before and the consistency in their AD/DA is still supreme as well as the preamps which work well, sound great and integrate with the hardware seamlessly. If I had a niggle, and it is purely aesthetic, is that the control knobs on the front feel a little "plasticy" compared to the apollo duo and I'll be changing them for something more robust in the near future. But if thats all you have to complain about consider me a happy customer.

J. Childers

August 11, 2015

Apollo Quad Firewire

Absolutely fantastic! I upgraded my interface from a MBox 2 and needless to say the Apollo Quad interface was well worth the money! I'm very pleased with the plug-ins I received with my purchase as well as the vouchers Universal Audio has sent me! I'm a student at The Blackbird Academy and I've used the Apollo in studios for over a year! I'm glad I joined in with the fun and bought my own personal Apollo Quad interface!

F. Ramos

July 21, 2015

TRULY A GREAT PIECE OF GEAR

To put it simply...it sound REALLY AMAZING!!! I the built-in preamps are very clear but after trying a few demos one comes to realise that the possibilities are endless. Great built quality. The plugins I tried took my whole production to another level. They are so well emulated.
I also have the Twin Duo and together with my Quad, all my production needs are taken care of.
Voucher gift certificate upon registering was a nice surprise...the list of great things goes on and on...
Highly recommended!

S. Pheng

June 6, 2015

UAD V8.1.3 software update keeps Apollo on Top of Technology

Love you UA guys for the UAD V8.1.3 software update. The layout of the console in this update looks awesome and the interface & performance works great. Thanks for all your hard works to keep us on the top of musical industries and give us the best of your creation. This is that people call "The Innovation"!

S. Pheng

June 6, 2015

UAD V8.1.3 software update keeps Apollo on Top of Technology

Love you UA guys for the UAD V8.1.3 software update. The layout of the console in this update looks awesome and the interface & performance works great. Thanks for all your hard works to keep us on the top of musical industries and give us the best of your creation. This is that people call "The Innovation"!

L. SCHARK

April 16, 2015

Good sound, but unable to use the UAD Plugins

The sound is excellent, to be honest.
However I constantly get the same error messages saying that the plugs have been disable (I automatically click on "Send report").
Basically I can't enjoy the full product due to this issue.
I'm have a Win 7 (32bit) with Firewire PCi (compatible) hell of a desktop (i7, 32Gb Ram).

S. Kaan

April 11, 2015

Super Stable!!!

All in all, this is hands down the best you can get for music production. Software and hardware are very stable. [Thank you engineers of UA!!!!]

3 things I would really like to see:

1) Sooner release of console 2.0 for FW800 users.

2) New volume knob hardware for control of master volume and other hardware features (I had a hard time leaving my T.C. Electronic Studio Konnekt 48 w/ remote for this...) Yes, I know that the Apollo Twin will work as a controller knob for the Apollo rack-mount but I'm limited to FW800 and the Twin only can connect to the Apollo with Thunderbolt.

3) Access to all inputs at once (I didn't like that I had to split between mic inputs and line inputs). Unfortunately this is probably a HW limitation.

That's all.

UAD User

April 8, 2015

REALLY?

Yes. REALLY. You can't possibly understand just how AMAZING the Apollo Quad makes everything sound.

I'll make it simple. It's the most delicious piece of gear I've ever heard, throw your cash at Universal Audio. This box is like a heavy brick of sonic gold. How the heck did they do it? I cried when I heard my microphones. I cried again when I heard the plugins. I actually felt scared because I knew I would have to bring my game to another level. Am I a good enough musician for the Apollo?

Thunderbolt not supported on PC, a shame, but really not UA's fault.

HOLY $*** , I can't believe how awesome it makes everything sound! THIS THING IS ALIVE!!!!!! You will appreciate your life more when you use the Apollo. No kidding. It's a miracle.

A. Spraggon

April 5, 2015

Apollo UAD Quad

After my Digi002 and Apogee Mini Me setup started giving me daily grief I decided to bite the bullet and upgrade. I tried a few different options before settling on the Apollo UAD Quad. I have to say its the most impressive piece of kit I've worked with in some time. Sessions have improved as I dont have to constantly work around latency issues.

The plugins sound great and the user interface is clean and practical.

My gripes: The knobs on the front panel feel plastic and cheap. They seem to control the volume at increments of 3-4 db each increase/decrease. I also get glitches in both the audio and visual when stopping and starting tracks sometimes. Not sure if this will be addressed in the next version upgrade.

A. Spraggon

April 5, 2015

Apollo UAD Quad

After my Digi002 and Apogee Mini Me setup started giving me daily grief I decided to bite the bullet and upgrade. I tried a few different options before settling on the Apollo UAD Quad. I have to say its the most impressive piece of kit I've worked with in some time. Sessions have improved as I dont have to constantly work around latency issues.

The plugins sound great and the user interface is clean and practical.

My gripes: The knobs on the front panel feel plastic and cheap. They seem to control the volume at increments of 3-4 db each increase/decrease. I also get glitches in both the audio and visual when stopping and starting tracks sometimes. Not sure if this will be addressed in the next version upgrade.

A. Johnson

April 4, 2015

Welcome to the Future

I'm a long-time, die-hard analog junkie. My studio is crammed with rare vintage boxes. Which require a steady and substantial maintenance budget, as well as extra time in every session to patch, set, integrate, and print.

Having tried many plugins, only UAD plugins really make me believe. I can mix with UAD plugins and gain all the benefits of digital, and I don't feel like I've lost anything. So I was especially excited to try Apollo.

I have to say: it is everything I expected and hoped it would be. The marriage of the UAD hardware pre and software modeling WORKS. There is less difference between "real" vs. modeled, than between two copies of the same vintage hardware. In other words, any difference simply is not important.

APOLLO WINS!

P. Aarup

April 4, 2015

Very good preamp

After I sold my Motu and get the Apollo everything become more clear, I can hear every detail, and the ver. 8,0 console it's like having a mixer in front of you. I love my Apollo, the routing to and from Logic is easy and everything works very well. The best interface I have heard in my 30 years in music.

T. Kprazeon

April 3, 2015

UAD IS THE BEST

I had always used digidesign and steinberg interfaces, but after switching to Apollo about 3 weeks ago I can tell u its the way to. great sounding converters, smooth and transparent pre-amps and the plugins are state of the art. For those of you who do not have any Apollo interfaces, just give it a try

L. Karczewski

March 31, 2015

that's it

I used to use an ancient MONA by EchoDigitalAudio for 12 years perhaps. Finally Echo decided to stop manufacturing audio interfaces. So I decided to upgrade my project studio with brand-new gear. Apollo Quad has been chosen due to its integration with previously bought UAD-2 Quad card although it has been rather substantial spending (and check the value of Polish zloty :D).
But my intuition has done great job! Apollo Quad sounds perfect and delivers an analog feel with two clever encoders. To sum up:
+
1. Great preamps; combined Unison technology offers purely analog imperfections and unlinearity in digital domain
2. Great plug-ins and gentle intergration with UAD-2 Quad
3. Great support of Thunderbolt interface
-
1. Lack of MIDI

B. Migliari

March 30, 2015

Great Piece of Gear

I was craving the Apollo for so long that I had a dangerous expectation build-up… I'm glad it not only delivered as expected, but even surpassed my expectations in many ways . Definitely an upgrade to my studio.

M. Sedlacek

March 21, 2015

A bit disapointed

I like a loot of stuff on the apollo but what really disapointed me is the CPU usage with empty UAD console...to be honest it is really bad!!!!
It looks like UAD do not know optimize their own software where for device nearly for £2000 is not acceptable!!!!

p. baudry

March 14, 2015

++++ Best interface in the World With best plugs in ++++

Really a great interface , one of the best , i sell my 2 aurora 16 and my avid protools hdx for buying more apollos ( one apollo 16 and perhaps another apollo quad ) with the new software....
Great plugs in .... TOP converters....great sounding .....
The universal audio staff are very kind and quick for resolving problems not like other brand like AVID or SSL very bad services,bad communications ........
UAD are top products ,
i own hardware from uad like 2 - 610 S preamps......top sounding.....
Long life to Universal Audio...

C. Shepherd

March 13, 2015

Truthfully Honest Audio

After doing mixes on my Mackie Onyx 1640i console/interface and being very satisfied , I then decided to get the Apollo as an upgrade to my studio. I was completely blown away on how unforgivable it's monitoring system is! Listening to mixes I did on my Onyx, I realized that I wasn't getting the true sound from my recordings. I would recommend this to anyone who is serious about getting a true sound out of there monitors!

R. Baptist

March 12, 2015

From ProFire 2626 to Apollo

This was a step up. All of the sound, configuration, and plug INs worked as advertised. The console is a little unstable. The meters and controls start flashing erratically when sound starts going through. This is kind of annoying. Hopefully there will be an update to address this. Overall, I'm still satisfied with this unit, as I researched quite a few others before making my decision to get this one.

A. Nguyen

March 11, 2015

Great

I was looking for a new interface, and this is it! Superb DA/AD conversion, UAD Plugins, Preamps and Firewire and runs great on Windows 8.1. Preamps are very clean, little to no latency for recording and came with a Thunderbolt 2 Option Card. I originally purchased this to complement my new PC with Thunderbolt 2 on my motherboard but it seems that no drivers exist yet for the Thunderbolt 2 Option Card. I hope someday that UA will make those drivers available for all Windows users. This is a remarkable interface but please UA, support your Windows/PC users more.

201-220 of 780 Results