Apollo FireWire

Apollo FireWire

Customer Reviews

Apollo FireWire

Overall Rating

581-600 of 769 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

B. Gantner

January 12, 2013

UAD Apollo Quad

Tested some interfaces, and decided to give the Apollo a chance because I always wanted a UAD card and needed a new interface.

I was using the Apollo for about a week on an unsupported system first. So, that was so ennoying, that I ordered the Sonnet FW800 PCIe-Card. And... bought a new System with fast SSD's.

Everything works perfect, UAD-2 Plugins load as fast as the native plugins do, even in my DAW, and I really enjoy to "protect" my takes with the Precicion Limiter in Console or do some de-essing with bx digital for monitoring reasons. I now use the Apollo & my Mytek 8x192 together...

It's a pity the AUX channels in Console "snap" the outputs from the DAW, I really wanted more internal routing flexibility in Console! Please update!

L. Lombard

January 12, 2013

Incredible gear

The Apollo is an incredible tool. AD/DA conversion, monitor sound quality and preamps are very (very....) good. To me, the big surprise is the preamps quality, as good as 3k$ gears, very clean with ultra fast transients, perfect match with UAD plug ins. All of this for a very cool price...

R. Sokolovski

January 11, 2013

Back again

I owned UAD 01 and be very happy to have it back. I spent lot of money in last year
buying and trying other non DSP plugin. Nothing can beat UAD. Must say it again and again. And I like Apollo convertors as well. The Sound of Apollo is amazing.

T. Sage

January 10, 2013

Fantastic Product

I've been recording for over 20 years and I must say this is the best interface I have ever purchased. Being a Pro Tools user since the early 90's this unit is a massive upgrade with regards to sound quality, dependability, and the Plug-Ins are fantastic. I'm glad I purchased this unit instead of other units suggested to me by retailers. Love it, Love it, Love it!!!

A. Klassen

January 9, 2013


My previous interface was an Avid Mbox3, and immediately this thing blows it out of the water! the pre's are very crisp and clear, and the converters are amazing as well. Just listening with headphones is a whole new experience! Now to collect all the UAD2 Plugs :P

J. Yozsa

January 8, 2013


Nothing but love comes from me to this beautiful piece of recording gear! Between the smooth mic pre's and the transparent converters. The apollo makes out to be a mind blowing recording interface! I love the UAD plugins along with the options the apollo leaves me with. I can record directly with a UAD plugin through the console application, or just use a plugin as a monitor for any of my clients. It truly can do just about everything. Although the Apollo is great and everything I must give a huge thankyou to the tech support and everyone else at UA. These guys really got their stuff together. Everytime I have to call them about anything I always walk away from the call a happy customer. You guys are awesome!

J. Roach

January 6, 2013

Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt and Octo Card option

Thank you UA, (Miles and Derek) for the best customer service experience in the industry. Thank you to the entire UA staff for creating a product such as this. I purchased the Apollo Quad mainly to see what all the hype was about, and to experience the UAD plugs. I'm still listening in amazement as I compare the software to my original hardware. I have not heard a software that rivals my best pultecs and 175b's until now! I had to go back and compare the waves versions and it's clear UA has the advantage sonically and by a fair margin. As soon as multi unit Apollo support is offered I'm all in with UA. Thanks again, Jos Roach,Audio Barn (Upland CA.)

G. Mick

January 5, 2013


Over the past 15 years I've gone through many "pro-sumer" interfaces, each sold to me by smart people (who may haved used the same things themselves) who each must have assumed I wasn't trying to make real records!!
Everytime was the same, an interface with some strong points and many weak points, first you think it's your mics, then your pres, etc..
I always went back to the studio..
True, I never got the most out of some ok interfaces in the past.. But how could I? I didn't have enough experience to make something bad sound good.
With the Apollo you don't have to worry about it!
Everything is solid!
Honestly, don't know much about the competition in its price range. But I don't care anymore.
The workflow and best plugs give it the edge

E. Becher

January 1, 2013

Powerful interface

Great converters, very convenient UAD-2 included. Easy setup and works seamlessly with ProTools 10.

J. Hawkins

December 29, 2012

Apollo as an interface

so far my iMac refuses to see it using the optional Thunderbolt card after following directions to the letter. Firewire 800 works fine. I also get a fairly noisy hum if I use anything between a mic and the Apollo or an instrument like an effects pedal, but it's ultra quiet if you just go straight in and use the plug ins to get your sound.

M. Pace

December 27, 2012

Excellence at its finest!

I've always been a massive digi003 fan for a long time. When I first started using UAD plugins back in 2010, I then realized that was the way to go within a need to have analog processors within the mixing process.

All analog hardware became less of use for me personally having work with different genre's of sounds, the UAD software library was more than capable to deliver.

Examples of works can be found here:

You can download my entire album FREE directly from the above link.

Having waited so long for an interface that could support 800 and have real-time processor effects on-board an audio interface sold me on the idea straight away.

I strongly advise for any Windows users out there to buy Sonnet FWPCI-E

S. Schmidt

December 25, 2012

Love my new Apollo

A great piece of gear ... top notch converters, great sound, no perceivable latency, GREATGREATGREAT plugins, totally straightforward installation and perfect integration with Win7 and Cubase7, rugged build and finally a really cool technical and optical design. (You see, I'm a bit enthusiastic about it, but I think it is really that good.)

J. Condiotti

December 24, 2012

Another Winner

What an awesome piece of gear. UA know how to do it right!

J. Larkan

December 22, 2012

Apollo Quad Review

The Apollo is my first good quality audio interface. So far I can say it works great and sounds great. I have a good selection of the UAD plugs which are all awesome. The Apollo on thunderbolt combined with a UAD Satellite Quad seems like I am unlikely to run out of DSP space in the near future. I plan to use the Apollo for live shows as well which so far also seems like it is going to work beautifully for. : )

S. Barnes

December 20, 2012

Excellent DSP and I/O all in one box

I vacillated for a while on upgrading my interface and finally went with the Apollo for its available Thunderbolt integration, as my studio is centered around a Macbook Pro. I have to say, I have zero regrets; the interface sounds dramatically better than the Focusrite I upgraded from, a very pleasant surprise from the first time I started using it. On top of that, I also now have access to UAD's great line of plugins without having to connect yet another firewire box to what had previously been an overtaxed bus. The ability to chain displays and recording drives without having to worry about balancing throughput anymore has made me a very happy camper. Not to mention that my desk is a lot cleaner now that everything is over one cable.

M. Gustafson

December 20, 2012

Changed everything for me.

at home or on the go this has been a game changer for me. my work flow has become faster and sonically better. I am able to do more easier and quicker. It is intelligent as well. knowing when you are using the hiZ input or line. One thing that you don't hear as much about is the design. it is not only beautiful with the volume lights and easy on the eyes display, but is is built well. You can feel the quality ion the knobs and switches. I have had many clients stunned at what "I" did with their mixing when all I've done is taken what was recorded with another interface and played it back out to a summing mixer and back to the Apollo. I have referred it to many colleagues and will purchasing another for myself. Maybe a Quad this next time.

W. Cato

December 19, 2012

Apollo Rocks!

I love my Apollo. I use it in conjunction with my 4 710d interface. The Apollo allows me to get not only the extra inputs via ADAT with the 4 710d but it also gives me the ability to use my analog pres with the balanced inputs on both the Apollo and the $ 710d. I know what I'm talking about too. I used to use the Ensemble from Apogee, but the software for the Ensemble gave me problems. Now I have no issues and all my gear runs without a hitch. Apollo gives me the quality of a go to interface. I can get 18 channels in and with the added plug ins from UA, I have access to the greatest mic pres, compressors, etc. This is the way to go. You get the quality of a big time analog studio for a fraction of the cost with all its quality.

S. Endrigkeit

December 19, 2012

Lots of pros and one big con...

Got the interface about a month ago and I am mostly happy with it. The sound is great, the integration with the DAW and with my 3 other UAD cards works perfect. The thing I don´t like is: with the Apollo console you only have the choice between one main monitor mix and two headphone mixes- which would be fine, if you could simply sent the stereo-out from the DAW to the headphone mixes- but you can´t. You have to do it by using the sends of your DAW, what makes it IMHO rather complicated! E.g. when I want to record a singer and have him hear the same mix as me, but do not want to hear the talkback mic that I ran through the Apollo console in the control room- it is not possible- I have to spent time to make him a monitor mix!

H. Bjornsson

December 19, 2012

Difficult choice

It was a difficult choice for me... I was looking at all the competition but somehow ended up buying the Apollo. The day after I bought it I felt a little remorse....because of the prize... but the moment I started using it that feeling vanished... I just love to be able to record without latency... that doesn't happen these days with that prize... not to speak of the double amount of UAD plugin power. My session guys are loving it...and so am I. I'm in DAW heaven!

I haven't tested the converters yet... but to me the pre's sound great.

G. Perrin

December 17, 2012

Apollo Rocks!

I have successfully tested and run my Apollo QUAD on the following configurations:

1) MacBook 3.1 - 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM (FW400) running OSX 10.6.8

2) HP Elitebook 8540W (16GB RAM) on both the native FW400 and the recommended (for MacBook) StarTech.com 2 Port FireWire 800 ExpressCard (EC1394B2)

3) Win7 SP1 64-bit Desktop (Intel MB DX58SO2) Intel Core i7 CPU x990 3.47GHz 6 Cores 12 Logical Processors, 24 GB RAM, with recommended PCIe FW800 card (Sonnet Allegro FW800 PCIe 3-Port FireWire 800 Card). Note: the native motherboard FW400 port _did_not_work_.

Brilliant! I now have an 18 Channel Neve 88RS desk :-). Throw in an 1176LN, LA-2A, "special K" processing and the Shadow Hills compressor - heaven at last.

581-600 of 769 Results