Apollo FireWire

Apollo FireWire

Customer Reviews

Apollo FireWire

Overall Rating

721-740 of 780 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

W. Rock

June 27, 2012

i decide to change my rme fireface 800 interface to universal apollo ,,cause i trust in

universal audio co...rme ff-800 it's good quality anyway . but i can get same good

sound quality from apollo plus special DSP power and thunderbolt technology.

apollo has better pre mic and sound more transparent and great idea is Stereo

monitor outputs (independent of eight line outputs) cause i can get 8 analog out to

summing mixer when i mastering and apollo console easy to use.. S/PDIF outputs can

be set to mirror the monitor outputs,, everything almost complete waiting for

thunderbolt

G. Porro

June 27, 2012

Just Perfect!
It sounds great,
Plugins sounds great!

Thanks UA Team!

A. Brown

June 26, 2012

We're (www.cinephonix.com) Using it for Mastering with the Precision plugs and the awesome Massive Passive EQ. It's a great box and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a straight forward, easy to use, high quality Audio interface. The added bonus is you get to use all the UAD plugs on input with no audible latency.

W. Rock

June 25, 2012

sound good but i have problem when run apollo in 96k ,,,it have no sound out and in at all restart many time but still same nothing......i use drivers 6.2 newest please advice

V. Venkatachalam

June 24, 2012

There is nothing much to say. UAD Apollo offers the best of everything.
Although a MIDI port would have been an added advantage.

L. Makow

June 23, 2012

Great packaging. Easy install tho software version 6.1.1 should be available on the website for those who want to still use UAD1 cards. Setup was painless. Replaced an RME Fireface 800 and tho this is supposedly such a great, purist piece of gear, Apollo simply kicks its ass in every respect: sound, user interface, associated software and most significantly user-friendliness. Build quality and feel is off the charts, every button and switch feels military grade. Sound as audio interface is crystal clear and not hyped in any way. Can pop when you switch it on and off so take appropriate precautions in your power up and down sequencing. Plugging a FireWire 800 drive into the same Mac generated firewire bandwidth warnings.

H. Hauser

June 20, 2012

Finally I can run all my UAD-1 plugs again AND have a real great interface!
Tracking a singer with the EMT 140 and a bit of Neve EQ with NO latency is just amazing and a bonus, no other interface delivers!

Moreover the preamps sound fantastic! I'd say clean but take out the 'harshness' of certain mics.

We use the Apollo on a daily base and didn't have a single issue with dropouts or crashes or anything like that.

Two words: Just great!

A. Carriere

June 18, 2012

This new Apollo is Outstanding ! I upgraded from an Apogee Duet, the sound quality is just amazing, and with the UAD's plug-ins is a whole new level in my home studio. It work great with Logic Pro and Reasons 6. Initially the plug-in did not open in Logic Pro DAW, I email Customer Service and within 1 hours they resolve my problem. Please ensure that you first OPEN Logic Pro in 32 Bits mode so the plug in will install into Logic, then you can go back to 64 bits mode.
I also try the Duet as a stand alone mixer into Apollo line IN 5-6, giving me a total of 6 Mic Preamp or 4 Hi-Z if need it. The sound quality was great. Conclusion, Amazing Sound, more creativity with Plug In, great interface, it expensive but its a great investment

R. Rosas

June 16, 2012

Great preamps! Fantastic software interface. Precise controls.
SPDIF mirroring "Monitor L-R" is a great idea.
One defect: The UAD plugins are not 64bit. I work with Apple Logic Pro 64bit. I need adapters to work with the UAD plugins in 32bit directly into DAW.

Z. Brookes

June 15, 2012

The question is; why wouldn't you buy one of these?
High quality pre's and Duo or Quad UAD accelerator all in one package, for not much more than a Quad accelerator by itself.
It sounds great and the console and console plug-in are great.
A few tweaks in the console for easier plug-in reordering and it'll be pretty much perfect.

C. Conkling

June 12, 2012

The quality of the Interface and DSP processing is amazing. The ability to print the audio with UAD's inserts into Pro Tools is a " Game Changer ". The Console software is like CLASP for DSP. The console has an easy learning curve, but also a few hiccups. However it is version 1.0, and improvements and changes always happen after the first official software release is out of beta and into the consumers hands. Great Product

D. Meieer

June 12, 2012

The unit is of very good audio quality. The combination of UAD software is one of the best available at the moment. It also takes some burden of my small macbook air (hooked up with a sonnet ted thunderbolt/firewire adapter). looking forward to the thunderbolt adapter. It is nice for recording on the go and in the field.
There are options to expand it through ADAT/SPDIF.
I use it also as a small live mixer (small band for electronic music/pop). For this usage it would be nice if the mixer app could be controlled by MIDI / OSC or an iPAD with Lemur or custom software!!
Things to improve for the second generation: As I'm on the pro side: It would be nice if it had a 8-Port AES/EBU built in instead of the ADAT ports.

K. Gorski

June 11, 2012

Apollo delivers as promised as far as audio quality and the near zero latency is concerned. Amazing. Great live recording and mixing infrastructure. The one difference between Apollo Quad and the UAD-2 Quad Firewire I noticed is that as it uses some resources to run that mixer it means that if you take a heavy UAD-2 quad session that hits almost 100% of its capacity you will not be able to run it on the Apollo. Something to keep in mind. You can always print a track and release those plug ins so in the end it doesn't seem like a big problem to me. If you are planning to hook up an Audio or Sample Library drive behind Apollo just as advertised AND use most of Apollo's resources you might run into the FW bandwidth limitations. Great Machine.

C. Visser

June 10, 2012

Excellent interface with very nice preamps.
The frontpanel controls and metering are excellent.
Very sturdy overall build quality.
Control of the console/unit by a plugin in the DAW together with Total Recall is very nice.

Even though midi would have been nice, I don't really miss it. Would still be nice to see it being added to the Thunderbolt option card if technically possible.

Only disappointing things are:
The 4 preamps can't be used simultaneous with the first 4 line inputs.
Line level selection (-10 dBV/+4dBu) always works in pairs.
The voucher for UAD plugins is only $100.

D. Mills

June 9, 2012

Very pleased. I upgraded from an rme ff800 and I am pleased I did. This is a great unit and sounds very nice. I welcome uad updating the routing possibilities like rme use but for version one it is more than adequate.

B. Bonner

June 8, 2012

I LOVE IT!
Apollo is by far the best investment that I have made for my studio. It sounds AMAZING. The Console app. is very intuitive and integrates well in the DAW. Apollo is a very powerful piece of gear that I can no longer live without.
Thank You UA.

J. Jung

June 7, 2012

Made me become a better musician because of all the clarity you can hear all mistakes clearly. Amazing depth and clarity. I used Digi 002 for years and it felt like taking cotton out of my ears.

R. Adame

June 7, 2012

the apollo is a fantastic interface very analog sounding the preamps are very nice i have a focusrite preamps that sound fantastic but this preamps are in the same level i woud say they sound very analog and the converters are magnificent they remind me of the lucid converter beutiful low end and cristal midrange and higs no need to talk about the plug ins everybody knows they are the best thank universal audio for beliving in home recording musicians now you can record and have the same quiality audio the big recording studios .

E. Devalk

June 6, 2012

The Apollo is everything you need to upgrade a home studio to next level sonically. The preamps are clean and have tons of gain. The low latency monitoring is unbelievable, the console app is easy to use. I'm currently running with a 2009 Nehlam Mac Pro on OSX Lion 10.7.3 and the drivers have been perfectly stable with both Logic and Pro Tools 10. I couldn't be happier with it!

B. Buckley

June 2, 2012

Absolutely amazing interface, best ive used and the features are perfect for the home studio. It simple, intuitive and works just as shown in all videos. Definitely will amp up all your tracks, having any doubts on the PERFECT interface. Dont think any further, this is the one for you. Thanks Team Universal Audio.

721-740 of 780 Results