Apollo FireWire

Apollo FireWire

Customer Reviews

Apollo FireWire

Overall Rating

101-120 of 791 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Cohn

December 26, 2017

Not perfect but excellent for what it can do

The strength of the Apollo is generally due to its Unison technology capability. To my ear it also has clean and clear sound from the outputs and preamps, very pleasant. I also was very happy with the headphone amps though I haven't had experience with higher end headphone preamps so cant compare.

Its not a perfect interface though, and to my mind based on a couple of important gripes it doesn't currently deserve a 5 star rating:

1) Crashes/Out of PGM memory, with certain plugins: I own both the Apollo Firewire Duo and the Octo PCIe card. I use Windows 7 and generally have a smooth running system. In Console 2.0 unfortunately there are certain key plugins that can only be loaded once and once they are loaded they prevent me using others. For example Lexicon 244, once loaded into an insert slot in Console, will crash my EMT250 and other reverbs from loading after it. I get error message 'out of program memory/dsp'. This is of course absurd as I haven't even maxed out DUO dsp, let alone my beefy Octo. Same with Oceanway though that room reverb modeler is littered with problems as it is. This naturally makes me recoil from wanting to use Console and just stick to using inserts in my DAW. Not a good thing when I cant get my workflow to work for me. Bugs need to be fixed and never seem to be with my problematic UAD plugins. Now Console 2.0 errors too.

2) Clunky disorganised Console interface: Apart from the fairly ugly interface which doesnt have modern look and feels decidedly old and slow, I cant filter plugins owned or filter out plugins I do not wish to have displayed. This is a surprisingly annoying bother which makes it a tiring and unnecessary flow stopper to have to browse their menus to try find my plugin. Would be a great start to have the option to remove plugins I do not own so I can focus on what I want, not what they want to try sell.

3) Main Volume dial increments not fine enough: Trying to optimise my listening levels using the main volume dial is frustrating as the dial clicks between levels which are crude and not fine enough - so if its slightly too soft, the next click is way too loud. Really disappointing and requires the use of an external passive volume attenuater if I want smooth and fine volume gradations.

I hope this review is helpful mainly for UAD to see what is stopping them from having a top notch product. Hopefully its been helpful for those sitting on the fence. As much as we all want UAD to do well, they seem to be behind certain curves considering the money the charge and likely have to allocate towards fixing longstanding issues

j. corbin

November 10, 2017

Major Upgrade!

First I got the pcie quad card. From that moment on I knew I had to get some Universal Audio hardware. Totally awesome. And the engl unison amps sound great for metal. A lot of plugins and other devices can do rock but fall short when it comes to metal. I play metal more than any other style, and this setup makes my shred/thrash/C-standard songs kick a**!!!!!!

R. De Los Santos

November 6, 2017

What a great piece of Gear

Very happy with my recent purchase of the Apollo Firewire PC. I was hesitant because of some of the issues I read about with the firewire card. I had no problems at all and the unit is up and running great. Excellent preamps and a nice clean, full sound. Couldn't be more satisfied. My only negative issue is I wish they would give you a little more time to demo the plugins. Otherwise, buy this unit if you want a great sounding interface.

G. Huber

October 31, 2017

The gretest Audiointerface I ever had bevor

Before i worked with Focusrite..... If i have known this quality before ....!
I am very happy with my Apollo, i never will work with another Product.

Sorry for my bad english, i hope you understand what i mean.

R. DEWINDT

October 20, 2017

Amazing sounding interface.

sounds amazing, great investment.

R. DEWINDT

October 20, 2017

Amazing sounding interface.

sounds amazing, great investment.

D. Bailey

October 19, 2017

Apollo Firewire 8

I have been hearing a lot positive things about the apollo, but could not afford it at the time,
I recently purchased it and was pleasantly surprised about the sound quality and especially the mic pre and the other bundled software,
I definitely will be getting some of my favorite plugins before the end to the year. by the way I love the console application.
Thumbs up UAD

L. Schioler

October 15, 2017

No. 2 in my setup

Works flawlessly as channel 9-16. Been using a SaffirePro as an ADAT extension, but had issues with clicks and the like. The second Apollo just works, and I have not spent a second on problems of that kind, since my purchase.
Sound quality already known and loved :-)
Totally recommendable....

UAD User

October 12, 2017

Almost a giant leap forward for work flow, but not quite.

I've been using the Apollo Firewire Duo for some time now. It's the first time I'm able to fully integrate my studio and with intuitive workflow. I love the concept/setup/usability.
But, my advice to prospective users:
1. Get ready to feel a bit second rate as a Windows/Firewire user.
2. Most importantly, DO NOT BUY THE DUO!! I was shocked to find how utterly under powered it is. It's not too bad for running a bunch of simple compressor's or EQ's. It will only run 1...yes 1 big plugin like the AKG BX20 Springverb. Great plugin, can barely ever use it. Very frustrating.
And considering there has never been a promotion simply for the Satellite uprade, you'll be paying full price in the near future just to load some very nice, but already expensive plugins. More often than not, I'm having to revert to my Sonnox, Waves etc reverbs on my very affordable 8 (@3.7GHz) Intel cores. Food for thought.

M. Potoczek

October 2, 2017

Good conversion, bad workflow

We can all agree that the sound quality is very good but to reach it and work efficiently was very hard for me. First thing, while working on FL Studio you get massive latency using UAD plugins, you have to diable automatic latency compensation for each channel, enable it again and turn ALC on again for the calculation to be done accuratley and do the same thing while adding new sampler or UAD plugin. Next thing, manual says that 1-4 inputs while set to "mic" must use XLR plug, the "line" setting requirest TRS plug yet there are no TRS inputs in 1-4, am I missing something? I was trying to put in a signal from my mic path condenser mic -> preamp -> compressor and I cannot do it in any way, connecting it to any of 5^ inputs is resulting in no input signal. I must use "mic" option and get overdriven signal or sell a preamp that i really like. I dont understand why not to use combo inputs and do all that plug differentiation. I will need to put an extra efford to be working on it with speed. If you are looking for plug and play type of interface, you may forget about Apollo.

M. Potoczek

October 2, 2017

Good conversion, bad workflow

We can all agree that the sound quality is very good but to reach it and work efficiently was very hard for me. First thing, while working on FL Studio you get massive latency using UAD plugins, you have to diable automatic latency compensation for each channel, enable it again and turn ALC on again for the calculation to be done accuratley and do the same thing while adding new sampler or UAD plugin. Next thing, manual says that 1-4 inputs while set to "mic" must use XLR plug, the "line" setting requirest TRS plug yet there are no TRS inputs in 1-4, am I missing something? I was trying to put in a signal from my mic path condenser mic -> preamp -> compressor and I cannot do it in any way, connecting it to any of 5^ inputs is resulting in no input signal. I must use "mic" option and get overdriven signal or sell a preamp that i really like. I dont understand why not to use combo inputs and do all that plug differentiation. I will need to put an extra efford to be working on it with speed. If you are looking for plug and play type of interface, you may forget about Apollo.

M. Turner

September 26, 2017

SO SIMPLE!

I changed from a ProTools native card and Lynx Aurora 16 LT-HD and the ease of doing so was unbelievable! All I did was plug it in and connect the FW cable. registration, updating and integration just HAPPENED. I don't recall ever changing interfaces and not having to do anything other than open a session and be pretty much ready to go. The whole process took minutes. SPECTACULAR! The Plug ins? What can I say, I feel a little guilty at how easy it is to get great sounds very quickly. Have yet to find one I don't love!

S. Lee

September 20, 2017

I LOVE IT. There is no need for words

I LOVE IT. no need for words.
But you need improvement to compatibility for Windows.

f. salvadeo

September 14, 2017

stunning!

Apollo change dramatically how i listen to my mixes... i'm now able to hear all the details due to pristine conversion! and uad plugin in unison are amazing!

J. Pepke

September 7, 2017

Best Gear Purchase Ever

I was between the UAD Apollo and the Antelope Orion, after hearing some negative reviews on the Orion about customer service and software bugs vs nothing but positive review for the Apollo the choice was obvious. Now that I've had a few weeks to use it, it has exceeded my expectations in sound quality, features, and plug-ins. I'm 100% happy with it.

d. Lee

September 1, 2017

apollo is wonderful thing!

unison preamp is save my money

UAD User

August 27, 2017

Step up to pro level

So amazing!!! Recording with the 1073 and 610 is worth the price of admission alone.

J. Reed

July 29, 2017

I Love It !!

Great Addition to my Home Studio !!Firewire with OCTO Accelerator Care is Flawless !!

J. Reed

July 29, 2017

Apollo firewire

Love it it fits right in my Home Studio ,I also use the OCTO Accelerator Card , Along with 4 keyboards and a Les Paul The 38 Plug-in System is a DREAM COME TRUE !! With an Intell 6 core CPU ,64 GB Rams and 8 Hard Drives ,ANYTHING and EVERYTHING is Possible It Works Fantastic on Software and Hardware Sounds from My Integra-7 . There ARE NO LIMITS !! GREAT JOB Universal Audio . The World of Sound is mine with Ocean Way Studio Plug-in . Great Time to buy too !! BEST Bargain $$$ can Buy for Home Studio Thanks !!

i. Keszeg

July 20, 2017

It is finished!

I love the Apollo hardware...sounds amazing! It's exactly what I was looking for when it comes to sound quality, controls, number of I/O and integrated plug-ins. The plug-ins are high quality and can be run while tracking in the Apollo mixer with no latency. Thank you UA!

101-120 of 791 Results