Apollo FireWire

Apollo FireWire

Customer Reviews

Apollo FireWire

Overall Rating

141-160 of 780 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Ickinger

November 23, 2016

Amazing!

It is the still the Best Interface on the market!
I am a Guitarplayer, Producer and Songwriter, and love all the features, routings and plugins!

Buy it and have fun :-)

M. Lleshieshi

November 16, 2016

problem with uad plugin on cubase 8.5

the uad plugins work very fin in the console, but the are disable when I try to open in cubase insert, every time I try there is the same message ( one or more uad plugins have been disable, pleas contact universal audio customer support if the issue persists, or click send to transmit an issue report to UA

C. Holford

October 27, 2016

Game-changing interface

Having worked with many different interfaces over my almost 20 years as a Pro Tools user, I can say that the Apollo Quad Firewire is pretty much as good as it gets in terms of flexibility and audio quality, and completely in a class by itself for its unbelievable plugin integration. Previously I had been using a Focusrite interface, and I actually think they're a great value for the money and also the Mixcontrol software gives tons of great options - and if I had one complaint about the Apollo it would be that there's some features from Mixcontrol that I miss - I'm eagerly awaiting the release of Console 2 for firewire devices, as I'm sure are many. Other than that I'm having a great time so far learning by using the awesomeness of Apollo's Unison pres, routing flexibility, and of course the amazing plugins. For my daily edit/mix workload and my music recording and mastering, I can't imagine a better value for the money, and I can already see that the Apollo transcends the title of audio interface - it also has the potential to be a deep and expressive creative tool for musicians and audio professionals. Thanks, UA!

M. Cameron

October 23, 2016

Not very versatile to upgrade system, poor service

I've been using this interface for 10 months and have run into difficulty upgrading my UAD system. FireWire drivers won't allow for more then 1 satellite. I wanted to get a usb3 octo but would not be able to unless I got rid of my Apollo FireWire and satellite.
I also got a free promotional quad satellite with the purchase of this unit but it took over 9 weeks to receive. My name was left off the list for shipping these promo quad satellites. I called a few times asking when I would be receiving it and was told to be patient. Eventually they realized they never put me on the list to receive one!
The Apollo does perform well and has exceeded my expectations.
Recently I have found customer service poor and insulting. buyers remorse!!

UAD User

October 22, 2016

Wonderful!

Wish the thunderbolt ones were available to work with my thinkpad, but im very happy with this for now! looking to expand later instead of investing in more analog gear

UAD User

August 5, 2016

Amazing for Guitarists

I've just finished my first project with the Apollo and I have to say it's a significant upgrade.
As a recording guitarist (the project was Guitar Techniques Magazine audio) I found the guitar plugins particularly useful. The way they integrate with the Hi-Z input provides a very authentic feel and sound and as I use Fender and Marshall amps I felt right at home with the models available. The onboard preamps sound great and I found the integrated mic pre models particularly useful for adding a variety to the recordings. I use a pair of SE Titan mics for recording acoustic guitars and the API mic pres are very flattering. For lead work the UA 610 model added lots of beef and juice and again were very useable. A great piece of kit !

p. gaucher

July 22, 2016

Très bon produit

Cela fait un moment que j'envisageais cet achat mais attendais pour cela un nouveau projet de réalisation d'album. Et j'avoue que je ne suis pas décu, le bond en avant au niveau qualitatif est sans discussion par rapport à mon ancienne DIGI03 qui me servait jusqu'ici de carte son. Cette nouvelle ergonomie de travail qui consiste à avoir une "table" d'acquisition (en passant par du hardware "virtuel") bouscule un peu mes habitudes de travail mais j'ai vite senti toutes les possibilités que cela offre, à commencer par mettre maintenant beaucoup moins de plugs en étape mix pour corriger le son vu qu'il est maintenant optimisé à la prise !
Ne me reste plus qu'à faire le bon choix de quelques plugs additionnels afin de ne pas exploser mon budget

D. Hughes

July 14, 2016

FIREWIRE ISSUES.

Let me first off start by saying i have literally 2 apollo twins and a apollo 8 thunderbolt. I LOVE THEM.

i bought the firewire for my other studio because my computer was a Mac Pro 2011 and it only has firewire and i love the UAD plugins so its a win win.
The night i unpacked my apollo i was stoked because i knew what i was about to get myself into,
I can make this post way quicker by saying.. the firewire is no where nearly as good as the thunderbolt models the interface graphics and the way it looks sucks compared to the apollo model.
the firewire has lots of issues different authorization issues that like are just not like right.

D. Hughes

July 14, 2016

FIREWIRE ISSUES.

Let me first off start by saying i have literally 2 apollo twins and a apollo 8 thunderbolt. I LOVE THEM.

i bought the firewire for my other studio because my computer was a Mac Pro 2011 and it only has firewire and i love the UAD plugins so its a win win.
The night i unpacked my apollo i was stoked because i knew what i was about to get myself into,
I can make this post way quicker by saying.. the firewire is no where nearly as good as the thunderbolt models the interface graphics and the way it looks sucks compared to the apollo model.
the firewire has lots of issues different authorization issues that like are just not like right.

D. Hughes

July 14, 2016

FIREWIRE ISSUES.

Let me first off start by saying i have literally 2 apollo twins and a apollo 8 thunderbolt. I LOVE THEM.

i bought the firewire for my other studio because my computer was a Mac Pro 2011 and it only has firewire and i love the UAD plugins so its a win win.
The night i unpacked my apollo i was stoked because i knew what i was about to get myself into,
I can make this post way quicker by saying.. the firewire is no where nearly as good as the thunderbolt models the interface graphics and the way it looks sucks compared to the apollo model.
the firewire has lots of issues different authorization issues that like are just not like right.

D. Hughes

July 14, 2016

FIREWIRE ISSUES.

Let me first off start by saying i have literally 2 apollo twins and a apollo 8 thunderbolt. I LOVE THEM.

i bought the firewire for my other studio because my computer was a Mac Pro 2011 and it only has firewire and i love the UAD plugins so its a win win.
The night i unpacked my apollo i was stoked because i knew what i was about to get myself into,
I can make this post way quicker by saying.. the firewire is no where nearly as good as the thunderbolt models the interface graphics and the way it looks sucks compared to the apollo model.
the firewire has lots of issues different authorization issues that like are just not like right.

D. Pasalic

July 14, 2016

..now I can hear dead frequencies

I never thought it constituting it as a difference !
I had previously run a RME FF 400 and was satisfied ....until I have worked with apollo this change all for me..
I don't wont to make the other product bad RMS is certainly one of the top manufactur but now I know there 're some better on the market ;-)
best investigation I ever made..

UAD User

June 10, 2016

No compromise!

After having used various other USB/Firewire audio interfaces, I finally decided to get an Apollo 8 Quad Firewire. I am using an iMac with OSX Yosemite. Plugged in the interface, downloaded the software accordingly, and within minutes the system was ready to go.

The selection of UAD plug-ins offer nearly perfect emulations of their analog/digital real-world archetypes. For sure, the hardware as well as the plug-ins cost a dime, but they are the result of state-of-the-art and extremely thorough engineering, which, in my opinion, is seldomly reached by other manufacturers. And most importantly: they just work. The software works as stable as can be: no crashes, no unexpected behaviour, nothing strange going on here. Worth every dime.

g. evaro

June 6, 2016

Gene Evaro

i have recently upgraded my entire studio with UA ( plugins,apollo 2 quad etc..) everything is "amazing" without a doubt UA is by far the best..!!!! 10 star rating..!!!
thank you
G.E.

S. Hammel

May 5, 2016

Almost there

I've spent a year with the Apollo and UA. I'm stuck with the Apollo Quad, and a wonky PCI-e UA card setup. LOVE THE SOUND. If rating only on sound I'd give it 6 stars. Love recording too, I'd give it even more stars. However, making stuff on this in Windows with Adobe CS 6 is a job for a mad scientist. I've begged UA to help me get CS 6 to edit / playback smoothly with this device for over a year. I had to buy the PCI-e card (only a duo), witch plays great, but I have to keep swapping wires cards to work. Also, if the design were altered to allow the plugs to turn off when the play head is not near them, one could get more out of the PCI-e card, as is....need to save for OCTO to get really crazy with this. HELP ME UA! PLEASE!

f. castillo

March 15, 2016

Pro sound and capable!!!

I'm extremely proud of my Apollo. I've had it for 2 years now and not a problem. Sound is very warm, big, open/wide. I've read some bad reviews, but like any other piece of gear along with an engineer don't fight your gear and it wont fight you. I can get the same sound on this thing as any other piece of gear claimed to be better. At a great price you get maybe more than what you should expect. If you want an alternative monitor then go get the gear, but dont blame UA for not giving you a fullblown studio setup for a more than fair price, you have to be realistic. I'm an SSL guy who loves this integrated into my setup proudly. I've upgraded my studio many times and will probably upgrade more in the future. Thank You

f. castillo

March 15, 2016

Pro sound and capable!!!

I'm extremely proud of my Apollo. I've had it for 2 years now and not a problem. Sound is very warm, big, open/wide. I've read some bad reviews, but like any other piece of gear along with an engineer don't fight your gear and it wont fight you. I can get the same sound on this thing as any other piece of gear claimed to be better. At a great price you get maybe more than what you should expect. If you want an alternative monitor then go get the gear, but dont blame UA for not giving you a fullblown studio setup for a more than fair price, you have to be realistic. I'm an SSL guy who loves this integrated into my setup proudly. I've upgraded my studio many times and will probably upgrade more in the future. Thank You

K. Gal

March 7, 2016

Almost perfect

Evrything is great in this compact unit, but for me needs MIDI.

S. Misseghers

March 3, 2016

best buy of 2015/16 but still room for improvement.

I came from an old DIGI 003 Rack running PT 10 on a Mac Pro 2.4 GHz intel core i7 8Gb.
Needless to say that switching to an Apollo Quad chained to a 4-710d MPA and 2 UAD-2 satellites was a major approvement as far as acceleration/plugins quality/I/O/etc. was concerned.
But, because my Mac dates back to the pre-Tbolt era, I had to get the older firewire version with the extra 500$ Tbolt slot, so that when switching over to a new Mac in the near future, I didn't have to bin the old apollo altogether.

So, a couple of Q's though:

- Will Firewire users EVER be able to get onto Console 2.0 ?
- When releasing a HW update of an immensely popular product, why don't they make 'em both Firewire AND Thunderbolt without having to pay the extra 500$?

M. Pfister

March 1, 2016

apollo

Awesome ok interface. Nice conversion. Nice I/O . Zero latency monitoring with uad plugins is great as well.

141-160 of 780 Results