Apollo FireWire

Apollo FireWire

Customer Reviews

Apollo FireWire

Overall Rating

161-180 of 791 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

D. Hughes

July 14, 2016

FIREWIRE ISSUES.

Let me first off start by saying i have literally 2 apollo twins and a apollo 8 thunderbolt. I LOVE THEM.

i bought the firewire for my other studio because my computer was a Mac Pro 2011 and it only has firewire and i love the UAD plugins so its a win win.
The night i unpacked my apollo i was stoked because i knew what i was about to get myself into,
I can make this post way quicker by saying.. the firewire is no where nearly as good as the thunderbolt models the interface graphics and the way it looks sucks compared to the apollo model.
the firewire has lots of issues different authorization issues that like are just not like right.

D. Hughes

July 14, 2016

FIREWIRE ISSUES.

Let me first off start by saying i have literally 2 apollo twins and a apollo 8 thunderbolt. I LOVE THEM.

i bought the firewire for my other studio because my computer was a Mac Pro 2011 and it only has firewire and i love the UAD plugins so its a win win.
The night i unpacked my apollo i was stoked because i knew what i was about to get myself into,
I can make this post way quicker by saying.. the firewire is no where nearly as good as the thunderbolt models the interface graphics and the way it looks sucks compared to the apollo model.
the firewire has lots of issues different authorization issues that like are just not like right.

D. Pasalic

July 14, 2016

..now I can hear dead frequencies

I never thought it constituting it as a difference !
I had previously run a RME FF 400 and was satisfied ....until I have worked with apollo this change all for me..
I don't wont to make the other product bad RMS is certainly one of the top manufactur but now I know there 're some better on the market ;-)
best investigation I ever made..

UAD User

June 10, 2016

No compromise!

After having used various other USB/Firewire audio interfaces, I finally decided to get an Apollo 8 Quad Firewire. I am using an iMac with OSX Yosemite. Plugged in the interface, downloaded the software accordingly, and within minutes the system was ready to go.

The selection of UAD plug-ins offer nearly perfect emulations of their analog/digital real-world archetypes. For sure, the hardware as well as the plug-ins cost a dime, but they are the result of state-of-the-art and extremely thorough engineering, which, in my opinion, is seldomly reached by other manufacturers. And most importantly: they just work. The software works as stable as can be: no crashes, no unexpected behaviour, nothing strange going on here. Worth every dime.

g. evaro

June 6, 2016

Gene Evaro

i have recently upgraded my entire studio with UA ( plugins,apollo 2 quad etc..) everything is "amazing" without a doubt UA is by far the best..!!!! 10 star rating..!!!
thank you
G.E.

S. Hammel

May 5, 2016

Almost there

I've spent a year with the Apollo and UA. I'm stuck with the Apollo Quad, and a wonky PCI-e UA card setup. LOVE THE SOUND. If rating only on sound I'd give it 6 stars. Love recording too, I'd give it even more stars. However, making stuff on this in Windows with Adobe CS 6 is a job for a mad scientist. I've begged UA to help me get CS 6 to edit / playback smoothly with this device for over a year. I had to buy the PCI-e card (only a duo), witch plays great, but I have to keep swapping wires cards to work. Also, if the design were altered to allow the plugs to turn off when the play head is not near them, one could get more out of the PCI-e card, as is....need to save for OCTO to get really crazy with this. HELP ME UA! PLEASE!

f. castillo

March 15, 2016

Pro sound and capable!!!

I'm extremely proud of my Apollo. I've had it for 2 years now and not a problem. Sound is very warm, big, open/wide. I've read some bad reviews, but like any other piece of gear along with an engineer don't fight your gear and it wont fight you. I can get the same sound on this thing as any other piece of gear claimed to be better. At a great price you get maybe more than what you should expect. If you want an alternative monitor then go get the gear, but dont blame UA for not giving you a fullblown studio setup for a more than fair price, you have to be realistic. I'm an SSL guy who loves this integrated into my setup proudly. I've upgraded my studio many times and will probably upgrade more in the future. Thank You

f. castillo

March 15, 2016

Pro sound and capable!!!

I'm extremely proud of my Apollo. I've had it for 2 years now and not a problem. Sound is very warm, big, open/wide. I've read some bad reviews, but like any other piece of gear along with an engineer don't fight your gear and it wont fight you. I can get the same sound on this thing as any other piece of gear claimed to be better. At a great price you get maybe more than what you should expect. If you want an alternative monitor then go get the gear, but dont blame UA for not giving you a fullblown studio setup for a more than fair price, you have to be realistic. I'm an SSL guy who loves this integrated into my setup proudly. I've upgraded my studio many times and will probably upgrade more in the future. Thank You

K. Gal

March 7, 2016

Almost perfect

Evrything is great in this compact unit, but for me needs MIDI.

S. Misseghers

March 3, 2016

best buy of 2015/16 but still room for improvement.

I came from an old DIGI 003 Rack running PT 10 on a Mac Pro 2.4 GHz intel core i7 8Gb.
Needless to say that switching to an Apollo Quad chained to a 4-710d MPA and 2 UAD-2 satellites was a major approvement as far as acceleration/plugins quality/I/O/etc. was concerned.
But, because my Mac dates back to the pre-Tbolt era, I had to get the older firewire version with the extra 500$ Tbolt slot, so that when switching over to a new Mac in the near future, I didn't have to bin the old apollo altogether.

So, a couple of Q's though:

- Will Firewire users EVER be able to get onto Console 2.0 ?
- When releasing a HW update of an immensely popular product, why don't they make 'em both Firewire AND Thunderbolt without having to pay the extra 500$?

M. Pfister

March 1, 2016

apollo

Awesome ok interface. Nice conversion. Nice I/O . Zero latency monitoring with uad plugins is great as well.

S. Kastanis

February 28, 2016

Great piece of gear!

I am very satisfied with the sound quality of the Apollo. Unison technology is also a great tool.

UAD User

February 23, 2016

From Apogee to Apollo

Before working with Apogee Ensemble and did not taste that does not update the drivers (a policy to sell more but they will go wrong because people want quality products and do not stop lying) for the new mac a friend recommended UAD Apollo and I'm really happy with the quality of Apogee sound better and even PC Drivers hopefully UAD follow and update the Drivers and not to leave anyone hanging both Mac and PC.

G. Williamson

February 17, 2016

A step up!

I should probably wait to write a review, I've only had it 4 days, but, here are my initial impressions. Sound quality: a huge step up from my previous interface(Scarlett 18i20), stereo field is much clearer, and wider. You can actually clearly hear your panning moves now. Old interface, it was kind of mush. This, in particular, makes it much easier to mix.

Build quality is stellar, aside from the front panel knobs, which could be a little more robust?

Plugins? I've demoed quite a few. They are a step above as well! I have like 42 days left to pick my plugs(I sprung for the any 3 for $399 deal). I'm pretty sure which ones I'm getting(Ocean Way for sure!), but I'm going to take my time to pick.

Overall, pleased with the FW Apollo!

C. Perez Iserte

January 31, 2016

Solidly built, is fantastic.

There is nothing better than UAD APOLLO. Plugins are great too.
I have to say that sound quality is absolutely a giant step forward.

I just purchased a UA Apollo. Of course the first thing we do when we get a new interface is listen to all our mixes done with the old hardware. Well, I was blown away at the clarity & detail the Apollo brought to my system & I was coming from an RME Fireface 400 that I was really happy with.
But the Apollo just really opened up the top end, added an extra level or definition to the midrange.

The front panel is very clean and organized well.

Complete!!!!
Cons:
Would have loved to have seen more "Free" UAD plugins, considering the price.
No midi!

ONLY profesional sound!
Thanks

H. Bullivant

January 30, 2016

its got to feel right

had Apollo 3 weeks now, and been using it on mix sessions from day 1,

thoughts, in 25 years of recording and mixing I have become very used to the way certain bits of analogue gear effects the sound going through them… at times its almost undefinable, just a feel thing, (like working on ADAT never ever felt right)

so using the UA plugins on a mix, I get the same feeling that the nuance of the plugins is right, not only the same one’s I would use for a conventional record/mix but also trying things I never used, or would never normally.

the last piece of ’New’ equipment I purchased was a Distressor back in 2001, I get mostly old gear like my Altec 1592A, so the best thing I can say about this is, I liked it, so I bought it… head :)

D. Craig

January 14, 2016

The Pres are Incredible!

Just compared the Neve emulation (in demo) to a Vintech 573 and look they are extremely similar! Its great that they still have the same features like low cut/48v/linking etc

UAD User

January 10, 2016

This is high quality

One of the easiest interfaces to setup up, great pre amps.

Top of the line plugins. This is high quality

D. Williams

January 9, 2016

Everything you would expect.

I finally upgraded from a MOTU 828mk3 Hybrid to an Apollo UAD-2 Quad and it is everything I expected. The 828 product is a capable piece of gear but the AD/DA and preamp quality is inferior to the Apollo although the MOTU includes an oscilloscope, spectrograph, phase alignment tool and tuner in addition to a console app. I hope UA offers these in the near future. The main draw to Apollo for me is the DSP. I have many great native plug-ins but my quad core MBP would buckle and choke during mixing and couldn't get the job done. Now by adding the UAD-2 Quad and just a couple of UA plug-ins my mix quality has gone way up and my sessions run smoothly and efficiently without hang-ups, crashes, latency and other problems of a taxed system.

D. Flores

January 7, 2016

Wish it worked better for me...

I know most people are on macs & thunderbolt but the Windows support with the apollo is terrible... I've been having nothing but problems running with firewire. I've been a long time UAD customer and fan, and finally was able to get my hands on an Apollo, only to have nothing but problems... really hope I can find a fix for all the issues I'm having then I will come back and update my review!

161-180 of 791 Results