Brainworx bx_refinement

Brainworx bx_refinement

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Brainworx bx_refinement

Overall Rating

81-100 of 131 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Leary

December 23, 2015

Good plugin for reducing harshness

I find the brainworx bx_refinement pretty much does what it says, it does take the edge off of a harsh mix very well. I demo'd this plugin from UAD years ago and was happy with it, but couldn't afford full price at the time. Picked it up just recently when it was on sale.

It needs to be used lightly, in my opinion, as heavy use of the settings will likely dull your mix too much, but for a gentle reduction of harshness in a mix that is too harsh, this plugin is a great tool to have in your arsenal, and will take the harsh edge off a mix or even a single track. Highly recommended!

D. Caruso

December 22, 2015

Dave C

This Plug-in works great for taming harshness of say digital drums and other unwanted artifacts. Can be used in the mastering stage if harshness or high end excess, this thing tames it perfectly. On sale it was a steal. Does not take up much resources so I'm very happy with it and its price. Good job UAD.

M. Mohata

December 19, 2015

Very pleasing to ears!

Just purchased it due to Dec special prices from UAD. Starting to love it right away-I think the name refinement pluggin is very appropriate. It takes away the harshness on the track and brings magic in a v musical and pleasing way that I could not get with any other pluggin. Must try it!

O. Hild

December 15, 2015

Top down on Drums

Haven't gotten to really run the full paces on this thing yet on full mixes but can attest it definitely (when used tastefully!) can enhance a full mix by dynamically sucking out nasty upper-mid frequencies that "knock" on your ear drum. Too much and you can make your mix sound like a pillow. The right amount can class up a mix though.

But... on a drum submix... wow! I have been using it on my drum buss in a 'top down' method where I put it as the first insert on the chain and run it together with as much other processing as I think i will need on the drum buss (compression, tape emu, eq, etc...) and start shaping the drum mix with that in broad strokes. Then, tweak individual channels. Really cleans up the overheads and snare especially!!

F. Baumer

December 12, 2015

nice thing

The Brainworx bx-Plug-In is a nice tool for mastering. The bx soften up all the sharp high frequencies. I like it.

T. Urban

November 30, 2015

Very warm, clean, and easy to use

I tried this plugin after receiving an email to use it. Since then, I purchased it. The idea is simple, lose harshness and warm up mixes or tracks with ease. I found the oscillator part of this plugin to be really nice. I can actually see myself using this on an individual track as an effect, instead of using it just on a mastering session.

FYI, my tutorial on this plugin is below.

https://youtu.be/OCRls6N1hIU

The Native and UAD are both the same. I went the native route only since I couldn't afford to give up DSP at this point. Otherwise, I almost always will go the UAD route.

UAD User

November 26, 2015

Payed Friday 20 November, 2015 - 179,- Euros

Todays Price is 79,- Euros. That's not fine, dear Universal Audio Guys. Sorry, I feel very frustrated, cause 100 Euros are much money for me & my homestudio. Through your pricingpolicy the plug-in takes more than 50 percent less value within 6 days. Before I continue purchases, I'll think about whether I buy in the future at UAD.
Greetings from Austria...

P. Jelfs

September 7, 2015

one of a kind

When your mix is just how you want it, but the harsh brightness needs taken back without ruining everything - this is perfect :)

M. Ballenger

July 23, 2015

Awesome unique tool that does something special

There really isn't a comparable plugin. The description may make it seem like it acts like a deesser focused on the harsh upper mids, but there is more to it. This fall into the category of secret weapon plugins. I use it more for mixing than the intended mastering purposes. It's wonderful on distorted guitars and has replaced the deesser at 4kHz technique for me in that application. I get much more natural and pleasing results with this. You just have to try the demo and you'll see it's a must have tool.

P. Helsdon

July 23, 2015

Best Tool (in my box) Ever

After dropping this in on an acoustic drum mix I was sold. I bought the plugin the same day and have been using it retroactively, by applying it to old finished recordings just to experience the joy of plopping this guy in. I used to rely on the 1176 and tube processors and in recent years the A800 (which is no slouch either), but there is a hollow bell type frequency band that the RT smooths out in seconds. It seems barely noticeable at first until you hit bypass. - talking drums here

The controls are quite simple and the effect very subtle, so it is very hard to screw up and regret your settings months later.
Tape compression and tubes (bells and whistles) are really not even necessary for a nice phat warm drum bus.
Next up: Orchestra

T. Rushent

June 28, 2015

Still playing with it but no one else does something like this!

It's a little bit of magic. There are a few plug-ins where you think - yeah - this really is special. I think this is one of those.

T. Rushent

June 28, 2015

Still playing with it but no one else does something like this!

It's a little bit of magic. There are a few plug-ins where you think - yeah - this really is special. I think this is one of those.

T. GILCHRIST

April 20, 2015

THE PERFECT SOLUTION

Just purchased mid-way thru a mastering session. I demo'ed , purchased then re- mastered everything i've done so far in this project. This is the perfect solution to harshness in a mix . It just works . This is my new go to plug-in, AMAZING !!!!!

T. GILCHRIST

April 20, 2015

THE PERFECT SOLUTION

Just purchased mid-way thru a mastering session. I demo'ed , purchased then re- mastered everything i've done so far in this project. This is the perfect solution to harshness in a mix . It just works . This is my new go to plug-in, AMAZING !!!!!

P. Brookes

February 13, 2015

Pleasantly surprised

I originally bought this to solve a particular problem in a mix - which it did very nicely.
However, I have since used this on all kind of sources in my mixes and find it to be a very useful tool for taking the edge off things. I find it to be a great tool to have around.

D. Gilkinson

January 22, 2015

That Final "Oh! Yes!" Touch

The Brainworx bx_refinement Plug-In provides a simple and effective way to add that final touch many of my mixes have been missing. I work mostly with acoustic music (singer/songwriters, Bluegrass, some Swing). Customers ask for a - smooth sound or a 'vinyl' sound. They don't usually want a bright or 'edgy' sound. This plug-in, while subtle, makes a difference that makes them smile and say, "Oh! Yes!" that's what I was looking for. Great tool and easy to use.

A. Weiss

January 17, 2015

Dismiss digital harsh

The only plugin I know which makes this kind of a job. And it does it good (but real gooood...!) and naturally.

D. Zannoni

January 16, 2015

Indispensable for Mastering

I use this guy on all my Masters !
It is a little friends, remove the annoying hardness of the tracks.
Initially may seem insignificant but if you make bypass, at the end of process of mastering, you will find the great job !

Only 4 star instead of 5 because all Brainworx plugins, when there are discount, offer little discount compared of other brand.

J. Rice

January 13, 2015

the cherry on top

this is nice for dialing out the digital harshness on the master. a bit pricey IMO, but i'm definitely glad i picked it up. nice interface, simple to use & adjust various parameters

C. Tamas

December 12, 2014

Brainworx bx_refinement Plug-In

really impressed plugin, and understandable and it works as beauty

81-100 of 131 Results