dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Overall Rating

201-220 of 298 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

B. Kristiansson

June 23, 2014

Toolish

Fast setup with that bite I want everyday in my box

J. Mason

June 17, 2014

Sounds just like the hardware

No joke, I'm amazed by how much this sounds exactly like a 160VU. It doesn't get any better on drums than this, and it even does that gritty thing, I mean I just don't understand how they got this plugin so close to the actual piece of gear. It makes no sense to buy one, honestly I don't say things like that, but I would be lying if I said otherwise. What is nice, use multiple instances, there's no interference noise, and like I said, it's just like the hardware. You can use it on just about anything and it will makes things just sit right in the mix. Not the sexiest compressor, but one of the best UAD has for drums and everything else.

S. Sullivan

June 13, 2014

Smack attack!

Hardware DBX 160's (all varieties) work wonders for adding attack and smack to drums, and this plug in really captures the compression characteristics that make the 160 such a popular compressor. Insert this on your kick and snare and hear the "twack" you've been missing! With it's super fast attack and release it works wonders on a mandolin or banjo to lock the playing in place and keep them steady and forward through a track. Highly recommended.

J. Igor

June 3, 2014

My new favorite

How great I found this! Use it on almost everything and just love that 70´s character!
Absolutely lovely on bass and snare drums!
Fantastic!

J. Cheng

June 2, 2014

I'm using it for almost all my instruments

Although I have many other plugins. But for most of instruments, (drums and vocals not included), I use DBX 160x. It gives me bouncy sounds and increase dynamics of many instruments.

J. Roger

May 31, 2014

Unique

This compressor really does give you a sound and style that other compressors don't do. It's also just about the easiest thing to use and get sounding good.

I think it's most commonly used for drums, but I've run it across just about everything at one point or another.

Great!

F. Pilz

May 30, 2014

fatens :-)

I don't know the hardware, but only the stories about...
A great compressor PlugIn that fatens the voice and brings it direct to your face

M. Comacle

May 27, 2014

Génial pour les basses

Bonjour, c'est vraiment un super compresseur je l'utilise sur des basses synthétiques car pas de basse dans le home studio et ça sonne comme une vraie. C'est vraiment incroyable! Ca lui rajoute un grain et une présence comme si on venait taper dans les vrais micros d'une basse. Très bon plug!

R. Sheridan

May 15, 2014

badass compressor!

this little beauty is an absolute beast! if your gonna buy a comp for your drums....... let it be this......... you won't regret it!!!



UA do it again!

B. Trimpe

May 2, 2014

The Thwack Factory

This is a specialty unit for sure. If you want a swiss army knife stick with 76's and the like. This thing is not subtle. VCAs like the dbx160 are easily the most grabby of the different compressor & limiter designs. I use this a lot on bass, kick, snare, and parallel compression busses. This compressor does "thwack" better and more easily than any other I have used. To fatten up a rock track and glue the low end together, send your kick and bass to an aux and slap a 160 on top. Crush the signal and then pull it way down in the mix. It will give you a subtle glue on the low end and a little more impact on the kick drum.

P. Larose

February 28, 2014

A prefect tool

It sounds just like the original one , so simple and efficient.
I just use it on every work and love it .

J. Carmo

February 16, 2014

Must have plugin...

Once i demo this plug, i fall in love and buy it. I use it when tracking
and mixing. It sounds like the hardware....Great job UAD, the
only thing that can be better is the size of the plugin...double size
was was bether

L. Mcdaniels

February 7, 2014

dbx 160

BEST COMPRESSOR EVER I USE IT ON ALMOST EVERYTHING...Thank YOU U.A.

G. Piazza

January 15, 2014

Good but very 'solid state' sounding

I avoided this one for a long time, feeling that I can get similar results with the Voxengo Crunchessor or Sonnox Dynamics. Both are warmer; the dbx has a thin 'solid-state' sound, much like the old 166 I have.
Still, that is a unique palette, so I finally got it on sale.
Nice transient pop and good for parallel compression.
If you are trying to decide between it and the API Vision, the API is the hands down winner (the Neve is also great). If you have the scratch and love the dbx sound, get it.
I never set the ratio higher than 2.5:1.

M. Bramley

January 15, 2014

UA does it again!

I remember this little compressor from the good old days! I have used the hardware unit many times on vocals,bass and sometimes on drums.
Again, what makes these units classic is it produces a different sound that just sounds 'right' like it was always meant to be!
and the sound? Unmistakably transistor but smooth all the way. The top end is silky smooth even when driven hard, but it also does something to the bass…..if you have a Fender Precision bass and you've put a BADAS bridge on….then you have to have this compressor! It will make the sustain go on forever whilst extending the low end but keeping all the character of the original sound.
This is definitely not another box with knobs on! Buy it now!

B. Frei

January 14, 2014

The dbx 160 Compressor/Limiter is a emulation of the dbx 160 Compressor/Limiter

The dbx 160 Compressor/Limiter is a fully licensed and faithful emulation of the legendary dbx 160 hardware compressor/limiter — still widely considered the best VCA compressor ever made. “VU” is the common nickname for this highly regarded studio staple, famous for its simple control set and firm, distinct compression characteristics. The dbx 160 also has unique nonlinearities not found in other VCA compressors, giving it a sonic distinction from later models. The dbx-endorsed UAD Powered Plug-In version of the VCA VU captures all of the sonic nuances from our “golden” modeling unit, plus the simple control set of the original hardware.

C. Berglund

January 12, 2014

Make it snappy

Hi guys, just starting this plugin up makes everything really tight sounding and snappy..
If you need your drums to sound more punchy and more aggressive use this plugin.
I makes everything sound just as the hardware version.. totally awesome.

Works great on clean guitar and bas as well.. this is a great all rounder.

All the best

Chris aka Dropfill

F. Jurdan

January 7, 2014

the best is back

my englis is terrible, but this 160 us realy a must have comp. it sound as well as the real one, very nice on snare, OH, bus...very good job.

F. Jurdan

December 24, 2013

One off the best

I'm french and my english is terrible, but i can't use this wonderfull plug without thanks to UAD to made a very good copy off the soud character si special off these units. i'd have used some real unit in the past, and testing the plug give me exactly the same glad i'd with the original one (missed the wood but ). thanks again.

B. Blais

December 19, 2013

A good surprise !

I really like the DBX's specific compression and this was missing on my ProTools.
I use a lot of 160, 160A and 160XT in the analog world. Works good for me on vocals, bass, guitars and room mics for drum.
With this good emulation I can find back the feelings of the original versions. So Great !
This is definitely an excellent value.

201-220 of 298 Results