dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Overall Rating

241-260 of 280 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Major

December 19, 2012

Like the real thing

I hadn't used a dbx 160 since I used to mix on analog stuff. This one works just like the original. I had forgotten how useful they are!

Highly recommended!

S. Hughes

December 18, 2012

The Workhorse Compressor

I've got many of the other superb compressors in the UAD-2 range but they all have some kind of distinct tonal character and best lend themselves to special situations. I needed a good general purpose workhorse for daily tracking chores that didn't colour the sound too much and this is the one everyone should choose to buy first.

Using it in multiple instances with the Apollo has given me the crisp yet controlled sound that I'm used to when tracking with a large console, without all the noise and cable woes that sometimes get in the way of a great take.

I love this one and hope UA model some of the more modern DBX units like the 160SL and 162SL.

Those and a Lexicon 480L are at the top of my wish list.

Love this stuff.

M. Stenbacken

December 18, 2012

Heaven!

It takes about one second to fall in love with the 160!
I've spent some time with the original hardware, and this is as close as it gets.
Easy to work with and the sound is amazing.

L. Lesage

November 20, 2012

Great Tool

I really appreciate this 160 Compressor which does an excellent work on drums and bass tracks. Et voilà ! :)

V. Kuzeva

November 6, 2012

Phenomenal !

This is the best software compressor of its type ever created ! The punch of this one is fantastic ! With this tool no more lack of punch ! Essential tool in our arsenal ! Universal Audio are the kings of processors for real punch !

A. Dzeljilji

August 13, 2012

Very effective! Can effectively control the dynamic. Good tool for bass.

K. Prior

August 2, 2012

Where the loudness war began.Ladies and gentlemen, The 70's.

A. Anestis

July 22, 2012

For Psytrance & Progressive music genres... use it for your drums without any specific preset and you will feel your drums sound more agressive... 4 stars because all the presets are not very good for this kind of music.

A. Shante

July 13, 2012

The butt with it is capable to blow up simply thus without hammering in other tools. That's good!

P. Derivaz

July 12, 2012

The DBX 160 has been for years one of my favorite compressor.
I used it in projects ranging from Phillip Glass to Will.I.Am, John Cale, Tom Verlaine and many other.
Thanks to UA for doing such a great job recreating that wonderful unit with such precision.
Patrick Derivaz
www.patrickderivaz.com

Z. Fisher

June 17, 2012

Perfect for the drum bus! I haven't gotten to use the hardware, but i love the plug in! I can really over exaggerate the low end on the kick and then slap this guy on right after and BAM! It just tightens it right up! brings the crack of out the snare! My go to drum bus chain right now 1081-_DBX160. Love it!

G. Davarinos

May 25, 2012

i used to work my ears around two original dbx 160's and this plug surely brings back those memories. sounds so good!

S. Sorensen

May 13, 2012

I was fully ready to be disappointed.

But wait a minute . . .

Wow. It sounds just like I remember it.

This is the first time I've heard a plug-in sound this smooth and transparent (especially on vocals) ever.

I'd been meaning to buy the actual analog unit - but not really a need now.

I'll be using it all the time.

Great job UA.

R. Patel

May 11, 2012

I have tried this amazing plug-in tool on my kick drum and synth bass...the best compressor for this task. The Kick always thumps like nothing else, and the Bass parts just come to life. Great compressor.

B. Jester

April 24, 2012

I've had a hard time getting that snare and bass guitar sound for a while. The dbx 160 is what I was missing all along. For me that sound of the snare in your face, but feeling sucked back all at the same time and the bass guitar's low end right up front all being controlled. A classic unit that was modeled to the T!

D. Dresdow

December 9, 2011

Thwacktastic.

I'd like to write a paragraph about it, but that's pretty much it to me. It's the goto for adding 'twack' on drums in my studio.

A. Charles

October 4, 2011

Probably the most underated software compressor in the UAD range or native even. The most versital capable of the most extremes as well. I can't say enough good things about it.

N. Zervos

June 30, 2011

Only 3 knobs but so powerful thats for sure. Great for creating new grooves from lifless phrases....

H. Yousefi

June 19, 2011

Amazing!!

Original dbx-160 sound!
I have try the hardware and i say that plug have the same sound.
I often use the brauerizeâ„¢ technique and the dbx are perfect for my VCA-Bus.

I can only say buy buy buy buy.

J. Vawter

June 17, 2011

For sound quality and accuracy of the emulation, five stars. For versatility, it does one thing extremely well - it makes things go "POP!" It can be subtle or extreme, but that's all it does. For my styles of music, folk, country, melodic rock and jazz rock, I tend to use it more subtly, or in compressor chains.

241-260 of 280 Results