dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

dbx® 160 Compressor / Limiter

Overall Rating

61-80 of 216 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Healey

December 2, 2016

Extremely Accurate and Ideal for That Tight Up Close Drum Sound

In the past two months I have been tracking drums that are almost exclusively close miked. The project demands a dry, up-front sound circa 1976. The 160 on the drum bus really brings the sound together in a special way. It has a lot of color and punch, so it's perfect for some things, but not ideal for all applications. That is my humble two cents.

E. de Nanteuil

December 2, 2016

Great - Must Have

Great on bass guitare and snare. Sometimes on a drum bus.

T. van Iersel

November 19, 2016

Great compressor

The DBX 160 is a great asset to my mix template. If you need some aggressive but musical compression this thing will do the job. As insert compression it gets out the low volume information very nicely and can slam the heck out of something. In parallel it can add very nice glue to kicks and snares, bass guitar and vocals that have a big dynamic range.

D. Shacallis

November 8, 2016

Won't record without it.

Classic unit. I use this alot. Very intuitive.

F. Charpentier

November 7, 2016

Clean and Nervous

I bought DBX160 a few months ago. I can say it won't go for all but it does it real great when it's in the ballpark !

I 've started using it with kick drum, for sure. It's fast and punchy. I've used it too, the way Andrew Scheps does : as a common parallel compressor for kick and snare. This sounds great !

Used with some vocals, or guitars, you will like or not, depending on results you're looking for. DBX160 is versatile but it has his own and strong character. Easy to use and tweak I can say immediately if I keep it or sack it from the track. This is a real good comp to go.

M. D'Andrea

July 18, 2016

perfect punch on drums

this vca is a great reproduction of the famous dbx 160.this simple plugin work very well on kick drum and snare.
great choice for every tipe of drums or bass guitar

S. Gough

July 14, 2016

Great on Drums and Bass

If you need a compressor that really clamps down on a track, the dbx 160 is perfect. Sounds like the hardware. Almost has a distressor-like characteristic in its attack. Excellent for accentuating the power behind a smash track.

M. Ballenger

June 1, 2016

Oldie but a goodie

The DBX160 may be one of the older offerings by UAD, but it holds up still. I own the Waves and Softube/NI versions as well, but the UAD wins most of the time. I use this most frequently for parallel kick/snare compression and the UAD version's superiority shows in the low end. The others give a decent smack, but the low end seems less smeared and my kick sits much better in the mix with the UAD DBX160. The others are good models, but I'm sticking with this one when it counts.

J. Cohn

May 19, 2016

Fast attack and Release Personality

When you're looking for a quick grab and quick fix compressor this one has a largely aggressive personality and can punch. Not suitable for all material but anything that needs fast release and presence will benefit from this powerful character comp. Does a fantastic job and definitely a coloured choice compressor, I really feel happy with my sound when I use it for what it does, you can hear its clean 'grit' too. A pleasure to have in one's arsenal!

P. Jonsson

April 11, 2016

The soundtrack of my life

The soundtrack of my life - what can I say: One of my favorite of the bunch. UAD you ROCK.
ALL ENJOY

S. Ghadaban

March 19, 2016

It's a DBX-160!

It's a DBX-160! Awsome and so simple to use for all kind of bass tracks. My "go-to-plugin" for my bass channel.
You can't tweak very much - but the sound that comes out of this plugin is mostly perfect - like the original DBX-160/160A/160Xt or 1066. A real workhore with less cpu load!


D. Shirey

March 13, 2016

First UAD buy

This was my first UAD plug purchase. I could not be happier. The other reviews say it all. Thanks UA!

E. Haag

February 27, 2016

DBX 160

I've always used Waves plug ins,but after using the UAD plug ins, I won't go back. The DBX 160 was one of the selling points for me. It does what it's was supposed to do. It has that analog weight that all other plug ins fail to capture, including the Slate plug ins. The DBX 160 is a plug in that I use when I want to control transients. Put this baby on synths to tame and warm, bass guitar to fattened and control, and backround vox to blend. It's an incredible tool to have in your tool box. My one complaint and why I gave 4 stars instead of 5, is that they have yet to update the plug in. It's so small that it looks like a cheap stock plug in. But make no mistake. The sound is all there.

M. Vila Nova

February 27, 2016

Too long!

I've missed this compressor for too long! I invested in other UAD plugins just because I had another native alternative for this one... Oh my! This one is miles ahead... A fantastic and classic sound!

J. Tocket

February 9, 2016

That Ol' dbx thwack

I've owned a pair of the hardware VU's for years. They've nailed it.

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Unbelievably Good!!!

I used work with the original hardware version at Kingston Studio in Brooklyn, NY it was my go to compressor so I remember how it sounds and behaved and UA nailed it!!! The dbx 160 plugin will certainly become apart of every mix I perform from now on!

R. Rajaram

January 15, 2016

Excellent!

As I've come to expect from UA, nothing short of exceptional. Another great sounding emulation of a classic. That snap and vibe have been captured beautifully. Highly recommended.

UAD User

January 15, 2016

DBX160 compressor plug-in

Very easy to use with its three knobs. Great on acoustic guitar. Amazingly close to the original Hardware unit. One of the best all purpose compressor plug-ins I've owned.

F. Cabanillas

December 28, 2015

Andrew Scheps was right

Not remember were i heard Mr Scheps saying it was a great plugin for Kick and Snare....and he was right,just mixed a Reggae album...and the plugin is on every kick and snare on the album....paralell compression worked best for me,but it also works as a track plugin....and not expensive at all

R. Jasman Jr

December 23, 2015

Very underrated plug-in

I have quite a few compression plug-ins now, but I find the dvx 160 to be my go-to compressor for a few things. First snare drum. I've tried them all and for a snare with an SM57 on it this gives it the crack I like. I also use it for vocals as it is super fast and can work wonders for singers with developing mic techniques. Well worth the price.

61-80 of 216 Results