Free UAD Plug-ins with Every Apollo Purchase!

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

Shop huge storewide savings on UAD plug-ins. Extended through 7/22. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

Regular Price: $299.00

$49.00

You'll Save 83%

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

741-760 of 769 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

V. Trendel

January 13, 2018

Great !!!

It's just the best compressor created to date, if you do not know what it brings to the sound, you do not know much !

s. maitland

January 3, 2018

Softube/UAD Chandler Curve Bender plugin

Stunned, just awesome so useful and sounds so good.

J. Johnson II

December 4, 2017

I lOVE It!

It sounds like the hardware! End of story from me. Buy IT!

M. Kramer

December 4, 2017

The best.

Let me keep this short. This is the best Distressor emulation out there and I freaking LOVE it!

j. elliott

November 30, 2017

top of the heap

as an owner of 2 distressors, this is easily the closest plugin version out there currently... get it!

J. Park

November 30, 2017

Just like a Real Thing

I have 2 units of EL8-X and UAD is most similar things in plug-ins. Arouser is OK but they are complicated. FG-stress and Deflector are way to go.

c. nagel

November 30, 2017

WOW!

So nice to have this on the Drum-Bus- So easy to get great sounding drums on one Fader!
Thanks!!!

D. Gallucci

November 30, 2017

Hard to believe

Sounds exactly like the hardware version

M. Olsen

November 30, 2017

Best of the best...

The UAD EL8 and FG-Stress are very close contenders. I'd already bought FG-Stress as it sounded amazing and was practically indistinguishable from the real unit in A/B tests. I also own EL's Arousor, which sounds and acts quite a bit different. But in my shootout between UAD and Slate, I favored the UAD slightly and appreciated the additional HR (headroom) dial. Also, I like the stand-alone interface a lot more. What tips it further is the ability to use it live in Console (wish UAD Console had MIDI control though). I ended up picking up the UAD EL8 at a discount while registering new hardware. Well done, UA. You got me again.

e. Thorngren

November 29, 2017

Deserted Island Compressor

If I could have only ONE compressor this would be it.

J. Schweitzer

November 29, 2017

Sounds Amazing

As promised, this little gem, like all UA emulations just sounds great. From a touch of compression to slamming the meters, this guy delivers that classic distessor creaminess.

S. Woolgar

November 29, 2017

I just love it

I'm not one of those that had the hardware version. But I have to admit that it sounds fantastic on everything I've put it on. This is an ongoing exercise as I try it on more and more things.

C. Clouser

November 29, 2017

Spot-on emulation of the hardware

I've owned hardware Distressors for twenty years, and the UAD emulation is right on the money. The same crunchy push, the same in-your-face sound - it's all there. They pass the A/B test against the hardware with flying colors.

m. linett

November 29, 2017

great to have it back.

Great plug in emulation of the mighty Distressor

A. EMIXPRO

November 27, 2017

Forgot to add!

Pair this with the Fatso in parallel and just WOW!!

A. EMIXPRO

November 27, 2017

Superb emulation. Super easy to dial in

I own all but the Slate emu and all do a great job. This clinches it though as I find this emulation super easy to dial in, just like my hardware version. All the others take a little more time to get there, but get there they do. If time is money, then this is a no brainer. Best emu yet

J. Maiwald

November 23, 2017

Very impressed

In comparison with all the competitors, this Baby is the easiest to dial in, and the one with the fastest and best results...obviously it’s home is more the acoustic, real recorded world, but this beast on my drum bus fulfilled with electronic impacts is a milestone in the plugin world. I own all the distressor competitors and with no doubt I will buy this one to have MY distressor finally.

A. Schebstadt

November 22, 2017

299 USD = 299 EUR is unacceptable discrimination

Money-making-UAD charges EU customers more than US customers. There is no justification (like cost, etc.) for this discrimination of loyal customers who use the UAD platform and products. Back in the days we all paid in USD, than they changed it. Inacceptable.

M. Fletcher

November 21, 2017

A wonderful compressor

Fabulous sound, great emulation, so glad it has a wet/dry knob would be so much harder to use without it. Can be extremely powerful like a cartoon version of a compressor but also adds very nice glue at lower amounts of mix and 2:1 and 3:1 on the master. Just annoyed it's another mindblowingly good plug I'm having to buy. UAD are hitting homerun after homerun at the moment.

W. Taylor

November 18, 2017

Distressor vs Distressor

I have 2 hardware distressors. In my study, I find the UAD plug-in to be great, but it is brighter. One of the big things I try to work on in digital recording is smoothing that high end, 'rounding' things out so to speak. My hardware units have more of 'that sound' when I track/mix through them.

741-760 of 769 Results