Get 3 months of UAD Spark for 99¢. Extended thru December 31st. Learn More ›

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

281-300 of 585 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Rackley

June 13, 2020

Absolutely Love it

This plugin is a perfect tool for drums!!! I’m finally getting my kick to sound like I want. Outstanding!!!!!

UAD User

June 12, 2020

Identical to my hardware 99.3%

I’m stunned that a digital software plugin sounds like hardware. I’m considering selling my Hardware distressor and my other analog gear. Software modeling has become ridiculously good.

S. Rowe

June 12, 2020

Mind...

Blown!!

Love this thing!

J. Lozano

June 6, 2020

Really good Compressor!!

Very useful for everything!! Drums and guitars sound amazing by it!

S. Peterson

June 4, 2020

Another very useful tool.

Another very useful tool. I have not been able to use the EL8 too much as yet but it does have its own character which I find appealing. It probably won't be my desert island compressor but time will tell. At half price, absolutely buy it!

M. CISCATO

June 3, 2020

20 stars :)

It's amazing on drums or percussive sources

M. Cizmeli

May 25, 2020

Best compressor for kick

Your kick be so big and dynamic

R. Pressman

May 15, 2020

Versatile compressor, can't go wrong on drums

I've used this on just about every drum bus since I've gotten it. Works well for vocals too.

J. Marso

May 12, 2020

Whoa!

I had no idea I needed this compressor. I started the demo, put it on a drum bus, and just bought it immediately. On vocals it’s amazing too!

T. Griesgraber

May 9, 2020

Great tool and nice color alongside others

I actually own a hardware version, but it's great having the plugin to try using on multiple sources. Nice color to this and a great contrast to things like the 1176 and it has one of the best UAD graphic interfaces too.

J. Birr

May 8, 2020

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor

I can't say I have worked with the hardware so I can't compare the accuracy of the emulation, but this plug in sounds great for colorful compression. The EL8 can really crush source material without the unpleasant artifacts. Excellent on drum buses or single percussive sources, but can be used for "everyday" compression and dynamics control at more moderate settings on vocals, bass, and (I haven't tried it yet but probably) horns.
I have the Fairchild, LA-2A, and 1176 plug-ins too. The EL8 is a great compliment to those rather than a "me too".

J. Birr

May 8, 2020

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor

I can't say I have worked with the hardware so I can't compare the accuracy of the emulation, but this plug in sounds great for colorful compression. The EL8 can really crush source material without the unpleasant artifacts. Excellent on drum buses or single percussive sources, but can be used for "everyday" compression and dynamics control at more moderate settings on vocals, bass, and (I haven't tried it yet but probably) horns.
I have the Fairchild, LA-2A, and 1176 plug-ins too. The EL8 is a great compliment to those rather than a "me too".

E. Szypulski

April 30, 2020

C.Gutierrez

Don’t like people, who gives multiple opinions, not even having the product (vide C.Gutierrez), trying to be a judge to even out the mark. Super product by the way!

E. Bergendorff

April 29, 2020

Stellar But Useless

Tried it out for various instruments - sounded quite good. Looks good too.
But because of the latency, can't use it.
UAD is great for hardware - the rest is for the most part, hype.

D. Ho

April 26, 2020

Perfect for everything

I've spent a lot of time with this compressor in different musical settings from acoustic duos to crushing rock mixes. I love how you can hit it so hard and it maintains the tone and integrity of the source. It is the best at bringing out bass, drawing attack out of drums, and getting vocals to sit perfectly in a mix without having to ride words. The filters are useful, the distortion provides nice tonal options, and I found the attack and release to be exceptionally useful in shaping sound. I was particularly amazed by how the release time controlled the brilliance of a snare drum. At 6+ it would shorten and warm the snares, at 4 or less, the compressor allowed the bottom mic to ring out after the attack adding more brilliance and sustain to the snares. If I could have only one compressor, this would be it!

M. Reeves

April 23, 2020

Had to have !

Demoed it and knew I had to buy it ! Love it.

G. Rios

April 20, 2020

SINGER, MUSIC PRODUCER

I have used the original for a long time and are identical, good work UA.

d. rogers

April 20, 2020

CLUTCH!!

this is thing is the secret sauce for drums and vocals!

L. Maggio

April 17, 2020

Amazing

Amazing sound with drum acoustic guitar

L. Hester

April 13, 2020

Instant Bliss!

I’ve owned the hardware for 20 years and recently transitioned to a mostly itb setup. Nothing does what a distressor does so I am thrilled to hear the sound I’ve grown to love in a plugin format. Now can we please get a Brit mod!!!!

281-300 of 585 Results