UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

261-280 of 573 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

G. Porrino

June 17, 2020

Distressor.

Does exactly what it's supposed to, and for a lot less dosh. Excellent.

M. Kleimert

June 16, 2020

Compressor with attitude

I like plugins that have their own personality and sound. The Distressor is such a plugin. Having worked with the hardware version I must say you really nailed it

M. Montañana

June 15, 2020

Impecables armónicos

Al aplicar distressor...se logran armónicos que empujan frecuencias fantasmas. Increíble

B. Ford

June 15, 2020

Bruh... Its a Distressor... Enough Said

You’ve seen it in the studios and you’ve heard it on countless tracks. I’ve used it in so many session but never owned one... UNTIL NOW!!! Stop playing and ad this your plug in library.

@ProducerBenFord

a. petrucci

June 15, 2020

Greatest Tools for Musicians

These are the tools needed for musicians to make the art, without them theres no art
this plugin is amazing! in fact all the ua plugs are the brush for the artists.
Thank you!

K. Kling

June 15, 2020

Pushing stuff forward!

Works on so many things that need some grit, midrange or parallel compression. Some of the presets work very well also, on some vocals I worked on. It became a handy tool for me at once.

D. Leitner

June 14, 2020

Supertight!

Tightest Kick Ever!

P. Rackley

June 13, 2020

Absolutely Love it

This plugin is a perfect tool for drums!!! I’m finally getting my kick to sound like I want. Outstanding!!!!!

P. Rackley

June 13, 2020

Absolutely Love it

This plugin is a perfect tool for drums!!! I’m finally getting my kick to sound like I want. Outstanding!!!!!

UAD User

June 12, 2020

Identical to my hardware 99.3%

I’m stunned that a digital software plugin sounds like hardware. I’m considering selling my Hardware distressor and my other analog gear. Software modeling has become ridiculously good.

S. Rowe

June 12, 2020

Mind...

Blown!!

Love this thing!

J. Lozano

June 6, 2020

Really good Compressor!!

Very useful for everything!! Drums and guitars sound amazing by it!

S. Peterson

June 4, 2020

Another very useful tool.

Another very useful tool. I have not been able to use the EL8 too much as yet but it does have its own character which I find appealing. It probably won't be my desert island compressor but time will tell. At half price, absolutely buy it!

M. CISCATO

June 3, 2020

20 stars :)

It's amazing on drums or percussive sources

M. Cizmeli

May 25, 2020

Best compressor for kick

Your kick be so big and dynamic

R. Pressman

May 15, 2020

Versatile compressor, can't go wrong on drums

I've used this on just about every drum bus since I've gotten it. Works well for vocals too.

J. Marso

May 12, 2020

Whoa!

I had no idea I needed this compressor. I started the demo, put it on a drum bus, and just bought it immediately. On vocals it’s amazing too!

T. Griesgraber

May 9, 2020

Great tool and nice color alongside others

I actually own a hardware version, but it's great having the plugin to try using on multiple sources. Nice color to this and a great contrast to things like the 1176 and it has one of the best UAD graphic interfaces too.

J. Birr

May 8, 2020

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor

I can't say I have worked with the hardware so I can't compare the accuracy of the emulation, but this plug in sounds great for colorful compression. The EL8 can really crush source material without the unpleasant artifacts. Excellent on drum buses or single percussive sources, but can be used for "everyday" compression and dynamics control at more moderate settings on vocals, bass, and (I haven't tried it yet but probably) horns.
I have the Fairchild, LA-2A, and 1176 plug-ins too. The EL8 is a great compliment to those rather than a "me too".

J. Birr

May 8, 2020

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor

I can't say I have worked with the hardware so I can't compare the accuracy of the emulation, but this plug in sounds great for colorful compression. The EL8 can really crush source material without the unpleasant artifacts. Excellent on drum buses or single percussive sources, but can be used for "everyday" compression and dynamics control at more moderate settings on vocals, bass, and (I haven't tried it yet but probably) horns.
I have the Fairchild, LA-2A, and 1176 plug-ins too. The EL8 is a great compliment to those rather than a "me too".

261-280 of 573 Results