Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$179.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$179.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

41-60 of 104 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Raper

March 27, 2018

My absolute go to compressor

This compressor is absolutely fantastic. My room mics have never sounded so aggressive. Thank you so much! can't wait for the brit mod update!

UAD User

March 27, 2018

Great compressor

Best bang for your back. This compressor comes so incredibly close to the performance of the hardware version that for the price it can’t be beat. Honestly I can’t even tell the difference. I got this for my home studio setup. I don’t have $1800 to spend on a hardware compressor alone. This plugin performs like the real thing at a fraction of the cost. I love it. It is a monster on vocals and drums!

G. Tettamanti

March 22, 2018

Solid !!!!!!

Very good!!

K. Greaves

March 21, 2018

Empirical Labs Distressor

Definitely worth the wait. Universal Audio has created yet another solution to the needs of many.

K. Greaves

March 21, 2018

Empirical Labs Distressor

Definitely worth the wait. Universal Audio has created yet another solution to the needs of many.

K. Greaves

March 21, 2018

Empirical Labs Distressor

Definitely worth the wait. Universal Audio has created yet another solution to the needs of many.

I. Marconi

March 21, 2018

Great Plugin

I have always used distressors for recordings, never for mixing, after a week this one seems to work like a charm

J. Jordanov

March 20, 2018

Love it!

Own this one for 1 week already and used it on many different types of tracks. Just love it!

G. Leonard

March 18, 2018

The Distressor done right

I bought a Distressor the first year they were available and used it for many, many years. This plugin is fantastic and captures the sound and even the feel in exceptional detail. I retired my hardware a while ago and am so so happy to have an EL8 back in my toolbox.

C. Muggenburg

March 18, 2018

Try this one first!

I remember the hardware first hitting the market and I thought, "Great, another flipping compressor, with big, white, over-sized, cheap looking knobs!" Frankly, I thought there was a good chance the looks alone may sink the product. Then I heard it! It had something, some color, some attitude that was different from the others. The plug-in is a very close match and I find myself using it instead of some of the classics, such as the 1176. Don't get me wrong, I still love the 1176, both hardware and plug-in, but now there is another, useful tool, in the tool box. If I had heard this one first, I question if I would have purchased any other compressors. Perhaps a couple of LA2A's but maybe not. In short, if you are looking for your first compressor plug-in, try this one first. If you already have compressor plug-ins, you should really try this one. It will expand your sonic pallet.

V. Juvvaanapudi

March 15, 2018

Super

Super

T. Axtell

March 15, 2018

Mix Engineer, Producer, Musician

They nailed this one... I still can't believe how good it sounds. And the bonus is getting to mix the amount of dry/wet! So great...

R. Flack

March 15, 2018

EL8 seems like cheating in the best way

You can definitely get “that drum sound” w/ the use of the nuke button, but there are many transparent ways to use the EL8 to tame unruly transients. The killer feature is the ability to blend compression into the mix w/out sidechain busing in DAW.

F. Zellner

March 12, 2018

Hard to tell...

...because it can not be authorized and the support does not respond to our requests.

F. Ruisch

March 10, 2018

Fast as a shark !

The Distressor is absolutely amazing, it is the fastest of them all. Perfect to beef up that snare, bass or give a unique effect to the room mics. It's a must have plugin from UAD.

K. Garcia

March 2, 2018

Solid!

An amazing emulation of the original hardware! UA continues to impress me with everything they're doing right now.

j. elliott

February 27, 2018

as a distressor owner...

this is by far the best software version i have found. maybe not 100%, but it's behavior/reaction is very similar and it's nice to have access to multiple extra distressors come mix time.

R. Invernizzi

February 25, 2018

Amazing Tool

I love this Distressor! Very powerful tool. I use this on a lot of kind of tracks and sounds.
I really love it!!!

A. Apolo

February 16, 2018

10/10

ive got the hardware and did an a/b test with this plugin.. I was blown away! this plugin really sounds and acts like the real hardware! bought it straight away! finally I can have the disstressor rocking several tracks both in mono and stereo at the same time!!

M. Nazir

February 15, 2018

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

simply says i love it

41-60 of 104 Results