UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

161-180 of 573 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

W. Noon

May 18, 2021

Drum bus and vocals

Makes my drums come out of the mix very well and I didn't expect to use it on vocals so much. Love it!

S. Astala

May 15, 2021

Lovin' it!

Needs more practise using this, but already I'm lovin- it!

J. Brown

May 11, 2021

Great on so many things

What can you say about this compressor except that it is great on so many things. Feels just like using the real thing too. Love it.

A. Tkachenko

April 22, 2021

Amazing emulation

This plugin is doing really great job, my music sounds more punchy when I have Distressor in it. Thank you

R. Neville

April 19, 2021

Amazing compressor

I owned the EL8-X for years and sold it to invest in the UAD platform and I am pretty impressed with this compressor emulation. I used the distressor for tracking all the time on vocals and it’s amazing and this works just as good!

. Adams

April 16, 2021

It IS a Distressor

It sounds and behaves exactly like the hardware. It actually sounds way better than the Empirical Labs Arouser. Worth every penny!

D. Puzia

April 13, 2021

Distressor is fantastic!

Works great on just about anything! Truly my most versatile compressor. This is a beast of a plugin that really is a workhorse for me. Makes me wonder how I got by without it!

D. Montoya

April 7, 2021

Fantastic emulation of the hardware unit! This thing rocks!

I love what this thing does to drums, guitars, bass, gritty vocals and busses! Sounds and responds exactly how I remember the hardware does.

D. Schmidt

April 2, 2021

Great! Great!

One of the best !!!

G. Tully

March 18, 2021

It's great

What can I say? It's the real deal - used it straight away on a bass and drums mix and it just get's you to where you want to go...quickly.

B. Rogers

March 16, 2021

Bass DI sound so much thicker

I haven't used this as much as others but it is always on the bass DI track. Adds to the low end like nothing else I've tried

T. Harpel

March 15, 2021

Essential and intuitive

When I’m in the right mood, nuke ratio is so sweet on the drum bus. Overall, a relentlessly un-fussy compressor. Each control obeys intuition, with each knob and button doing basically what you want and expect. A true utility player. Good sound sounds.

S. Lord

March 4, 2021

I love this thing

I work primarily in the box with midi drums, this thing gives those little lines the power they deserve! I’ve been searching for this tone for awhile now. A must have!

a. Thompson

February 23, 2021

Love it

It has performed, and will do so again, and again, and again.

D. Dembek

February 18, 2021

Modify the dynamics without loosing the harmonics

Most of the compressors tends to kill the early harmonics. It is NOT the case with the Distressor. You can nuke your track and still add the distortion which makes things just right. One of the most versatile compressors, one of the must-have's in the arsenal.

M. Lee

February 9, 2021

Oh god amazing!

Sooooooo Good!
I don't need to say anything. It's just perfect!

C. Knight

February 8, 2021

Like the hot sauce, "I put that Sh*t on everything".

You already know this lives on every buss. You can make it distorted or cleaner, harder or softer, you can make it fast or slow and you can mix it with dry/wet controls. You can also nuke it. Like varnish for furniture, it can transform and enhance subtle grain details into dramatic and drastic yet beautiful features.

Required tool if you are a serious engineer.

T. Gapski

February 6, 2021

Not much I can say - it's THE DISTRESSOR

Great tool, invites to do experiments with your sound...

S. Marshall

February 5, 2021

Amazing quality compressor

This is my favourite UAD compressor, Sounds so good, and really makes anything you put through it shine

S. Marshall

February 5, 2021

Amazing quality compressor

This is my favourite UAD compressor, Sounds so good, and really makes anything you put through it shine

161-180 of 573 Results