ENGL® E646 VS Limited Edition

ENGL® E646 VS Limited Edition

Unison Enabled

$149.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$149.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

ENGL® E646 VS Limited Edition

Overall Rating

41-60 of 93 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

D. Thompson

September 18, 2015

I owned POD Line 6

Had to mention... that's sold.

Doesn't even compare!

D. Thompson

September 18, 2015

Been tying this out... just back from buying an ESP ltd m-103fm

The ESP ltd m-103fm, EMG 81's through the store test stack - I'm finished locking that damn floyd rose. People gave this 1 star????? Even 4! Yea, I think the presets suck a** but hey, more fun making your own!

I came back, plugged the ESP into the UAD, dialed a bit, even let the auto selector run through some mic settings etc. Finally found a setting, tweaked and instant Devin Townsend aka: Strapping Young Lad! Very nice tone, very thick, not harsh, gives me feedback on sustain too!!! Amazing simulation of an amp!

1 start guys, are you deaf? Seriously? By far best sim I've used. Blew me away! And still is. Just buy it you won't be disappointed.

P. Takeuchi

August 29, 2015

Just messed with the demo for 30 minutes... not impressed

The tones are all WAAAAAYYYY to gassy, and there is pretty much no high end. I feel like there is a low pass filter on everything, but I am simply running through console, with no inserts. Either something is wrong with console or I am an idiot (quite possible), not being familiar with amp means I don't know that it is supposed to sound like it's buried under a decade of dirty laundry, or UAD should have made more tone controls obviously present to deactivate said LPF if there is in fact one. I'll stick with POD Farm

t. preradovic

August 26, 2015

Great sim

The best amp sim ever. True that presets are dull but You can make Your own. If you buy hardware amp you don't get "presets". Sound is in amp. So, this ENGL sim realy has sound but make your own presets. I am going to buy it today.

t. preradovic

August 26, 2015

Great sim

The best amp sim ever. True that presets are dull but You can make Your own. If you buy hardware amp you don't get "presets". Sound is in amp. So, this ENGL sim realy has sound but make your own presets. I am going to buy it today.

E. Leiser

May 23, 2015

Ax-FX II vs Engl 646 VS

I will be putting my AX-FXII on the market today for trade. I cannot believe I spent 2 years trying to obtain this sound out of it. I called the dealer multiple times and the end result was, maybe it isn't for you. This is a gotta have for a guitarist.

v/r
Eddie
Valrcio, FL

A. Chiarello

April 2, 2015

Victor Smolski's Signature Amp

Not sure why UA or Brainworx has downplayed the fact that this is RAGE's Victor Smolski's signature model But I personally think they're doing the amp sim some disservice; by not at least telling users to check out Victor's walkthrough of the original amp on ENGL's site.

Also. Have to agree with the overall consensus that the factory presets are not very good at all. Check out the sound settings PDF posted on ENGL's page. Victor's presets translate over just fine to the plugin version. http://www.englamps.de/index.php?id=36&tx_ddfproducts_pi1[uid]=115

J. Daly

February 22, 2015

Love it!

I have not had the pleasure of using an axe personally however this plugin on my Apollo quad makes me happier than anything I have gotten from digi l6 11r or kemp in terms of BOTH function & tone. The others may sound great and be too limiting or sound bad & have great functionality but not both. Overall the Apollo comes in at nearly convenient with quick keys & console 2.0's midi tap tempo business & is tops for modeled tone imho HOWEVER it does require that you are open minded enough to use the plugin according to the manual and spend a modest amount of time learning the amp and the sim.

Does the v646 sound and behave like the real deal? Don't know don't care. It sounds tops, kemper axe territory as compared to the alternatives. YMMV.

S. Mcnulty

January 30, 2015

So far, so good!

I wasn't able to get nice clean tones from the VAR, but this sounds great. I haven't tried any overdriven sounds, yet.

R. Sheridan

January 19, 2015

Engl powerball

This is the real deal! Having owned one before this is as close as you'll get to the real thing. Great plug in! Used it on a few tracks in a similar vein to soilwork/in flames to great effect.


Good job!

H. Petersson

December 27, 2014

Not just for high gain!

Don't make the mistake I did, thinking it was only for metal heads. This amp delivers some of the most beautiful clean and crunchy sounds!

The different channels sound different from each other. This makes it a very versatile amp suitable for many styles.

This is probably the most realistic sounding amp sim I've heard to date. But given the price and the high DSP usage it doesn't come cheap.
$75 would be a more appropriate price if compared to other excellent offerings such as S-Gear and BIAS.

The presets does suck. And the amp, while beautifully rendered, looks ridiculous in my opinion. I wish they had gone with the Powerball II instead.

But all in all one of the best amp sims out there! One that continues to wow me.

M. H.

December 10, 2014

Amazing emulation

Wow -
I tested my guitars "Fender Stratocaster (built early 70th)", my "Gibson SG (early 80th)" - simply using the settings provided via plugin presets.

My impression: Amazing!


Just to denote what I've used before (and what I still use have to use on stage): Digitech RP10

Comparerd to that RP10 box: The plugin-sound is much much more direct, and comes nearly absolute noiseless, but bites!
Impressing!

Best wishes,
Manfred

S. Makarov

November 20, 2014

ENGL® E646 VS Plug-In

I am very glad that I had the opportunity to have such a cool sound using Apollo and plug-ins from Universal Super!

Yours Faithfully Sergey Makarov!

B. Tonak

November 15, 2014

Won me over

At first I was skeptical, and I didn't like these amp ENGL amp emulations as much as my Line 6, but after demo-ing it again, I decided I had to buy it. It gives much more realistic sounds. I do tend to favor less high-gain type sounds, but lower gain sounds are available here if you work harder to dial them in. I do wish they had an open-back cabinet emulation, and some non-celestion speaker cabinets. Bottom line, this thing is great for practicing and occasional tracking through my Apollo.

G. Sullivan

September 6, 2014

Great Tools!

Everyone seems to want to know if it sounds like a “real amp.” I just released a CD using a real top of the line Marshall, and used a Royer microphone, with a great preamp. I also used the UA amp simulators. Do they sound the same? Probably not. But many of the reviews I have received preferred the sound of the simulators, when they didn’t know which was which. These are great tools! But the tools are only as good as the craftsman using the tools.

G. Sullivan

September 6, 2014

Great Tools!

Everyone seems to want to know if it sounds like a “real amp.” I just released a CD using a real top of the line Marshall, and used a Royer microphone, with a great preamp. I also used the UA amp simulators. Do they sound the same? Probably not. But many of the reviews I have received preferred the sound of the simulators, when they didn’t know which was which. These are great tools! But the tools are only as good as the craftsman using the tools.

T. Yoder

August 30, 2014

Great

I really like this plug-in. It gets five stars from me. Easily and seemingly infinitely tweekable. Each preset is a great starting off point. I really gives me the feel of a great amp with a 4X12. The creamy, thick, sweet tone just gives you confidence when you play. And FOUR channels!!! The delay settings are very nice too. Once again, easily tweekable. This is one of the best amp sims I've played.

F. Galvanelli

August 26, 2014

Beautiful sound

It sounds very good.... seems like the original!
Perfect if you want a rock feeling despite being a pug-in.

J. Cox

August 10, 2014

More BX Amp sims please!!

So ... I didn't realize how awesome these plugins are until just last week.

So Brainworx did awesome in that they modeled the Preamp section and the power amp section separately. So I can plug in my tube head to a cab, go direct out (effects loop send from my marshall head) from the amp head into apollo and the poweramp / cab / mic is what is modeled.

It sounds INCREDIBLE. If you have a tube head, try this out. You wont be sorry.

The tube retro plug and this plug have different power amps and cab / mic selections. awesome!

J. Yankus

July 25, 2014

Very Useful Tool

This was purchased for a metal project. With tweaking, the tones are very useable for tracking and mixing. It requires no more tweaking than any other real amp you may find yourself recording. When you drop a preset in your UA console, the setting may not match when you drop that same preset in your DAW for playback. I used presets for speed during tracking. So, the difference in sound upon playback was only a slight problem that was quickly fixed by changing what knobs didn't match on the GUI. This plug-in uses a lot of DSP, so you'll likely want to print your tracks early on in your mix process to save some resources. The signal chains are the quickest way to rough-in a tone. Turn knobs from there to fine-tune. End results were great.

41-60 of 93 Results