EP-34 Tape Echo

EP-34 Tape Echo

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $199.00

$99.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

EP-34 Tape Echo

Overall Rating

281-300 of 307 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Sugar

November 10, 2012

The only delay effect I use.

Always sounds right when you need delay on something. Not to nitpick, but I wish there was a way to dial in some noticeable instability or wobbliness. Maybe there is and I just haven't found it.

D. Dipietro

October 31, 2012

Quirky like the real thing

My echoplex bit the dust well over a year ago. This plug in has all the quirky personality I loved about the original.

S. Hlavsa

October 27, 2012

EP 34 Tape Echo

It is warm sounding echo with character old analog classic unit....Amazing.

S. Hughes

September 19, 2012

Vintage Delay Sounds

One of the best discoveries of my career has been UA's UAD-2 powered plug ins.

When an old school client recently asked if I had a decent tape echo effect, I soon realised the answer to that question was NO.

Sure I had some included in my rig, but they sounded like crap.

This EP-34 has done the job just nicely, sounding uniquely like the old classic units, but without all the nightmares of using old hardware versions.

It's so easy to get that familiar old tape echo sound, and the built in tone and panning is also a life saver, making mixing with it so damn easy.

It's a cool blast from the past, and I'm thinking of looking at the other delay effects UA has on offer. The Roland Space Echo looks tempting.

You can't lose with these.

R. O'brien

August 22, 2012

An Echoplex PlugIn

A real sounding Echoplex without having to clean the heads,

P. Keiser

August 13, 2012

I work in logic and do not have a good delay.
In the daw. I have waves super tap but haven't been able to get it to work well for me. The ep-34 installed easily. I used in an acoustic guitar solo using default settings. It sounded great and I was easy able to achieve a better effect than I had with my other soft was. It provides a nice deep lush delay that is intuitive to use

M. Rey

August 7, 2012

I love this plug! This is one where I just to buy it - just cause I really needed it! Yes, I have Echoboy. Yes I have other delay plugs. This one...it has VIBE! It just feels right. Can't explain into words. A little light bulb came on in my head once I heard it. I just heard "IT". That thickening agent you can use on EVERYTHING. That beautiful little vibe you get behind a guitar or a vocal. It can also go severely rogue if you start automating the delay times, that feedback sound, the sound of Jamaican Dub & british rock is what comes to my mind. Its a character plug...and lots of it. I just love the GUI sitting up there on my desktop when I'm working it. It feels right. Great job UA for offering such cool digital vintage feel.

S. Beckham

July 28, 2012

A must have plug for my sound. I use it on everything since I got it it . Gritty, warm,fuzzy, and spewing character, much like one of bums in my hood. Don't worry it doesn't smell. You can use it to impart some waveform distortion without the echo being involved..great for bass, drums, vocals (for a real analog vibe) You can adjust the brightness or bass content making it a simple character E.Q.
It has its limitations and a strong personality so if you looking for pristine you wont find it here. Think Radiohead's KID A and you will hear the EP-34 vibe all over (though it may not have been what Nigel Godrich used)
Shes dark and mysterious, and she will talk back...and you'll like it!

N. Williams

July 13, 2012

I used to have a tape Echoplex, and loved the sound. I ended up selling it because I was afraid of it's mechanical reliability.

The UAD Tape Echo is a credible replacement sound-wise, though I'd love to see it add a few more controls; a real Echoplex had a completely different sound once the tape was 'played in' than it did with a fresh tape, and you could get a completely different sound when the heads were dirty and the tape got old.

My major complaint with the plugin is that its output is rather low, and not adjustible. I end using a compressor or other gain plugin after it just so it will have sufficient volume in a mix. I have the same issue with RealVerb.

B. Pebley

July 2, 2012

I already have a lot of time based effects already, but I still wanted to try this one because of my love for delay. It turns out that it is the perfect delay for me. When combined with the Apollo, in real time I have an effect that is so close to the original tape echo machine with all of the imperfections that make it have a classic sound. I have outboard analog delay units and this unit is missing one thing, the physical object itself to touch and play around with. Thankfully the interface is like that of all other UAD products in that it feels almost as close to you as the original. It is perfect for bread and butter delay, but with a few quick turns of the pots, it can sound fuzzy, gritty and noisy as it should.

N. Nicita

May 23, 2012

ep 34 is absolutly perfect for DUB music.
For the genre of music I use to play and like (dance music) is perfect in many situations. At the end I'm able to obtain very fantastic sound.
I really appreciated your work and I strongly reccommend to try the demo.

J. Piccione

April 21, 2012

What an Amazing Tool to add to your "Tool Box", just another great plug in to add nice warm Echo/Delay. A nice deviation and another step away from the digital norm. I never had or used a Hardware EchoPlex Tape Echo but this plugin is the bomb!
It sounds nice on everything, I love it on Guitar. Fabulous Plug In.

R. Stubbe

October 14, 2011

I bought this one yesterday and oh my god it is fantastic. It's exactly what i was hoping for. I've waited a long time for it. I knew how it would sound cause of all the audio examples of the hardware out there, and the records it has been used on.
It's that old school delay, that dub sound from Jamaica. A little smokey.
I love that slider, i love the self oscillation (amazing on guitars). This is a really unique delay. And it has that old feeling, like you're really working with tape.

T. Crystal

September 27, 2011

Without a doubt the best sounding Tape Echo Plug-In ever made! We've used an Echoplex for years. The EP-34 Tape Echo reacts and sounds like the real thing. Amazing!

C. Hilding

June 30, 2011

This is my go-to plugin for adding presence to lead sounds, guitars and vocals. Its sound is amazingly warm, and it is a great complement to the UAD RE-201 Space Echo for tape effects and the FF Timeless 2 for crazy modulation. It is not just a matter of lowpassing any of the latter either - the EP-34 really is in a league of its own in warmth. Trying a slapback mode on vocals cannot be described as anything other than pure bliss.

N. Zervos

June 30, 2011

very authentic sounding even though I have never heard the original. automate this puppy and ye will get the goods going.........

J. Vawter

June 18, 2011

I wasn't going to buy another delay, I had all I needed with the Cooper and the RE-201. Or so I thought. This thing is a beast, and only its DSP footprint prevents me from using it on darn near everything. The delays are mono - you can pan them left or right, but for a stereo wash, go for the RE-201. The delays distort in a wonderful way, making this thing magic on guitars, vocals, keys...nothing else sounds remotely like it. I tend to use it for subtle distortion, and it is flat out gorgeous.

R. Houben

June 17, 2011

Awesome vintage effect with still lots of control over it..

P. Damerau

June 17, 2011

Hi.
The EP-34 is one of my favourite plugins. I like the crunchy distortion and the warm echoes. It is harmonizing with my monophonic analogue synthesizer and guitar as well. What would i do without it? crying!

A. Maskens

June 17, 2011

This thing is so cool! I didn't have anything that could make this kind of tape echo sound and the UAD EP-34 is really something special. Not too bad on the DSP either. Really adds some vintage character to what you're working on

281-300 of 307 Results