FATSO™ Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

FATSO Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$199.00

You'll Save 33%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$199.00

You'll Save 33%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

341-353 of 353 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

L. Roccatagliati

June 16, 2011

Great compressor, always on my synth channels...warm and powerfull

J. Wenzel

June 16, 2011

This plugin has changed all my mixes for the better.

B. Demaa

June 15, 2011

I'm a huge fan of the Fatso Sr. It's really becoming an indispensable tool. weather I'm slamming a parallel drum buss, or taming transients, there's a lot of flavor to be had here. Which is not to say there aren't subtle users for it as well...

C. Soulos

May 29, 2011

Every drum track, every recording, sometimes on the mix buss.
You gotta saturate if you wanna be heard.
Love
Christopher

B. Tochilin

February 19, 2011

I used to have 2 analog machines a 2"24 trk, and a 1/2 2 trk. I do not miss the 24 trk but I do miss the 2 trk (but I do not miss the maintenance on it). Anyways I demoed the Studer plugin and well did not like it so much. But I LOVE the fatso! It sounds great on everything guitar bus's, drums, mastering, anything you put it on it sounds great. I bought the fatso last night.

Ive only got a solo card and you can only run 2 stereo fatso's on it, so I will be needing to buy a quad card so I can run this on 8 stereo bus's.

UA when are you going to come out with a Distressor plugin, I have a hardware one and would love a plugin version.

M. Trujillo

September 10, 2009

I find it amusing and annoying when people focus on the FATSO as being tape emulation device. I have owned an Empirical Labs Distressor and absolutely loved it's signature sound for getting gritty distorted compression that grabbed vocal tracks like no other compressor could (except some of Crane Song's stuff which is out of my budget). Point being that the FATSO is the only plug in I have ever heard -- and which I have been waiting for for so long -- that can get that Distressor sound. The FATSO is more of a compressor then anything else. Why reviewers and even UAD (and Empirical Labs as well) would even place "Analog Tape Simulator" before "Compression" in the headline describing the item makes no sense to me given that it's tape emulation capabilities are minor both in their effect (since tape emulation is a minor effect) and function with the unit. In short, the FATSO is amazing, absolutely AMAZING as a compressor -- for vocals in particular -- and the first and only plug in that I'm aware of that can get that Distressor sound. Priceless!!!! Given this, I could care less whether it sounds as good as any other tape emulation plug in since, to me, that's only ONE minor feature and possible use for the device. I have replaced my hardware Distressor with this plug in, it sounds that good.

M.

September 5, 2009

Seriously... Universal Audio has outdone themselves with the FATSO Jr/Sr!!
As an indie artist with an ear for experimentation and unconventional sounds... to where, lets face it, that territory comes with little income!! I love classic gear, but I can only afford one piece of unique or vintage hardware every 2 years (with my income).
But you guys have have changed all that, creating not only affordable, but f**king brilliant plug ins of some of the best gear in world, where I have only ever dreamed about owning!!

You guys just keep me inspired. Thanks a bunch!!

eos13
Producer/Mixer

B. Beez

August 3, 2009

i never hear the original FATSO, but the plugin sound is very very good !!! thanks Universal Audio *great job*

S. Barker

August 1, 2009

Love it !! simple to use and loads of analog juice saturation and tape goodness.You have to be careful not to over do it, stick to the presets as a guide and alter settings to get the desired results your after until you get used to it..... Any chance of the Empirical Labs Distressor now UAD pleeeeeaaaaase ?!!!

My only downer to the plugin is that i have a UAD 2 solo and one instance uses half its DSP, but the sound it produces makes up for it !!! I just bounce the track down i use it on and stick it on the mixdown at the end to glue the mix together.

Cheers UAD !!

J. Parsons

July 31, 2009

I thought the Neve 33609 was nice on the buss!!
But this is, (IMO) `The holy grail of Electronic digital music production`..PERIOD, its that good.....
Demo`d it on the master bus on some of my tracks i`m working on and it tottaly improved all areas of the sound...rich warm bass and warm valve`esque mids to highs.....
Sweet, Warm organic analogue processing...and seeing the hardware costs +£1000, its a great deal, with numerous plug counts (quad 2) and total recall, this will transform my productions in a great way.
Thankyou very much UAD, TOP JOB.

A. Oberholz

July 30, 2009

There it is!!
After playing around with the plug in for a few hours all I say:

It is a real creative tool may you cant go that crazy as with hardware but who cares it is a real tone shaper.
You can tweak your audio to different sounds without using an EQ or Compression.

Well done UAD it would be nice to see more and more Plug Ins which emulate the analogue behavior in this way.

Thats the only thing I miss the tones which hardware often do depending to the signal input level.
It would be great to see those plug ins more in the future even with different possibilities to get different tones form it so that not every mix sounds the same in the end.

It would be even nice to see a 1176,LA2A and Fairchild as well as Pultec second Edition!!!
With such an upgrade offer we could get more the saturation artifacts from those legendary units.

Congratulations on this plug in....a creative tool.

Andreas Oberholz
www.mixingroomberlin.de

J. Van

July 29, 2009

I would like to say: Congratulations! Another milestone in modelling I reckon. I'm waiting till the beginning of August to see if there's a coupon coming & then I'm getting it (coupon or not) Fantastic Job!

Z. Bejaoui

July 29, 2009

Oh my God!!!The dream came trough...now i can get all the fluffy bunies i ever wanted to get with my music!!!!

341-353 of 353 Results