FATSO™ Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

FATSO Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

341-360 of 369 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Shaber

June 17, 2011

This is a great processor for almost anything. Its results often seem very subtle until they are heard "in the mix." After using it on my tracks I can't imagine how lifeless my music used to sound. Tranny and warmth controls give a real essence to guitars, bass, drum overheads and vocals that are difficult to come by unless you are tracking with tape.

W. Clark

June 17, 2011

This is a tricky little monster! The first time I demoed this I didn't know what I was looking for, didn't read the manual and just glossed over the plug, because I was demoing a bunch of plugs at once. It didn't impress me. But as I got towards the end of my production I realized that a couple of tracks (one a hip hop thing, and the other kind of new age) could really use some warmth since they were produced entirely in the digital realm. So I came back to the Fatso, and this time read the manual.
I also watched a video and saw how many different functions are available here. The compression it gives is very musical to my ears. (Don't know how they manage to compress so well without it sounding warped and squashed, but I know its a Very complicated piece of circuitry.) The LEDs that let you know how far your going with processing are extremely helpful.
Its also very versatile on the master buss. It wasn't a very dense mix, so I was able to saturate just the instruments that needed it and it completely removed the digital harshness.
I put it on the master of a ballad and the whole track came to life. It has a very subtle and enriching quality. If you know what you want and what to listen for this might be the most versatile tool you can use.
Makes me want to go out and buy the hardware too!

K. Versteeg

June 17, 2011

Every now and then this plug is my "hero of the day". Especially the warmth function helps out with piercing guitars , cymbals and voices. Compressing and warming up at the same time. Love it!

M. Gray

June 17, 2011

Amazing buss compressor - period. Also great on vocals. Just an amazing piece of software. Probably my favorite plugin.

A. Maskens

June 17, 2011

Well what to say about this plugin? Never used the hardware but I've read lots of peoples reviews that say they cannot tell the difference, and I've seen people say that they got into the UAD system specifically for this emulation! What can I say? It's THAT good! Tons of character, unique, a must have IMHO

M. Alici

June 17, 2011

Would not want to do without this plug-in! Maybe not exactly like the hardware but incredibly handy and makes a huge difference on our mixes. Even use it on the Master:)

C. Mcclymont

June 17, 2011

This is one of my favorite plug-ins, it's so easy to overuse though, I find it most useful on drums.

C. Papastephanou

June 17, 2011

It sounds so like a real piece of hardware. We can fell the 'analog' thing here, that's amazing. The Fatso is great to beef up bass or drums and I use it all the time.

D. Pratt

June 17, 2011

I run all my vocals through this plugin. I have to render each vocal as it is a hungry plugin but that is quick and easy in Reaper. The result is vocals that sit really well together. I also run parallel comp for bass and drums through this plugin. I smash it till it sounds really unnatural and then just blend it in. It makes drums and bass sit really well together and gives a real depth to the mix.

V. Komarek

June 16, 2011

the best for analog harmonic distortion that realy works.

A. Gosden

June 16, 2011

The Fatso JNR is my go to plugin on the drum buss... Strapped across the drums, it not only controls their dynamics in an incredibly musical way, it just makes the drum kit sound much better overall - bigger & more harmonically complex & rich. I love starting with the "Fat Trans Tape" preset, & then adjust the input & output gains to suit the texture & volume needed for the track. When I need to provide a faux master of a client's track, I love using the Fatso Sr to add some warmth & density to the finished track. The added high pass side chain filter feature is great for getting a track compressed just right without undesireable "pumping" artifacts. The Fatso was the first plugin I purchased when I got my UAD2 card, & I have never regretted it for one second... I use it on every mix I do.

P. Didier

June 16, 2011

Pas évident de s'en servir au premier abord, ça colore beaucoup (comme les vrais), mention spéciale pour le générateur d'harmoniques artificielles !

A. Einbinder

June 16, 2011

A must for that FAT sound!
I also use it on bright drum loops to make em less bright/flashy

M. Hasan

June 16, 2011

The Fatso is extremely useful on just about anything you put it on but one of my favourite uses is strapping it on the Master Buss and just letting it saturate and mixing into the saturation. I normally keep the input to where the yellow lights blink in tempo with the song and on the occasional tom fill or something loud it might go to red which simply means more harmonic distortion is being generated when it lights red. I usually knock off 1 db on the buss type compressor setting and I also unlink the Fatso so that both left and right sides saturate independently. If you run this into a Master Nuss compressor like the 33609 or the SSL G Series you can get very powerful and dynamic mixes, which would sound quite different were you to strap on these 2 plugs after you're done mixing your track.

T. Morgan

June 16, 2011

I love the UA Fatso!
Owning vintage 1176's and LA-2A etc...I use this plugin on my drums buss and as bass and vocal parallel without thinking about a hardware comp.

N. Nolan

June 16, 2011

This is a VERY colorful compressor. If you're looking to slam something past pretty, here's your choice. I do think it sounds like tape on some settings. It smears your tracks nicely. I've used it on drum busses and even overall mix busses. Not an every day plug for me but worth the investment.

L. Roccatagliati

June 16, 2011

Great compressor, always on my synth channels...warm and powerfull

J. Wenzel

June 16, 2011

This plugin has changed all my mixes for the better.

B. Demaa

June 15, 2011

I'm a huge fan of the Fatso Sr. It's really becoming an indispensable tool. weather I'm slamming a parallel drum buss, or taming transients, there's a lot of flavor to be had here. Which is not to say there aren't subtle users for it as well...

C. Soulos

May 29, 2011

Every drum track, every recording, sometimes on the mix buss.
You gotta saturate if you wanna be heard.
Love
Christopher

341-360 of 369 Results