FATSO™ Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

FATSO Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

41-60 of 344 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Mccann

June 17, 2011

An excellent plug in that can really thicken and warm the sounds of drums. A little heavy on resources but obviously that's what it takes to emulate the hardware so well. A fair bit cheaper than the real thing with the added bonus of more control!
Cavan McCann Perth Australia

H. Tichborne

June 16, 2011

I have a real Fatso and this software sounds incredibly close! Definitely worth the price...

J. Seifried

June 16, 2011

Excellent emulation of the real thing. We haven't had it for long, but it's been invaluable since our hardware Fatso is currently out for repair. Every time we've reached for it it's provided exactly what we're use to hearing. It would be nice if it was 64 bit native though...

A. Oberholz

January 31, 2010

I demoed this plug in and I found it amazing as well.
It shows how far we can go today in the Plug IN World.

I did not bought it because I own hardware as well and for the saturation part I am covered.
I must say for the compression part this plug in is as well very usable and I would not market it as tape simulator because to me it does not sound like my tape machine in any way.

It has other qualities---- for example it could in the saturation part hold on very well with some of my tube hardware and sounded amazing near like gear.

I was very impressed with the SR option it made compression easy.

I just give four of five stars because I find the user interface not very handy.
It is not handy with the real HW Fatso this would be thing they could have fixed in the plug in world.

An more intuitive user interface would have helped a lot to get more excited about the FATSO plug in.

C. Allrich

November 22, 2013

OK, But Not Worth It.

Ran the 14 day demo to the ground on the fact that I've used the real deal in sessions with folks I've co-produced with, and I hate to be part of the camp that's unimpressed by this, but I am, so go ahead and thumb me down now.

Here's the thing, how many of these plugins do you really need? I all ready have tape simulators and saturators in my arsenal that do what this does with a friendlier UI.

The heavy load is another point against it. Why waste the precious DSP on this? I'd rather run my other lovely UAD plugs and reach for a tried-and-true saturator. And if I want the real deal, I'm aiming for Turzo's Overstayer hardware over a FATSO any day.

C. Huseyin

March 16, 2014

A Simulation of a Simulator

A multi purpose Software unit trying to simulate a Hardware unit that's trying to simulate Tape Saturation.

It doesn't feel analog.

Instead, it got some kind of strange enhancement that feels 'un-natural'. The tape simulation is kind of 'dense', the compressor is limited and the harmonic distortion also feels dense & rough.

The unit is trying to do too much and doesn't really excel in any of them.

It's a dense feeling unit. Try inserting on a bass drum to feel how dense the bottom end thud becomes. It feels like it would be good for Heavy Metal bass drums (when used very lightly) but other than that, it's not very versatile considering it's a 'multi-purpose' unit.

3 / 5

S. Hwang

September 26, 2013

You do not have measures fat ~ so ~

It makes the sound fat specifically. I use it mainly for bass fatten wailing loudly. Not only the base of geureotdago fattened. Overall flesh cry grimace and a particular instrument is not fatten. The important thing is to buy a lot of measures are taken to be steamed is a point of attraction. You also make a fat-free body weight measures so. It feels dry, the man Hulk.
Measures are happy with.

S. Gilroy

July 31, 2009

Wonderful! Another overpriced tape simulator/tape compression plug-in! After shooting out the Fatso against the old classic DUY dad tape, for hours on end on the drum, guitar, bass and vocal buss bus I have to say DUY takes the prize for subtlety and simplicity, not to mention better sound and tape algos. Although the DUY costs more IT IS better at what it does and I will not be shelling out for the fatso. For those who can't afford these overpriced tape plugs across the board, get the Iron Oxide, it comes close for about $50. PLEASE UAD and I am begging you, get the ball rolling with Tube Tech, Crane Song, GML, Thermionic Culture, Weiss, Prism and Manley. I'll be waiting.

D. Matkarimov

June 17, 2011

I use a drum group. A little complicated plugin;).

S. Rowe

April 6, 2013

GET THE DECAPITATOR

Sorry UAD.... I like a lot of your plugs, but the Decapitator from Soundtoys takes a steaming dump on this plug..

P. Cinquin

July 22, 2013

THE ONE

You can use it on every type of instrument, It will ring magic. ! It had been 2 years since I waited finally to be able to it offer myself.. A choice to be blindly made. Thaks UA

P. Cinquin

July 22, 2013

THE ONE

You can use it on every type of instrument, It will ring magic. ! It had been 2 years since I waited finally to be able to it offer myself.. A choice to be blindly made. Thaks UA

P. Cinquin

July 22, 2013

THE ONE

You can use it on every type of instrument, It will ring magic. ! It had been 2 years since I waited finally to be able to it offer myself.. A choice to be blindly made. Thaks UA

I. Papagiannidis

July 12, 2013

one of my best tools!

Fatso is for sure one of my top 5 favorite plugins!

from kick to vocals makes the sound so... in your face and so alive! revives every signal!
also very useful for making fx and tricks!

John Jeff Touch

producer/singer/songwriter

www.johnjefftouch.net
www.webartag.com

F. Giovannini

September 19, 2012

Nice sound but too demanding of cpu

Nice sound but too demanding of cpu.
I do not feel the need to add another.

D. Matkarimov

June 17, 2011

I use a drum group is not always difficult tak.Nemnogo plugin;). If it were possible, I would have changed this plugin. For example Studer ili Moog Filter .

S. Shogren

December 16, 2017

Love!

I don't know what it does under the hood, but it does it well! I demoed it a couple of times and finally bought it. I did a test song just to see what it can do and had my wife listen to it. She said "that sound like a professional song!" I may have a long way to go to be a professional but plugins like this always take things to the next level!

UAD User

December 7, 2017

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLUGIN!

There are a lot of really great plugins on UAD but this one of them that makes having a UAD essential. I know the Distressor just came out but to my ears this compressor has a bit more character and warmth to it but it's versatile enough that it can also be used much more subtly and fit on a master buss.

B. Wansbrough

December 1, 2017

Sounds FAT

I really like putting it on bass. All of a sudden the bass is there. It’s great you can use it on anything and everything.

B. Wansbrough

December 1, 2017

Sounds FAT

I really like putting it on bass. All of a sudden the bass is there. It’s great you can use it on anything and everything.

41-60 of 344 Results