Helios® Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Helios® Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Helios Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Overall Rating

301-320 of 342 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Murphy

March 13, 2018

Fantastic

Love the Helios!!

F. BOIC

March 13, 2018

Amazing!!!

Great sound under your fingers!!!

T. Marrison

March 12, 2018

Nice pre, great EQ

I actually bought this for the EQ, which sounds very open and reminiscent of my Thermionic Culture Freebird. The saturation is good too - I prefer the 1073 but nice to have this different flavour. Not sure these Unisons will replace my Aurora Audio pre yet but damn they're getting close! :)

J. Bauer

March 11, 2018

Great on guitars, drums, bass, and across mix busses

I rarely write comments about products unless I am either supremely pleased or very disappointed. This plugin falls into the former. I had another popular version of this pre/eq (HLS) by another company that I liked quite well and used on many projects until I switched to the UA Apollo platform. I made use of UA's Helios legacy version early on before discovering the SSL E and 1073 plugins. This new Helios is different from all of the aforementioned. It is very forgiving and the available frequencies and gain ranges of the pots are exceptionally musical and well judged. It also adds the most convincing sounding distortion that I have heard on any preamp plugin so far, and it is very easy to control the amount of clipping with the line/mic, mid, and gain controls. Works great on mix busses to add air at 10kHz and to tighten up bass. I have a feeling that this Helios has a few more tricks up its sleeve waiting to be discovered. Well done! I posted a sample here:
https://soundcloud.com/mellotronix/new-ua-helios-plugin

G. Jennings

March 7, 2018

One of the Coolest

I purchased the Helios 69 as soon as it came out. I put it in the unison position in my mic channel and was delighted to find I could get a crunchier tone on my voice with this one, than with the Neve 1073. I still sing with the Neve on some songs, but there's a huge need for what I'm hearing now. And besides singing, I've found a lot of the presets to be exactly what I was looking for on an instrument track. Also, I haven't really had a tube overdrive that didn't just break up wrong. With this channel strip, I just bump the trim up one click and certain things break up just right. If I want less I just throw a "gain" in front of it. The earlier helios was a go-to for me when I wanted mids. It always seems more effective than the pultec (which I love for that low end). But this is easier to work with and sounds even better. I would love to see a model of the helios mix buss.

T. Allen

March 6, 2018

Perfect for single coil guitars.

Really enjoyed the clean mids this brought out! Nice color. I’m mind blown by the unisen technology! Wish I had them all!

J. Fritsch

March 5, 2018

That’s Rock’n roll!

Amazing treatment of the mids and exklusive satuartion all over.

D. Bires

March 4, 2018

Does what it says. Smooth highs without the brittle.

I really like this Type 69 preamp because how it works and reacts with one particular mic. The "sm7b". In unison all I can say for me the matchup up is great. I also paired up with the EL 8 Distressor with it on vocals recording straight into my DAW. I have almost a perfect sound going right in. I feel UA is right about the Highs in the EQ where they sound true and not so brittle. Also when I made slight high end adjustments it was really easy to dial in a near perfect vocal right out the gate. Just a super nice unison plugin. I am actually starting to trust UA's unison technology over my hardware preamps more and more.

J. North

March 4, 2018

Great for Tracking

Insane mids and great saturation for tracking with Apollo interfaces.

T. Wettstein

March 4, 2018

The best EQ so far

So smooth and rich. I'm absolutely amazed. No comparison to the legacy version.

R. Panossian

March 3, 2018

My new favourite !

It didn’t take much for this to be my new favourite preamp, it sounds just perfect for voice and guitars to give them that in your face kind of colour and presence, give it a try and you won’t be able not to keep thinking of it until you buy it. I love it ! I just wished the gain increments where not by 10db

N. Dettenbach

March 3, 2018

wow and wow

This thing is really wow!...
...and could be the next UAD classic after the big Neve preamp. For me, this is a full step forward from the Neve. The colours are highly musical, even if driving hot and bold, without getting mppfffh in any way (as the very most other digital emus on the market). May be i've heard to much Hendrix Vinyls as i was a kid, but this one beamed me into a new analog emu dimension. This is analog emu as it should be and i'm still deeply in thinking / fiddling with these palette on modern sound / music genres.
UAD - you nailed it! thank you!

m. adragna

March 3, 2018

simply amazing

I already had and love the helios eq (my to go for electric guitar and snare), now with the unison preamp I can already get that sound in recording

T. Platt

March 3, 2018

A Real "Blast From the Past" !

I learned to engineer using this mic. pre. and EQ. I instantly recognised the character and warmth from those old Helios consoles at Basing Street. A particular feature that you have captured is the ability to drive the mic. pre. that gives a distinct "bite" without harshness. My hybrid recording console has taken yet another step towards perfection!

J. Appel

March 2, 2018

A bit fuller

A long time fan of the Waves version of the 69, I find that, like most UA versions, the Helios 69 is fuller and richer sounding. Really like what it can do to vocals.

J. MESSINA

March 2, 2018

Very Musical

I always liked the hardware version of the Helios EQ. This UAD Helios Type 69 Preamp and EQ is killer. The pre has a 'fat' and 'warm' color to it. I love the musicality of the EQ. It's a handy tool, to have, for those files that need some 'in your face' life.

P. Williams

March 1, 2018

great on vocals

This will become my go-to on vocals, with just a touch of EQ on the way through. It has a big, smooth vintage vibe on tenor vocals. When I want a grittier, modern sound I will continue to use the API channel, but as of right now this seems like the best all around vocal unison strip that they've released. (I own most of them). To me it kind of does the Neve coloration thing but is not so scooped, vocals just sit right in the mix without much fuss. Very impressed.

m. james

March 1, 2018

Home run!

Loved the now legacy version. They've taken it up a few levels. Can't wait to try it in Unison!

M. Cox

March 1, 2018

Great with a few shortcomings

Love the tone and color of the product, but I'm definitely not in love with the +4/-4 db increments on the top band.

D. Gallucci

March 1, 2018

Amazing

I used to own four type 69 reissues and this plug in sounds so much better than those ever did. It's one of the first plug ins I've heard that instantly added a true analogue sound to anything I put it on.

301-320 of 342 Results