Helios® Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Helios® Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Helios Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Overall Rating

301-320 of 330 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

m. adragna

March 3, 2018

simply amazing

I already had and love the helios eq (my to go for electric guitar and snare), now with the unison preamp I can already get that sound in recording

T. Platt

March 3, 2018

A Real "Blast From the Past" !

I learned to engineer using this mic. pre. and EQ. I instantly recognised the character and warmth from those old Helios consoles at Basing Street. A particular feature that you have captured is the ability to drive the mic. pre. that gives a distinct "bite" without harshness. My hybrid recording console has taken yet another step towards perfection!

J. Appel

March 2, 2018

A bit fuller

A long time fan of the Waves version of the 69, I find that, like most UA versions, the Helios 69 is fuller and richer sounding. Really like what it can do to vocals.

J. MESSINA

March 2, 2018

Very Musical

I always liked the hardware version of the Helios EQ. This UAD Helios Type 69 Preamp and EQ is killer. The pre has a 'fat' and 'warm' color to it. I love the musicality of the EQ. It's a handy tool, to have, for those files that need some 'in your face' life.

P. Williams

March 1, 2018

great on vocals

This will become my go-to on vocals, with just a touch of EQ on the way through. It has a big, smooth vintage vibe on tenor vocals. When I want a grittier, modern sound I will continue to use the API channel, but as of right now this seems like the best all around vocal unison strip that they've released. (I own most of them). To me it kind of does the Neve coloration thing but is not so scooped, vocals just sit right in the mix without much fuss. Very impressed.

m. james

March 1, 2018

Home run!

Loved the now legacy version. They've taken it up a few levels. Can't wait to try it in Unison!

M. Cox

March 1, 2018

Great with a few shortcomings

Love the tone and color of the product, but I'm definitely not in love with the +4/-4 db increments on the top band.

D. Gallucci

March 1, 2018

Amazing

I used to own four type 69 reissues and this plug in sounds so much better than those ever did. It's one of the first plug ins I've heard that instantly added a true analogue sound to anything I put it on.

D. Gallucci

March 1, 2018

Amazing

I used to own four type 69 reissues and this plug in sounds so much better than those ever did. It's one of the first plug ins I've heard that instantly added a true analogue sound to anything I put it on.

S. Chahley

March 1, 2018

Pure rock'n roll dirty sex....

No more words needed. Essential if 'coloured' tones make you smile. Forget the rest, Helios is best......

P.S. I agree with the criticism of only 4 dB steps on the 10k shelf, but couldn't bring myself to remove any stars because this EQ/pre is THAT GOOD......how about making the gain switchable between 2 and 4 dB steps???

T. Howard

March 1, 2018

Great Sound. Too expensive and a DSP hog.

Noticed a significant sonic difference as soon as I kicked it in. Especially acoustic guitars and lead guitar sounds. On a bass track it was truly exceptional! Even with UAs heavy pricing scheme, I would struggle not to give this 5 stars. As the title suggests, this guy takes up a good chunk of DSP. Be aware of that. I cannot wait to use this on more stuff.

M. DiSanto

March 1, 2018

Favorite EQ just got way better

Loved the legacy version for EQ but the added character of the new version makes an incredible difference. Just insert on a few tracks with no EQ and A/B. Seems to add a beautiful kind of low-end weight.

only (very minor) complaint is that the frequency locations differ from original so it’s impossible to a/b the eq with the original. not that there’s any doubt that it sounds better.

L. Colan

March 1, 2018

In perspective ....

If I had just bought a piece of hardware that does what the Helios does I'd be extremely happy. I'd be using words like 'smooth', 'detailed', 'open', 'warm' ... and I'd be congratulating the hardware company for successfully re-inventing the wheel.
OK the CPU hit is high, but to put it in perspective the average cost of a Sharc processor is about £100 - £150 referencing the Satellite's range of price points. In effect UAD have indeed re-invented the wheel and then offered me the option to buy more of the units at around £100 per stereo unit with the option of using that processor for anything else when it's not on Helios duties.
No complaint here.

U. Borjesson

February 28, 2018

Smoothest midrange ever...

Since the great legacy Helios plug came along I have used it freqvently and was curious on this new update. The new one really did make my day.
The midrange knob is the most beautiful midrange I have heard. So smooth, so detailed, so ”bring sounds up front” !

Also the low end are wonderful, the 60hz on a kickdrum, makes the whole drumkit better.

Love this plug and use it allways.

S. Healey

February 28, 2018

Another Great Tonal Option for Unison

I use the Helios 69 EQ on certain drum applications and bass. To now have the preamp with Unison is really great. I can't say I've had the privilege to work on a Helios console, but I tracked drums and acoustic guitar today with the UAD plug and the results were outstanding. It's not a huge DSP killer either which is nice. It's another nice tonal option for the tool kit!

C. Davis

February 28, 2018

Helios 69

I love the New Helios 69! It’s works on anything
I use it for especially on my snare drum

A. Brits

February 28, 2018

A Brilliant Update

I really enjoyed the previous version of this plug, loved it on guitars and anything that needed to be 'brought forward' in a mix. However, my only gripe was that sometimes it was a little too heavy-handed.

The updated version is more subtle, and of course, the ability to drive the pre-amp on a source is amazing. The distortion that can be achieved is truly spectacular! 2db steps on the 10k shelf would be appreciated, but it's still quite useable on darker (ribbon mics) sources.

As ever, thank you guys so much!

N. Davidge

February 28, 2018

Classic

I love this eq, it does magic things, makes anything sound better

V. SMITH

February 27, 2018

Favorite EQ for guitars!

I've always been a fan of the Helios plug in but to have it as a unison pre amp is a dream come true!

A. Lifeson

February 27, 2018

BIG!

"I've been working on a few diverse and fun guitar projects lately and reviewed some of the tracks I'd recorded utilizing the Neve, API and SSL pre's and channel strip plug ins. I was quite satisfied with the results but thought I'd pop the Helios Type 69 Preamp and EQ on a few of the acoustic guitar tracks I recorded just to see what it would sound like. OMG! Honestly, I was blown away by how great it sounds. The depth and dynamics were immediately apparent when the mids of the acoustic popped out, exposing more detail but great cohesiveness and height. It was very dimensional, warm and round. I'd strongly recommend this gem of a plug in."

301-320 of 330 Results