UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Helios® Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Helios® Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Helios Type 69 Preamp and EQ Collection

Overall Rating

81-100 of 342 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

I. Inkilä

August 1, 2020

The sound of rock n roll

The Helios definitely adds that special something heard throughout the good old Led Zeppelin and The Rolling Stones records. I can't recommend it enough!

E. Zambrano

July 29, 2020

Monster

Super versatile

C. Kiasi

July 24, 2020

Precise and smooth

Really precise and smooth. Worth trying out the demo for yourself. But Im getting good results.

G. Felkins

July 19, 2020

Supreme Midrange JUICE!!

A fantastic saturation and presence tool for midrange bite and brute!! Great for vocals and guitars and anything that needs shaping in the midddle!!!!

A. Phillips

July 15, 2020

Punchy

Just put it in the chain and it adds a little somethin somethin. I have all the Unison pre's and this one more times than not makes it's way into the chain. I haven't use it enough on Vocals to say yah or nah but on instruments it's a big yah!

N. Bluhm

July 14, 2020

Does what they say: colorful eq / saturation

Someone said I’d like this paired with my SM7b on some rap vocals. I do. The grit it adds particularly in the highs is definitely unique. So I used it on that vocal, then threw it on a synth bass on the same track, and I was happy enough with both to buy it. I don’t think this is one of those “foundational” plugins per se, especially if you only have a handful of UAD stuff so far, but if you want something to make a vocal bite, be it rock or industrial or lofi or old school hip-hop, it’s definitely interesting. I will use it again but I’m not sure yet if it will become a permanent fixture on my vocal chain. Might be too specific. We shall see.

P. Mulders

July 13, 2020

Beauty at its finest!

Ads depth and richness to any source of audio without sounding harsh on the top end like some Neve models. My friend did a comparison test on acoustic guitars with api, neve1073, ua610AB, avalon, ssl E and voxbox, and the Helios came out best. Beautiful plugin, highly recommended for guitar players.

J. Griffin

July 10, 2020

Raw Beauty

Its a remarkable plugin and been using it to great effect on vocals. Of those that I own, the Helios is my number 1 for honesty, in the room type projects where you want that bare bones raw sound. It has a peculiar quality of delivering this rawness but in a wonderfully controlled way. Its my personal favorite.

T. Trimble

July 3, 2020

Neve 1084... or Helios?

I do a lot of acoustic guitar and mandolin recording. I purchased the Neve 1084 plugin (which is awesome) at the recent release, and then remembered how good the legacy Helios plugin sounded on acoustic guitar. I demo'd the new Type 69 against the 1084 on acoustic and the Helios won that battle to my ears. Both plugins are awesome, but while the 1084 is polished, controlled and somewhat processed sounding, the Helios is live, raw, with more depth in the mix. It seems to take a few seconds after engaging to hear the full impact of the plugin. I use Superior Drummer 3 (Al Schmidts Decades pack) and the Helios sounds fantastic on the Neve Summing Buss in LUNA. I was so impressed with the plugin I starting looking into the original circuitry to see if I can build a couple hardware versions.

If you do any acoustic work in your recordings try the Type 69. I click the line gain to 30 and bring the fader down about 8db, set the 10K to +8 and the 3.5K to ~11 o'clock and.... Wow! At $99 (or less with a coupon) I think it's a steal!

M. O'Connor

June 30, 2020

Magical sparkle!

Brilliant plugin. It seems to add a warmth and sparkle to every I do!

M. O'Connor

June 30, 2020

Magical sparkle!

Brilliant plugin. It seems to add a warmth and sparkle to every I do!

M. O'Connor

June 30, 2020

Magical sparkle!

I don't think I use any of this stuff to its full potential but this is wonderful. It seems to add a little something to everything - it's hard to put your finger on exactly what but it makes everything sound better!

M. O'Connor

June 30, 2020

Magical sparkle!

I don't think I use any of this stuff to its full potential but this is wonderful. It seems to add a little something to everything - it's hard to put your finger on exactly what but it makes everything sound better!

M. Adelmann

June 29, 2020

Punch And Clarity

This plug in is a great tool to give your guitar tone just that special punch and clarity to cut through your mix. Very versatile and works amazing on bass tones as well!!!! A keeper!!!!

M. Bláha

June 24, 2020

Nice warming sound

Perfect Vintage Preamp and EQ in UNISON channel .. my piano is in the sound heaven.

I. Sisko

June 22, 2020

My Favorite

This one works for me, the sound is big und punchy and the midrange is perfect.

R. Deitch

June 18, 2020

Classic with versatility

Love this plugin. Sounds amazing on lead guitar. You can dial in how gritty it gets and the eq is very sensitive. I've used both the regular and the legacy, both are fantastic

A. Pashka

June 18, 2020

Vintage Guitar Sound

I don't do a lot of rock stuff, but when I do this is what I use to shape the guitar sound. This brings the past to life. If you're looking for that classic rock sound for your guitars, look no further!

B. Isaak

June 15, 2020

My Dirty Little Secret

Crank the input up to 60 or 70 and take a little 10k out, and your distorted guitar tone is rockin'. I love the harmonics this preamp adds. It sounds so real. It does much better than most of the other UAD unison preamps at adding distortion. Don't get me wrong, I love my V76 and API Vision plugins, but the Helios is the perfect dirty addition.

P. McLaughlin

June 10, 2020

Guitar go-to.

Probably other stuff as well but I love it for guitars. It's fairly straightforward but just has a great mid range focus. If you want a musical eq to make a guitar pop this is my recommendation and will probably be the first eq i reach for after doing the customary high pass on a no transparent eq.

81-100 of 342 Results