Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

181-200 of 244 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

K. Hegyi

April 17, 2015

Absolutely love it!

We had one of these back in the day at University and I used it all the time and ever since I got the plugin it put me back into those days. It's so nice so warm and just beautiful on everything. It's a subtle effect but it makes everything sound just better!

10/10

D. DiPietro

April 14, 2015

Maybe it's just me....

As a plug-in stereo compressor it's great- just like a lot of stereo compressors in UA's catalog. I've used the Vari-Mu plug-in in a wide variety of situations and it works fine. But when comparing it to the 10 year old Manley Vari-mu in my rack (recently modified with the HP SC option), the plug-in just doesn't carry the same "weight" as the hardware. The hardware version just has some magical glueness to it that the plug-in doesn't. Maybe I'm just used to my particular hardware version sonic character -using something every day for 10 years, things tend to grow on you. Maybe it was modeled after the tube switch?
So for me it's the hardware version going in and sub-bus on mixes and the plug-in for channels for a little extra as needed.

C. Mileski

April 13, 2015

Gorgeous

I own the 670 mkII & SHMC. I initially thought the VariMu might be redundant, I assure you, it is NOT. It has a sound all its own. It does have a sublime 'glue' factor. It has less edge than the 670 but does still manages to impart a polite, silky top that is all class. I tend to like it best working at ~ -2 dB's of G.R., more than that & I can start hearing the comp work a bit too much for my tastes; unlike the 670 which seems to sound just fine when pushed harder. However, an argument could be made: a decent mix shouldn't really need much more than -2dB's of G.R., yes? Ill be reaching for this on every mastering project moving forward. I'll A/B it against the 670 & occasionally try it against the SHMC too. I expect it will be quite a star

E. Ambel

April 11, 2015

I've had the hardware version since the year it came out...

We've loved having the hardware Vari-Mu at Cowboy Technical Services in Brooklyn. It's such a great, musical compressor. I remember EveAnna Manley excitedly showing it to us at the AES Show in NYC. It's been used on every recording that's come out of our place since then. I'm very familiar with the sound of the hardware unit. It's terrific to be able to use this one in addition when mixing. Also terrific to be able to use it when mixing ITB. It behaves just like the one I've used to and has some added features beyond that. Thanks a bunch for your hard work on this one.

T. Friesecke

April 10, 2015

really good tool.

i looked for a stereo-compressor, which is easy to handle and i found it.
nice!

A. Lawson

April 9, 2015

Beautiful.

What a beautiful compressor. This has to be one of the best plugs I have ever had on my master buss. The input is amazing. Glued everything together like nothing I have used before. Awesome!

R. Sandor

April 7, 2015

excellent sound

excellent sound, thick but transparent, waiting API 2500?

K. Ross

April 6, 2015

Love It!!

This is the perfect plugin for when you wanna slap a compressor for a ton of gain reduction but don't wanna hear pumping or artifacts and still somehow maintain dynamics... Really a great job medeling the hardware. GREAT JOB, UA!

M. Ape

April 6, 2015

Good buy.

Por ahora lo utilizo en buses estereo, pues aun no logro sacarle máximo provecho en canales individuales. La verdad no sé si se acerca lo suficiente a la versión hardware original, pero me gusta como suena y se comporta en la mezcla, fue una buena compra.
Lo negativo, no hay manual en español, cada día son más sus clientes de habla hispana y sería bueno considerarlos.
(Traducido pot Google traductor)
For now I use it in stereo buses, because even I can not get most out into individual channels. Truth does not know if it's close enough to the original hardware version, but I like the sound and behave in the mix, it was a good buy.
The negative, not manual in Spanish, every day more Hispanic customers and would be good to consider them.

N. Franks

April 6, 2015

BEST COMP PLUG!

This thing is just amazing and transparent. Whether it makes the cut compared to the real one I cannot say but having only demoed it I am seriously sweating at the excitement of owning it! It wasn't even on my top list of things to but but its sound is just so impressive it is a must have and will be getting it now! Have have it! Demo it you will see!

M. Smith

April 3, 2015

My new buss comp!

I love this thing! I was using the UA Neve comp for buss compression mostly till I tried this. I've done a few mixes and this is my new go to buss compressor! The reviews about how much DSP it used had me a little worried, but I've had no issues at all!

B. Schulz

April 3, 2015

Your music seems to be breathing

I use this plugin on the two bus only is has a suble unique effect I would de describe as : Your Music seems to be breathing, it humanizes. All mixes sound more natural and less technical when you are mixing in the box.

For this purpose the compressor is unique. For compression on single instruments I would not use it.

J. Liston

March 24, 2015

Nice glue and warmth

This plugin sounds so good. I already have the LA2A, 1176, and Fairchild collections so I was on the fence about buying another compressor. But after demoing it and doing some mastering work with it I was floored. Well, the first time I used it I wasn't, but after reading the manual and going back to it I was! Definitely buying this

M. Vila Nova

March 21, 2015

Glue and character

Amazing recreation of the original with added benefits. I might take the HW out of my wish list... Once again, UAD at its best!

D. Fore

March 20, 2015

Decent Alternative to the Hardware

After using the plugin for awhile now, I agree that it does a nice job of compressing cleanly and is a useful tool. But I still find that the hardware has the mojo that isn't fully realized in the plugin. I'm not sure why the meters are different between the two either. On the hardware, a lot of time is spent in the .5 to 2dB range so I kind of miss that on the plugin. Overall, a worthy purchase but I'm not parting with the hardware just yet.

B. Miranda

March 19, 2015

Clean compressing!!!

This took a while for me to get comfortable with. This compressor can crush without sounding like it is compressing. It's so clean. I never used the hardware version, but who cares. It sounds great and does the job. I use this on my drum bus and it sounds great!!

P. Roumeliotis

March 16, 2015

Like a Ghost. You can see through it but you know its there!

Whoa. Never bothered to write a review before, in my life. Blown away. Own a lot of plug ins. Several manufacturers. When they indicate that it is transparent, they should mean it. This one delivers the goods. So subtle but you hear the difference. I use the outboard one. But man, the cost difference and what it delivers? I have learnt in time, to try out the products and be my own judge. And this one, man! Don't take my word for it, for now. But try it. Then respond, if I'm wrong. I still have not purchased it as of yet. I will soon. Good work UAD.

L. Franchi

February 26, 2015

smooth and beautiful

Tried and immediately bought, smooth and beautiful as stroking the skin of a beautiful woman, I have the hardware in my studio to make comparisons, but I used it in other studies and mastering the plugin like

P. Geiser

February 14, 2015

favorite 2mix compressor

ive tied the ssl buss and the neve bus and the shadow hills, this was by far my favorite 2mix compressor to use in the box. very versatile and very powerful and musical

F. Mejia

February 11, 2015

Amazing

It is what we have been missing on UAD! I am amazed with the sounds i've been getting from it! Highly recomended!

181-200 of 244 Results