UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

241-260 of 263 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

Y. Chistyakov

December 11, 2014

Manley Variable Mu

interesting version of Manly. Works very well. extensive customization options. including limiter and ballance between the effect and the direct sound. good at mastering too. I also enjoy. Thank you UA

K. Ishikawa

December 10, 2014

far from the oriiginal

this is way far from the original one. since I've using the hardware unit 8 years. and there are not the mix using vary mu. I was expecting this could be the good replacement. but it is nothing like the real one. i can not even use as the placement when i really need that sound.

B. Prosko

December 10, 2014

Great Job!

After doing a shoot out of all my Buss Compressors the Manley clearly had something different to offer that i didn't hear in the others. The smooth transparency of it made it a instant go to and is currently sitting on all my mixes. Thx for the great product once again!!

B. Berkovic

December 9, 2014

Great

Hi Uad Team,Big Thank You for such a great emulations.

M. T

December 8, 2014

Sounds Like it Looks "Flat"

The front of this plugin looks great:)

Unfortunately you can't see the sides, the top or the back
of the unit.... and that's exactly how it sounds:
"Flat"
It seems like they wanted to make sure this one was out in
time for the holidays..
Maybe they'll be an update after they make enough money?

D. Powell

December 7, 2014

great, like the hardware

I've used the hardware version on many projects.... the two heaviest engineers I know in Nashville have it on their mix buss all the time. The UAD version made me smile as I watched that needle do about 2-4 dB of compression and add the same kind of magic glue. One of my friends who has a real one in town has issues with one side not being as hot as the other..... which you can make work.... but with the software version of course you have flawlessness and the cream of the crop, and other options, like the sidechain and the m/s feature. It's just great.... if you want a buss compressor that isn't neutral but isn't overly dark or overly warm either, this is for you......

B. Jester

December 6, 2014

VIBE, VIBE, VIBE

This thing as so much vibe and character that it will become the goto compressor for you tracking in through Apollo or adding flavor to your mixes! I Do say get it as soon as possible! It''s Killer.

C. Farrell

December 4, 2014

Beautiful

The sound from this compressor is just stunning. I cannot speak for the replication against the hardware, but it will always be a vital part of my mastering chain.

A. Holdsworth

December 3, 2014

Brilliant BUT...

There are some bits of equipment that are not just useful, not just essential, but magical... An original C12, a Telefunken V72, an 1176 and a Vari-Mu fit into this category for me.

I'm delighted that UAD have made this plugin, I bought it as soon as I heard it. From a compression point of view it does exactly what the hardware version does, but without the magic.

I was fascinated to see whether UAD would be able to faithfully represent the warmth and depth of the original - the fact that it makes your vocals sit a foot in front of the speakers rather than just in between them. In my opinion they haven't achieved this, but those clever chaps at Universal Audio can't do it, I guess it's impossible.

But it's 1/10 the cost of the original!

B. Lederer

December 1, 2014

Holy Moly!

I own the Hardware and I was afraid, that the plugg couldn´t hold up to the Manley. I made so many test, switchin between Hardware and UAD, back and forth. There is a difference: the Hardware is a bit more 3d and a bit more pleasant through the whole spectrum. But anyhow the difference is not worth more than 3grand. Many thanx for your great work UAD: this plugin is a nobrainer. Stunning!

D. Caruso

November 28, 2014

UAD2 Manley Variable MU Compressor

This is the best compressor I have ever used, and is not heavy on Resource consumption. Great for tracking and Mastering. Well worth the money....

J. Moreland

November 25, 2014

You'll use this every day

There are very few tools you can invest in that will immediately allow your spare bedroom studio to produce music that sounds like it came out of a pro facility. This is one of them. If you just bought an Apollo Twin and you're trying to decide which compressor to buy. This is the one (followed very closely by the 1176 collection - with the both of them, all of your bases are covered). On your individual tracks, it's all velvety smoothness. On a mix buss, it has the unique ability to make every bad mix decision you make seem interesting or boundary pushing - and always better sounding coming out than it was going in.

B. Busch

November 21, 2014

Here's the difference maker!

I have been mixing for 20 years this year and very rarely have I run across something that I can't live without. This is one of those pieces. I have to mix fast a lot of the time so I love when I find gear that glues a mix together super quick and yet doesn't sound like I spent 20 minutes on it. That's what Vari Mu does. I literally slapped this on a rough mix I had going and it immediately sounded like I had been dialing in the mix in for an hour. Love that! You will too. It adds a little top end and clarity to the mix too!

C. Farrell

November 20, 2014

The Compressor/Limiter

This is the nicest compressor plug-in I have ever used. Crisp and clean with all the tube character and warmth. I can't speak about the comparison to the hardware but I can say it just sounds right how I want it to.

L. Hughes

November 18, 2014

Phenomenal!

Will you stop releasing such ridiculously good plugins please? Everytime I think I have everything I could possibly need you release something else that blows me away. This thing stinks on the 2-bus. Amazing.

L. Nicolas

November 15, 2014

Woooowww

The real Analog sound in your computer !!
Amazing

S. Othniel

November 14, 2014

Manley Variable Mu Limiter.....WOW!!!!!!!

Ok....so I tested this plugin and I was speechless. I wish UAD had made this to go through the unison on the apollo. These days I do not buy new plugins if I have one that can do what a new on the market plugin does. but this is now on my must have list. This plugin does the mid-side compression sooo good that phasing is minimal, it doesn't hurt my ears when I drastically widen a track. This plugin is a bad ass.

P. Moshay

November 14, 2014

vs the Hardware = 10/10

Having owned the hardware Manley Vari-Mu for many years, this plug is one of the most faithful recreations yet.
If you have not tried a Vari-Mu across your mix buss just for adding flavor and mojo, you are missing out.

A. Tarasenko

November 13, 2014

Well Done, Guys!

Does the job, sounds amazing, especially on stereo-bus. Kudos, you're best.

G. Armandine

November 13, 2014

BEST SOUNDING PLUGIN EVER

I'm Impressed!! THIS IS THE BEST EMULATION EVER, I think we might be seeing a lot more of these units on eBay. This plugin is pretty much like 90-95% close to the original to my ears.

241-260 of 263 Results