Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

161-180 of 247 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Leiria

January 27, 2016

No pumping allowed

I don't know about the hardware, but this plug-in compressor it's kind of magic. I tried to compress the sh*t out of a track and it was really hard to get a bad sound even at really high db reductions. A friend told me that It can never emulate the hardware but at this price it does a really good job imo, been siting in my master bus since I got it coupled with the massive passive. Tried it in pianos and it's really impressive what you can get out of it and you get a less colored and noisy tone that the Fairchild for example in pianos.

S. Hudson

January 19, 2016

manley vari mu compressor

What great plug. Very versatile, primary use is on the output bus
Where it adds abit of focus. In this situation the lows get abit warmer
And the top end gets abit of air or sizzle. (If dialed in with a subtle
Pump).
As for mastering. Its a dream. And simple to get great results.
Like other vari mu comps for those familiar. Abit Like a 1176 the allows the
Threshold to adjusted.
In the mix. Its just as friendly. Very suitable for individual inst or stems.
Im finding the ms mode is helpfull on stems and can really help
Put some life back into flat or dull sections. My go to comp for
Pre recorded material.
Very happy with this product.

S. Jensen

January 18, 2016

My new go to Master compresser!

I use this in the mix and also after for the mastering process. It just on it own adds life to my output wave file's. Yes, I would recommend this to anyone. Just getting started or the seasoned veteran audio guru!

UAD User

January 14, 2016

매우 자연스러운 조정

전체의 믹스를 아주 자연스럽고 긴밀하게 연결해준다.
매우 마음에 든다.

j. panno

January 13, 2016

Vari Mu is one of my favorites!!

Adds a rich depth to anything its added to. Musical, clean and oh so transparent! Thanks UAD, you guys are the best!!

N. Alfia

January 7, 2016

Var-Mu

Wow what a Beast
So, i have just entered the UAD kingdom, and this is one of my first purchases
i do not familiar with the original hardware unit, so i have nothing to compare to,
but this compressor is very very good, while i love the 1176 and the signature sound of it for a long time, now i have another compressor with it's own special characteristics, I really like the nice 'Shine' it gives and extra openness for a track
the nicest i think is the Mix control so can do a parallel compression, and give my drums this little extra.
kick and bass also can be compressed for the glue it gives.

and of course on the master bus. its really sticking out.

defiantly one i will use a lot in my productions

N. PITLOGLOU

January 3, 2016

Master buss perfection

This is the best plugin master compressor ever.
I was thinking to buy a hardware until I tried the demo of the uad manley vari mu.
Bought it immediatelly and I have already use it to master 2 cds.
Everybody stayed happy.
Me, my clients and Universal Audio. :)
Happy new year!

R. Morrison

December 30, 2015

A good emulation of the hardware

I've used the hardware unit many times for mix bus compression and really enjoy it's ability to smoothly control the dynamics, imparting a hint of smooth creaminess to the sound. Particularly for acoustic jazz and orchestral (film score) mixes. Up to 4dB reduction on the meters feels very natural sonically. The plug in retains this character, particularly it's compression characteristic (behaves very much the same); perhaps a little less creaminess than the hardware, but nonetheless, a very good emulation.

J. Rostrup

December 11, 2015

Silkey smooth

My go to comp, for every thing.

If I should start fresh with UA plugs, this would be my purchase number 4.

b. forbes

October 12, 2015

Breathtakingly Pristine

I have the Apollo Quad and an Octo card in a Mac pro. This compressor really shines... I'd say more Hi-Fi than the Fairchild. What a glow and blanket it wraps your mixes in. It's something really beautiful.

H. Petersson

October 8, 2015

One of the best

I had ignored this one for a long time thinking I had enough compressors already. Then I did the mistake of demoing it, and what it did on my master bus just made me smile. After some time of trying to convince myself not to, I just could not keep myself from buying it.
I have been continuously impressed at how well it handles a wide variety of sources. It's so smooth, gentle and transparent while at the same time adding a nice sheen to everything it touches. It's not a heavy character like the 1176, but rather a nice touch.

My only regret is that I got the Fairchild before this one, because I can't see myself picking it over the Vari Mu. So if you are on the fence of buying he Fairchild, make sure to demo this before you do!

A. Momsyakov

October 2, 2015

Brilliant

Brilliant !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P. Lordo

October 1, 2015

Highly Recommended

I bought this and pretty much use it on Vocals as well as a Bus Conpressor. Sounds nice and warm, and actually very easy to use.

UAD User

August 20, 2015

That sound

The sound your looking for but cant quite reach with anything else..game changer.. Wicked on transients

J. Roye

August 3, 2015

Killer Plugin

Great sounding plugin! Who cares if its not a 100% match to the hardware unit?

Sits on my mix bus all day. every day.

G. Hadfield

July 29, 2015

Best mix bus compressor plugin

If ever there was a plugin that just makes almost everything sound better glued together, it's this one.

As with the Manley Massive Passive I found that it was all about making small and subtle changes and not sculpting massive chunks. So really a finsher and polisher in the best possible way.

D. Sokolov

June 2, 2015

This is my reference of compressors!!!

It just works perfectly with DI bass and Kick! All that passes through it becomes denser and thicker. UAD Thanks for the great work!

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

the ghost compressor

the absolute gluing compressor. so smooth and invisible...
no matter the amount of comp... it sounds great!
www.johnjefftouch.net

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

the ghost compressor

the absolute gluing compressor. so smooth and invisible...
no matter the amount of comp... it sounds great!
www.johnjefftouch.net

M. Altieri

May 7, 2015

i like so much

I read many reviews about the success of this compressor, it is true at the beginning you expect sensational things, do not know the hardware I saw comparisons on youtube but mostly I listened well is damn clean and I like!It gives him his sound clean and velvety with that particular tone on average. My conclusion?It is set to be well adjusted the gain to give the right dynamic and not just pat the compressor with two knobs!It has its own parameters and must be used. different from the original, as you all hardware compared to the plugin, but it's pretty close to me !!! and how can this universal audio other known brands of plugins have some way to go since among other things the price at which they sell them. i love this plug

161-180 of 247 Results