Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley Variable Mu® Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

41-60 of 167 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

N. Hemple

March 29, 2018

I think the prices need to come down.

Maybe it’s 1/10 of the hardware, but it’s not the hardware. Hardware has real switches and knobs and you can touch it. It’s also magical. This is a digital compressor that is claiming to model the hardware, but if it’s not 100 it’s not it & it’s not gonna have that record sound. However, it’s still useful if you learn how to compensate. But This plugin should be no more than $100.

J. Lesueur

March 19, 2018

Nice emulation

I recently bought a Vari Mu hardware so I could compare them a little a bit. And I must say the UAD plugin is very good. The only thing is, as usual, hardware has more definition, more depth, when compressing a mix with it, it sounds more alive and organic. The plugin is very close in term of compression (except when pushed hard), but lacks the sonic mojo of the hardware. But I guess everyone knows that. I still put a 5 star as I think it's a very good emulation at 10% of the hardware price, so it's definitely a no brainer, and a good training before getting the real deal. It's also important to notice that all Vari Mu compressors sound different (different revisions, tube aging, etc..) so of course the plug-in can't sound exactly like the hardware. What I do is I use the plugin on busses, and the hardware on the mix bus, great combo.

W. Georges

March 9, 2018

I have My Mu Back

Had a Vari-Mu in my racks for years. Long story short I had to part with it knowing full well I would pick one up again. Well I have with the UAD plug-in. So close to the hardware. Still have my Slam and will never part with it but if UAD comes out with the Plug-in version I will pick that up as well.

A. Thapar

January 12, 2018

Creamy and transparent

Quite liking this. Often I can't hear it working, which is good! Need to spend a bit more time with it tho. So far so good!
On the mix buss, in mastering, on the guitar buss.!

A. Lee

January 9, 2018

Vocal Heaven

I didn't think I would buy another compressor until I tried this out - tested it against quite a few others and was really impressed with it's smoothness and ability to bring what you put through it to the front of the mix. This helps my vocals soar into the heavens in dense mixes - 10/10

s. Ha

January 2, 2018

Awesome!!!

Awesome!!!

I'm loving this manley variable mu limiter~!!!

s. rothe

November 2, 2017

adds that little...

smooth and warm tone to the track.
really loving it!!!

F. Binninger

October 19, 2017

great plug-in!

i owned the outboard unit a couple of years ago and the plug-in’s got the fat, juicy sound i still remember.

l. helan

September 22, 2017

very well for mastering

All is in the title

E. Andras

September 11, 2017

Really like the hardware

I worked with Manley Varimu for 3 years. The plugin works differently like hardware but available "the sound".

J. Raper

July 13, 2017

Beautiful.

Love it on Piano, Mix Bus and anything you need to just hold in place.

H. Zwarts

July 5, 2017

Fijne Compressor/Limiter

Fijne compressor/limiter met karakteristieke Manley Sound. Ik gebruik hem regelmatig voor vocals maar ook drums.

t. takamasa

June 17, 2017

good Limitter

sounds amazing.
Fantastic!!

M. Parris

June 17, 2017

Nice warm hug

I've often heard the term how compressors are "the glue" that bring all the elements together. Well after using the MU, I decided to use my own analogy and say "this compressor gives your mix a nice warm hug"

D. Holden

June 14, 2017

this is freaking awesome

I've waited for the price to go down on this box for a long time and when the june sale came on it was a no brainer I'm SO SO SO Glad i picked this as part of a 3 Plug package omg on vocals its amazing you can turn the gain to full and threshold to 0 and the result is just jaw dropping on the master buss its the Cream if your thinking of buying it then go right ahead it will be the best things you have done for your music

W. Teo

June 13, 2017

A mastering glue unlike any other

The Manley Variable Mu Limiter Compressor has this way of not just compressing, but bringing all aspects of your mix to the front. It really has this 'glue' factor that many other compressors do not possess. It is best used as a mastering compressor, although it has infinite uses on individual tracks too!

D. van Haarlem

June 1, 2017

Love it like the Hardware!

I really like the hardware Variable Mu as a compressor on vocals to smooth things out and 'put some icing on the cake' as well as the 'cherry on top of the cream' :-) UA did a Fantastic job in copying that quality in their software equivalent. Now I can simultaneously use a second instance on my mixbus!!!

UAD User

May 20, 2017

Msnley Varible Muu

The Manley Varible Mu add a beautiful clarity to my mixes that I had not heard. It is amazing how my mixes set just right with the Manley Variable Mu. Excellent!

T. ZHAO

May 16, 2017

Great comp!

I like it more than other buss comp! Thank you UA!

R. Calegari

May 14, 2017

Limpio y eficaz

Grande en el mastering, pone todo en su lugar sin deformar la señal. Una gran emulacion del hardaware. Top en mi lista.

41-60 of 167 Results