Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley Variable Mu® Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

81-100 of 142 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

j. panno

January 13, 2016

Vari Mu is one of my favorites!!

Adds a rich depth to anything its added to. Musical, clean and oh so transparent! Thanks UAD, you guys are the best!!

N. Alfia

January 7, 2016

Var-Mu

Wow what a Beast
So, i have just entered the UAD kingdom, and this is one of my first purchases
i do not familiar with the original hardware unit, so i have nothing to compare to,
but this compressor is very very good, while i love the 1176 and the signature sound of it for a long time, now i have another compressor with it's own special characteristics, I really like the nice 'Shine' it gives and extra openness for a track
the nicest i think is the Mix control so can do a parallel compression, and give my drums this little extra.
kick and bass also can be compressed for the glue it gives.

and of course on the master bus. its really sticking out.

defiantly one i will use a lot in my productions

N. PITLOGLOU

January 3, 2016

Master buss perfection

This is the best plugin master compressor ever.
I was thinking to buy a hardware until I tried the demo of the uad manley vari mu.
Bought it immediatelly and I have already use it to master 2 cds.
Everybody stayed happy.
Me, my clients and Universal Audio. :)
Happy new year!

R. Morrison

December 30, 2015

A good emulation of the hardware

I've used the hardware unit many times for mix bus compression and really enjoy it's ability to smoothly control the dynamics, imparting a hint of smooth creaminess to the sound. Particularly for acoustic jazz and orchestral (film score) mixes. Up to 4dB reduction on the meters feels very natural sonically. The plug in retains this character, particularly it's compression characteristic (behaves very much the same); perhaps a little less creaminess than the hardware, but nonetheless, a very good emulation.

J. Rostrup

December 11, 2015

Silkey smooth

My go to comp, for every thing.

If I should start fresh with UA plugs, this would be my purchase number 4.

b. forbes

October 12, 2015

Breathtakingly Pristine

I have the Apollo Quad and an Octo card in a Mac pro. This compressor really shines... I'd say more Hi-Fi than the Fairchild. What a glow and blanket it wraps your mixes in. It's something really beautiful.

H. Petersson

October 8, 2015

One of the best

I had ignored this one for a long time thinking I had enough compressors already. Then I did the mistake of demoing it, and what it did on my master bus just made me smile. After some time of trying to convince myself not to, I just could not keep myself from buying it.
I have been continuously impressed at how well it handles a wide variety of sources. It's so smooth, gentle and transparent while at the same time adding a nice sheen to everything it touches. It's not a heavy character like the 1176, but rather a nice touch.

My only regret is that I got the Fairchild before this one, because I can't see myself picking it over the Vari Mu. So if you are on the fence of buying he Fairchild, make sure to demo this before you do!

A. Momsyakov

October 2, 2015

Brilliant

Brilliant !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P. Lordo

October 1, 2015

Highly Recommended

I bought this and pretty much use it on Vocals as well as a Bus Conpressor. Sounds nice and warm, and actually very easy to use.

UAD User

August 20, 2015

That sound

The sound your looking for but cant quite reach with anything else..game changer.. Wicked on transients

J. Roye

August 3, 2015

Killer Plugin

Great sounding plugin! Who cares if its not a 100% match to the hardware unit?

Sits on my mix bus all day. every day.

G. Hadfield

July 29, 2015

Best mix bus compressor plugin

If ever there was a plugin that just makes almost everything sound better glued together, it's this one.

As with the Manley Massive Passive I found that it was all about making small and subtle changes and not sculpting massive chunks. So really a finsher and polisher in the best possible way.

D. Sokolov

June 2, 2015

This is my reference of compressors!!!

It just works perfectly with DI bass and Kick! All that passes through it becomes denser and thicker. UAD Thanks for the great work!

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

the ghost compressor

the absolute gluing compressor. so smooth and invisible...
no matter the amount of comp... it sounds great!
www.johnjefftouch.net

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

the ghost compressor

the absolute gluing compressor. so smooth and invisible...
no matter the amount of comp... it sounds great!
www.johnjefftouch.net

M. Altieri

May 7, 2015

i like so much

I read many reviews about the success of this compressor, it is true at the beginning you expect sensational things, do not know the hardware I saw comparisons on youtube but mostly I listened well is damn clean and I like!It gives him his sound clean and velvety with that particular tone on average. My conclusion?It is set to be well adjusted the gain to give the right dynamic and not just pat the compressor with two knobs!It has its own parameters and must be used. different from the original, as you all hardware compared to the plugin, but it's pretty close to me !!! and how can this universal audio other known brands of plugins have some way to go since among other things the price at which they sell them. i love this plug

B. Taylor

May 5, 2015

Really Blown Away

I've never heard the Variable Mu hardware so I can't talk to its authenticity. I was familar with the SSL's bus compressor from the Waves SSL that I owned so I started off getting that compressor for this platform as well. I felt it did what I expected but I wanted more and so I auditioned this and the Neve 3390. I expected I would really like the Neve so I tried it first. Next I tried the Variable Mu and wow! I for the first time heard that magical glue that every strives to get. I use about 2 db of compression on my sub mixes and 2 - 4 on my master mix bus. I ended up getting this compressor and the UAD SSL that I already bought. I found I use this one always because it doesn't sound compressed it is very transparent. Try it!

UAD User

April 24, 2015

Winner vs Previous Compressor Combination

Before buying Manley Variable Mu I was using Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveling Amplifier Plug-In combined with Fairchild 670 Compressor Plug-In made by UAD. Was an excellent choice but after buying Manley Variable Mu® Limiter Compressor Plug-In there was a big change on my mix. This is one of the best plugins to work compression on vocals based on my experience.

R. Huxen

April 19, 2015

Smooooooth

I almost bought the hardware version a couple of years ago so I'm glad UAD finally did this one! It's one of the smoothest and most transparent compressors I've ever used (plug-in wise). Whether on the mix buss or individual tracks - it just works. If you want something aggressive you may not reach for this one - but if you're looking for smooth and creamy, this might be your "go to". And you don't have to replace the tubes every couple of years. :-)

K. Hegyi

April 17, 2015

Absolutely love it!

We had one of these back in the day at University and I used it all the time and ever since I got the plugin it put me back into those days. It's so nice so warm and just beautiful on everything. It's a subtle effect but it makes everything sound just better!

10/10

81-100 of 142 Results