Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

161-180 of 208 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Roumeliotis

March 16, 2015

Like a Ghost. You can see through it but you know its there!

Whoa. Never bothered to write a review before, in my life. Blown away. Own a lot of plug ins. Several manufacturers. When they indicate that it is transparent, they should mean it. This one delivers the goods. So subtle but you hear the difference. I use the outboard one. But man, the cost difference and what it delivers? I have learnt in time, to try out the products and be my own judge. And this one, man! Don't take my word for it, for now. But try it. Then respond, if I'm wrong. I still have not purchased it as of yet. I will soon. Good work UAD.

L. Franchi

February 26, 2015

smooth and beautiful

Tried and immediately bought, smooth and beautiful as stroking the skin of a beautiful woman, I have the hardware in my studio to make comparisons, but I used it in other studies and mastering the plugin like

P. Geiser

February 14, 2015

favorite 2mix compressor

ive tied the ssl buss and the neve bus and the shadow hills, this was by far my favorite 2mix compressor to use in the box. very versatile and very powerful and musical

F. Mejia

February 11, 2015

Amazing

It is what we have been missing on UAD! I am amazed with the sounds i've been getting from it! Highly recomended!

J. Roger

February 4, 2015

Sounds Great

I think it sounds great. Glues a mix nicely, and seems to create a fatter bottom on whatever you put it on.

S. Berujanyan

January 31, 2015

Manley Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

thanksssssssssssss

G. Piazza

January 28, 2015

Excellent & Worth the Wait!

I've been asking for this one for a long time, and it was worth the wait. I demoed this extensively and listened closely to the hardware - software comparisons.
The plugin is beautiful - sweet, smooth & magical, with great attack curve & nice harmonic sweetening. One of the best UA has ever done.

Some have called it 'flat'; I think the reason they say this is due to the accuracy of the L - R (or M - S): no phase or level inaccuracy that hardware provides. That is what the hardware sounded like to me - different tube responses, etc. adding 'dimension' to the sound (one side sounded louder). Maybe UA can add an 'un-align' button. Until then, creative types will find other ways to unbalance the channels.

R. Greco

January 21, 2015

Very nice

Using this on mixes I like what it does. It's not for everything but it's great choice to have. Like to throw bus comp on drums, the this across the mix pulls it together with gutsy drums tucked inside an outer core of everything else - open and vibey.

A. Adedwuon

January 16, 2015

It's going somewhere, but....

I ran my mixes through it with the HP Filter on and the mix comes out clearer/brighter, punchy and forward. However, with the HP filter the overall sound, to my ears, becomes a bit thinner/smaller sounstatge. This becomes a catch 22 because it is important to me to have a punchy master that also has a big/full sound stage. What I end up doing is running my mix to a clean outboard compressor at ratio 1:5 with slowest attack and HP filter at 400hz, this gives a big and wide sound stage but no character..just clean...so I send it back in the DAW and run it through this plug and making sure the GR is bearly moving...then through appropriate EQ..then through a good limiter...with this setup, the plug becomes useful. Basically u compensate...

A. Yamashita

January 15, 2015

Good Job!

Very close to HW about 80%. Originally this has beautiful fullness and natural attack.
Hoping extra development! Energy beyond sound is important.

T. Heavener

January 13, 2015

Thanks to Eva and the UA team!

I had my eyes/ears out for a stereo hardware 2 buss compressor, for mix down and tracking. Then I demoed the Variable Mu, and after about a minute my search was over, it sounds great and glues as good as I could ask for! Quick and easy to use, just like super glue! Another win for the Team!

W. Bolton

January 10, 2015

manley vari mu

sounds lovely across the mix bus, glues everything together nicely and sounds lush even without compression.

R. Patel

January 7, 2015

Audio Super Glue - Big, wide and open sound with a great midrange bite!

Having enjoyed using the amazing UAD Massive Passive EQ for the past few years, I was really looking forward to the Vari-Mu plugin, and UAD did a great job indeed. I own a nice selection of high end outboard gear which includes some mix bus compressors that I love using for that final analog stamp, especially on ITB mixes. Plugin compressors are getting better and better each year, and many of the popular ones available do a fine job with bus compression duties and provide a good amount of cohesion to a mix. However, most plugin compressors still seem to lack the punch, width and three dimensional quality of good old analog compressors. This UAD Manley Vari Mu sets the new bench mark for ITB compression!

P. Broman

January 6, 2015

Great Plugin!

It's transparent and "level forgiving" in a way I've never experienced before. It makes the mix sound expensive. I'm soooo pleased with this one!

S. Gilroy

January 3, 2015

Bout Time

I seriously hate compression. I guess the perfect mix would need no compression.
Most samples nowadays come mastered and rock and metal guitars need no compression. Other than channel strips, the only compressors I need are the neve 33609, fatso and this vari-mu (and precision series) I can't stand 1176, any story you have heard about how great this compressor is is false, their 1176's are completely modded to their specs. Same thing with the Fairchild and Pultecs. You will never get THE sound you want without spending$$$$. I trust Manley products and own their hardware. You won't be sorry. Vintage gear is well,vintage. Manley products are like the next generation, not exactly better but more refined.

S. Gallego

December 30, 2014

FEEL IT!!

The best I can say about the Vari Mu plug-in what I feel when I try the demo version, the same I feel when I try for the Vari Mu hardware years ago, a stupid smile in face. This plug-in is fantastic for the price I paid for it. 10/10.

L. Berrios

December 30, 2014

Without Character

Unfortunately one of the UAD plugins that I have to write a negative feedback. Universal need to do a better job with the next update and improve this one. Is missing the warm and character that made so popular the original Manley Variable MU..a shame.

D. Thum

December 29, 2014

Manley Variable Mu® Limiter Compressor Plug-In

Been using it on the 2bus for orchestral mixdowns and it is mostly transparent. In other words, it keeps your mix dynamics intact if dialed in carefully. The colorations are positive ones (to my ears a richness in the low mids). You can crank up the input for a saturated sound of course, but then I'd usually be reaching for my UBK-1.

Y. Harvey

December 28, 2014

very, very nice.

Very Nice. I demo'd and purchased same day - it's a must have for me. It's one of those plugs that makes you forget you are in the box. It has depth and breathes. Great plug. Love It.

R. Harris

December 27, 2014

Outstanding!

Just received my first UAD Octo card. This was one of my first purchased plug ins. Strapped it across my master buss and bang all the bottom end tightened up and turned the dial up to 11 on the quality of the overall sound of the mix. Easy to dial in too. Just love this plug in!!

161-180 of 208 Results