Neve® 88RS® Channel Strip Collection

Neve® 88RS® Channel Strip Collection

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Neve 88RS Channel Strip Collection

Overall Rating

381-400 of 419 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Moreland

May 27, 2015

Just Listen To It

You know, if UA had just released this plug as the "AMS Neve 88R… B", there would be no 1 star reviews. Everyone would listen to this plug-ins' capabilities, jaws would hit floors, people would marvel at what UA's programmers had accomplished and monies would be parted with happily. This thing is to the "Legacy 88RS" what a '57 Les Paul Custom is to a 2015 Epiphone Standard. To some, it's the same thing. To a musician, one is to be cherished and the other is a toy. THIS Neve 88RS does everything well - buttery smooth EQ, fat & faithful comp, fantastic gate and a big & tight mic pre sound. It's worth every penny and is among the finest plug-ins they've come up with… and that's saying a lot.

M. de Saboia FIlho

May 27, 2015

Sounds Great but...

It definitely sounds great! I understand that's probably the reason why it is DSP hungry. I own an Apollo Twin, UAD Sat Quad and UAD Thndrb Octo, yet I had to print lots of tracks to be able to finish my mixes. One must think about investing in more UAD DSP chips to use this plugin as it should. Thinking that way, it is clear that the plugin is way expensive, it definitely demands a new piece of hardware to go along with it. Besides, I've invested in new releases in the past and soon later they drop the price in half (such as 1073, Fairchild, API Vision). USD money makes it 3 times more expensive in Brazil (that's my problem, of course). Hoping for a kind coupon from UA, I give 5 stars for the amazing sound you get with this plugin!

O. Westlie

May 25, 2015

Serious guys. Stop complaining about the price.

UA is state of the art products. That's why we use it. What do you expect? Get it for free? Spend money and be happy. And make good music :-)

V. Koenig

May 24, 2015

i can`t understand....

I can`t understand all the negativ reviews about this great channel strip. Ok it cost 149 bucks, but you get a completly new designed channel strip. This new 88rs sounds so awesome, and if you get this collection, you can use both versions of the 88rs. The legacy version can save a lots of cpu power, and you have a good sounding eq by the way. If you low on dsp power this works well. It seems the 88rs legacy works well for years, and now the new 88rs works better for the next years too :) The only channel strip you need....get it!

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

Just Amazing!

All UAD Unison tech plugins are amazing! this new one is out of this world !
tested in many real time applications and sounded geat !
Thanks UAD

www.johnjefftouch.net

M. Bram

May 21, 2015

Best Uad Console...Ever

I LOVE the new 88RS. I thought UAD out did themselves with the API Vision, but this blows it away. I own almost all of the UAD plugins, but I find my self using just the 88RS and very little else. I had previously mixed a project with the Vision, Slate VCC and VMR (with some Altiverb, Vertigo, Variable Mu, LA2, etc), but I took everything off and I'm just using the 88RS as a console...no VCC (except on the busses), which, to me, always made everything sound like it was going through a real console, but now the 88RS does it all. What a gorgeous analog sound...without the mud. The EQ is so musical. I feel like I'm back in the 80s working on a large console, dialing in just the right frequency. It's awesome! All I need is the 88RS, the Vertigo compressor, the Variable Mu and the LA2 (Love that fat sound), and of course some verbs and delays. Pushing either the line or mic pre (no unison...don't have an Apollo) and the fader, really fattens things up. This is an incredible tool. I highly recommend it.

J. Harris

May 20, 2015

The plugin is great but !!

IMHO... the plugin is great. Sounds like a Neve should sound and honestly, it makes me feel good once again that I when with the UAD platform. Here is the but... as one of the first purchasers of the Apollo once again I feel slighted. First I missed out on the standard Thunderbolt option, next I messed out on the standard analog collection that now comes with Apollos. Most of those I had to buy but I still don't have the Fairchild because legacy owners didn't receive the upgrade. I also missed out on all the plug promotions after I bought mine. So IMHO this plugin is worth the money but please don't forget your first purchasers of the Apollo who have missed out on so much. (Console 2.0 also) thanks!! I appreciate coupons but another $150 ??

D. Bires

May 19, 2015

Pay Attention to Detail

I ran the demo and this is a work of art and I commend UA for their solid work as usual. Now I do pay attention to what customers ask for out of UA especially with their surveys they put out from time to time and I can tell you UA is listening. I noticed customers wanted pedal plugins and more unison pre's and strips and guess what UA gave it to us and some people are complaining about it after they buy it. Wait a minute cant you demo it first? Hello 14 day trial If you dont like it don't buy it. Stop crying about it if you cant afford it. Move on to to another product. Of coarse UA Plugins are expensive. They have to get the rights to put NEVE on that PLUGIN as well as have permission to do it in the first place. When most companies cant.

T. Liljegren

May 19, 2015

This upgrade is actually fair...

Loads of angry people here, and from the very start I agreed. Just thought that this is just a bloody rip off, but...
The only thing all of you seaguls out there should do is: Insert the old one and this new one on for example (like I did) on an a snare channel.
Do an A/B listening and consider the difference.
Is the upgrade worth $149?

In my opinion: YES! DEFINATELY! The upgrade is at least 3 times better than the previous!

If u don't think it's worth $149 dollars - don't buy! But I bet u will thou the result is like a Volkswagen v/s a Lambourgini.

I Think the price is fair thou I'm gonna use it a lot! So why shouldn't I pay for it?

Thanx UA!

T. Stefiuk

May 18, 2015

Great plugin, almost as good as the real deal.

This is an excellent offering from UA. The filters in the new plugin are more like the real thing.I love how tech keeps getting better every year.The sound the plugin imparts is a bit more dimensional than the old plugin, the bottom is heaps better and the dynamics section is solid.
To all the fine people whinging about the price of the upgrade I say welcome to Capitalism.UA is here to make money & not give stuff away.The plug uses more DSP so you will need to buy the Octo.UA has planned this as an upgrade/ profit path for a few years now. Remember when the new plugs came out a few years ago at the same time as the Octo.They sounded better but DSP went up.I like what UA does but I'm sure they do not need DSP cards to do what they do today.

M. Benedetto

May 17, 2015

One of the best so far!

This plug-in is by far one of the best so far, I own most of the plugins and the UA platform is the best in the business hands down. The EQ on the 88RS are smooth and musical. The folks at UA nailed this one.

For those giving it a one and two start ratings, just because you buy something once does not mean you are entitled to free upgrades for life. You Mac or PC's are not free upgrades. UA needs to be profitable to continue to build the amazing hardware and the plugins. When you upgrade your software or when you purchase plugins do you completely remix all of your customer songs for free? Why not? Exactly why UA cannot give you the plugs for free!

M. Niemczyk

May 17, 2015

its a revelation

I needed a channel strip with good preamp and was thinking about the API. But than UAD come up with this new version of Nave and i gave it a try. Ohm man, this plug is a revelation. I find myself loading old recodirngs we made in a basement of house during the studies. They was made quite ok, but never sounded that way. Its phenomena to have a possibility to mix on a 1Mio $ Desk. Well ist certainly not cheap, but compared to the original its relative. Its certanly needs a lot of DSP, but if there will be a way to provide that sound with less than all the other plugs would have to explain them self and their needs. However, after getting Lexicon 244, the Struder and the Fairchild in the first run. This one and the Vertigo VSM-3 are next!

S. Laurendeau

May 17, 2015

Natural selection

This new plug-ins has Unison technology inside, the legacy version doesn't. For that alone, it worth it to me. To all of you guys who complain, go buy some Waves, they have a nice looking interface and they sell them for cheap (and still sound the same as 10 years ago). If you dont want to spend $149 for this plug-ins upgrade, there is other companies selling plug-ins, so go buy those. Of course,UA are getting more expensive because they are getting better. It's still a deal if you ever bought hardware and A/B with UAD plugs.

J. Lawrence

May 16, 2015

It really is a lot better

I too am really quite frustrated at having to pay $150 for an upgrade and do wish that UA was a bit more merciful with their customers regarding this.

But that said, the quality of this new plugin is incredible. I have been AB-ing it on a master channel with the old plugin using the exact settings and the difference really is night and day. The old Neve 88RS (now Legacy) really sounds flat, muddy and lifeless compared to the new one.

The new 88RS plug-in has a clarity to it that is outstanding. The EQ brings out a pristine quality to the sound and a presence that the old plug-in just can't match and I even detected a more pleasant dynamic range let through.

Note: the new plug now uses 12% of DSP resources on a UAD-2 quad.

D. Kayser

May 14, 2015

Golden

They really delivered on this one. Even though I have the legacy version after demo'ing this I purchased it right away. Sounds great!!

M. Penn

May 14, 2015

5 Stars!! The Best Channel Strip Period So Far!!

Universal Audio Deserves the Price for this Update and with Preamp.. You wouldn't be able to get this sound probably under a $1000 with the functionality. So $299-$149 is worth it and what i will do with yours and my mix..

Definitely Buying this shortly!!!

Thanks UA Please release the SSL Channel Strip NEXT !!

Thanks ;-)

a. morgan

May 14, 2015

Pricing:)

I have the legacy version but when I go to buy the new one it charges me full price... any ideas?
Kindly, Anton.

A. Smith

May 14, 2015

This is the truth!!!!

This plugin is superior!! The sound quality and new layout is perfect!! I've only used this on vocals so my opinion may be a bit shallow, but what this does and how easy it does it!!! PERFECT. I was initially disappointed with the price because I have the legacy version, but after hearing the two, the price is justified, and I didn't loose my other plugin! UAD Keep the plugins coming!!

M. Ballenger

May 14, 2015

Costly in $$$ and DSP

5 stars for sound quality, -3 stars for upgrade pricing and DSP usage. $150 is a steep upgrade considering I paid $300 for this channel strip originally. I might be able to stomach it by waiting for coupons and sales throughout the year, BUT considering I can run a max of 16 instances on an OCTO card makes this too costly on my UAD hardware as well. There should be a way of saving unison resources for those of us running PCI-E or thunderbolt satellite rigs without the Apollo pres. It's getting harder to justify the cost (both upgrade and additional hardware to be able to run enough instances to be useful) when other options are becoming more attractive all the time.

M. Mekonen

May 13, 2015

my thoughts exactly

i read almost all the bad or low star reviews, all of which say plug-in sounds great! but price suck...plug-in sounds great! price suck....etc.
Look, the review page is for how the plug-in sounds and fits into ur work flow. Does it sound like garbage, does it sound like neve gold... get it, got it Good. keep'em coming UA, awesome work. O yeah the neve 88 sounds great....Lol. No really it does. on Hip Hop VOX...A+

381-400 of 419 Results