Neve® 88RS Channel Strip Collection

Neve® 88RS Channel Strip Collection

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Neve 88RS Channel Strip Collection

Overall Rating

381-397 of 397 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

H. Petersson

May 12, 2015

A bit of balance

I am throwing in a five star rating here to balance things up a bit.
Some people think it's unfair of UA to charge halt the list price for an update. I think it's unfair to give this excellent plugin one star because of that.

If you bought the original version and thought it was worth the money then be happy with that purchase. The new version is a new plugin all together, rebuilt from ground up which I'm sure took a lot of effort. It's not a minor update. If you don't think it's worth the upgrade price (which is perfectly understandable) then you don't need to pay it. It's not as if your current version will stop functioning. Take one star off the review for high pricing, but to give it one star is just as unfair.

H. Petersson

May 12, 2015

A bit of balance

I am throwing in a five star rating here to balance things up a bit.
Some people think it's unfair of UA to charge halt the list price for an update. I think it's unfair to give this excellent plugin one star because of that.

If you bought the original version and thought it was worth the money then be happy with that purchase. The new version is a new plugin all together, rebuilt from ground up which I'm sure took a lot of effort. It's not a minor update. If you don't think it's worth the upgrade price (which is perfectly understandable) then you don't need to pay it. It's not as if your current version will stop functioning. Take one star off the review for high pricing, but to give it one star is just as unfair.

H. Petersson

May 12, 2015

Excellent plugin but high DSP usage

This is an excellent plugin. One of UAs best work to date. The input stage is clean, accurate and warm. Great sounding filters and EQ. Perfectly usable compressor and gate. All in all it sounds fantastic, and there is very little that can match it in terms of quality.

The only thing that takes away one star is the DSP consumption which is a bit too high to make this really usable as a mixing plugin unless you have at least two octos. It is twice the API Vision strip.
It would not have been a problem is DSP was cheaper, but this is beyond the budget of many users.
If there was a way to bypass the input stage to save some DSP it would make it a little bit more usable.

N. Wilkes

May 11, 2015

A stunning facelift - pure Neve goodness

Don't believe the hype on this one - grab it and hear it for yourself.
Of all thew Mk II versions released so far this one for me is the winner, and the 88RS now sounds like the board it is modelled from. I like the GUI redesign (signal flow is now more intuitive) and the tweaks done under the hood have really made this strip into something special and very usable on a lot of things - it sounds equally fantastic on Bass, Piano, Vocals & Guitars. My only gripe is the lack of an input meter (and you should be aware the output meter is post VCA but Pre-output dial). The compressor no longer seems to snatch at the audio in that SSL manner, and the EQ is so musical it's a joy.
An excellent upgrade & highly recommended to all Neve lovers

c. may

May 10, 2015

Simply ... Wow!!

I have never written a UAD review. AND The last thing I needed to do was buy another UAD plug – meaning, I have most of them. And considering I have the original and almost never used it, why again? Well, this plug beat nearly every plug-in in shoot-outs I staged with previous mixes – meaning, where I might have placed 2-3 plugs in concert, the 88RS – hands down – took the prize. This emulation is the very manifestation of the reason I invested in this platform in the beginning. This plug is the most amazing thing I have ever worked with. Kudos to the entire team behind it. The UAD 88RS is amazing! And if you are staiil standing in the wings

j. york

May 9, 2015

New 88r is too expensive and too dsp heavy...

The "legacy" neve 88rs plugin is my go to , most useful, plug in. I could mix an entire record with just that one plugin since it does it all- eq, comp, gate, gain. In fact, all of my mixes are based off this - then sometimes I add a specific comp- either an 1176 or a LA2A here and there for specific favor- maybe a pultec EQ if I need that flavor, but the foundation on track after track is the 88r. Now we've got this new version. It's supposed to be "better" - but the great thing about the "legacy" is that it uses little dsp yet sounds good. This new one uses 40%! You can't load that on every track in your mix - you're going to have to use it only here and there, and to my mind that's not what a bread and butter eq/ comp is for! Not buying!

I. Kiyashko

May 8, 2015

THE go-to plugin from now on

I tried every UAD channel strip, but this is by far the best. The sound you get from this resembles real analog so much more! I have been trying to get a decent plugin chain for my U47 voice recordings, previously stopped at using the Summit compressor. BUT when I put this one on - I was amazed. Neve has one of the best software compressors ever and an amazingly fat, but transparent & musical EQ. As far as ITB mixing goes, I think that for now this is as close as emulating analog goes. This will be used on every channel from now on. Hands down, it kills any other console channel strips with ease. Oh, and try doing some filtering / correction with Oxford EQ after this and you will be impressed ;-))

J. Schmelzer

May 8, 2015

Blown Away!

I demoed this new channel strip for a few hours and realized it was a definite buy! The sound of the filters sold me. Super clean and unobtrusive. I love being able to use it with unision tech as a mic pre as well. It's amazing when you think about everything you get with this plug: Preamp, EQ, Compressor, and Gate/Expander. You could literally mix a record with this plugin and it would sound awesome! If you're new to Apollo I'd recommend this or the API vision for sheer flexibility and usefulness. I do prefer this to the API though. I even used it on my mix buss and loved the result!

C. BORCA

May 8, 2015

Great plug in / bad business

Hi there Uad team,

Just wanted to drop my comment about the fact that i have baught this plug in a few years back and i think it is not normal that you are not offering an upgrade friendly price for people in my case. You consider i should buy it a second time in total ! this is just unfair.
I hope you will take this remark into account. Just have a look at others quality actors like Native Instrument and many many others in computer software business....

J. Roger

May 8, 2015

Does Everything Better

After spending a couple days with this I've basically decided this plug-in does everything better than every other one of my plug-ins. I also own and regularly use most of UA's other plugins.
It's a lot better than the old 88RS too. Huge release. Definitely buying.

A. Salganik

May 8, 2015

is good but original is better

this is definitely sounds warmer due to complicated distortion characteristics
but I think original sounds better

T. Newsom

May 8, 2015

Excellent Channel Strip but costly for legacy users

The Neve 88RS has been an excellent Channel Strip but has also taken more time effectively using the Gate/ Expander controls which can be confusing when setting the two threshold levels. Not enough video examples are available from UA. The overall sound is classic neve analog but for us legacy users (over three years) the price of update should be no more than $50.00. Coupons that are issued to regular customers should not have a quick expiration date since building up studio equipment requires setting priorites each month which seldom work for the coupons.

S. Kemper

May 8, 2015

Awesome and worth the money because ...

I can understand those people who like me already bought the legacy version of the plugin .. but! ... this has nothing to do with the legacy version of it! You have to understand that the legacy 88rs plugin was developed YEARS AGO and the DSP-Tech, research on emulating analog hardware, etc was not in the reach of where it is today! Just take a look at the DSP-Consumption Facts and you'll see the difference. There must and IS a huge difference if one version just takes about 5% DSP load and the new one almost 40% ... And at the time the legacy version was developed there wasn't even something like unison available!

THUMBS UP UAD! This is awesome! Thank you so much!

R. Bogdanovic

May 7, 2015

Outstanding Strip - unfair upgrade price

Sounds fantastic and provides an outstanding value to all of us running in the box workflow. Preamps are just phenomenal! Output fader provides for additional analogue desk, "Neve" feel, which is seriously a nice, if not key, feature. Although, heavy on DSP as all the other Unison technology, but worth it. My new go to Strip!
However, as already expressed by other users, REALLY UNFAIR upgrade pricing for all of us existing UAD supporters and strip owners.

D. Taylor

May 7, 2015

This... this is a game changer.

I gotta take a second and tell you, this plug in changes everything. Wow.

D. Whitaker

May 6, 2015

Amazing Channel Strip....but

This and the API are arguably two of the best reasons to own an Apollo. However, seriously not happy about having to pay for it again to get the unison tech. I'm sure the SSL strip will next. Feels like UAD is punishing those that invested in the Channel Strips originally. They should be giving a better deal to those that paid full price for the "legacy" channel strips.

UAD User

May 6, 2015

Wow!!!

Iám new to UAD plug ins, and i sit here 3 days and compare the API, SSL E and the Neve 88RS ( now ) legacy. I try to decide wich CS works well for me and my music. My result Neve 88RS. Today i visit the UAD site, and surprise...... a new version is available :D
After install and compare both versions i must say....WOW!!!...what a transparency, so nice and warm. The new 88RS melt the sound together. The low end ist much tighter and smoother. Time for me, to get this new version of the Neve 88RS.

381-397 of 397 Results